We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Parador”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The only place to stay when visiting Santiago. Fantastic building and facilities with direct access to the Cathedral. Streets surrounding have great restaurants and everything is within walking distance.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

We treated ourselves to a five-star experience after walking the almost 800 kilometres of the Camino de Santiago. And the Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos did not fail us. Though I was warned that my room would be small and would be one of those that the hotel couldn't rent out, my room was in the last cloister and featured a balcony and a wonderful view of the landscaped cloister. It felt very atmospheric. Though I did not have a canopy over my bed, unlike my mates' room, I felt I had the better room, as their room looked out into the street and the taxi queue. My room was decorated according to the period and had all the amenities. I took the suggested tour of the Parador, and it took me an hour, even if a couple of sections were closed to the public (despite being on the tour brochure). There are many, many rooms in the Parador, and the Peregrino dining room was spacious and the breakfast was truly sumptuous. The staff were rather stiff and formal, and not very American-open-armed. I would have enjoyed a spa/jacuzzi and a massage in one of the unused rooms--many were made for dining functions. Specially since a number of the Parador's guests have just completed the Camino de Santiago. All in all, a very great value, and actually not that expensive compared to other 5* hotels in other countries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Huge complex with three-foot walls, said to be Europe's oldest hotel -- if not the world's. Built by Ferdinand and Isabela for pilgrims. Baronic décor, but modern, comfortable facilities, excellent food, perfect location. Huge spread of public rooms, grand staircases and enclosed courtyards. Equipped for Wi-Fi and also has computers to access the internet. We could hear revelers, bands and bagpipes from our room, but they did not disrupt our rest. Located on a huge courtyard near the cathedral. Dramatic outdoor lighting at night.

Room Tip: Easy to get lost here. We lucked out with a huge room on the first floor along one of the interior c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Staying at this parador is a bit of a splurge, but being able to say you slept in what is considered the oldest hotel in the world is quite unique. The building itself is magnificent with its historic relevance being obvious in every corner. The service is of a 5 star hotel. The location cannot be beat - even if you arrive in Santiago by car (as we did), it is inspiring to walk around the plaza where all the tired "pilgrims" meet at the end of the Camino. Our hotel rate included breakfast, and it was a great spread and everything we tried was delicious. Our room was towards the back of the property - the room itself is decorated to go with the history of the building, however, the bathroom was huge and very modern. The WiFi in the room was very weak. The moment you walk out of the front door, the Cathedral is right in front of you, and once you cross the plaza, you are right in the middle of the action, with many restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunLvrs_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After walking "The Camino" from Sarria to Santiago, my wife, son and I stayed at this magnificent property right next to the Compostela Cathedral. The room was spacious and well appointed. The history of the property is fascinating and it was hard to imagine the prior use of this property 400-500 years ago. The breakfast buffet was incredible and a welcome treat after 6 days on the Camino. The only negative was the staff service at the bar and casual restaurant on the property. My son and I decided to get a drink at the bar. His mistake was ordering a Manhattan which after waiting 20 minutes never was mixed and the bartender just disappeared. My complaint to the front desk was responded with that deer in the headlights look. A similar situation in the restaurant with no one approaching our table after 15 minutes had us leaving and finding a tapas restaurant in the town. It was the first time, I felt like being an American was a disadvantage. Maybe just a busy night! This experience would not stop me from staying at this property in the future as it is well worth the tariff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry17601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This lat trip was the fifth time that I stayed at The Oread, the 2nd to last time we had a room that the bathroom smelled like a retirement home . but turned the fan on and it was good to go
The last time we were picky we were on a waiting list so we got probably the worst room in the hotel as it was on the second floor and was a handicapped accessible room without the nicer amenities with a window off the terrace needless to say the wood doors over the window were closed all the time and it was like a cave in there (otherwise anyone can look inside ) but it was still better than any where else in the area
The greatest part of this place is the service has always been great, and as long as you get valet parking its kind of a pain for parking around there , The bar was great , the terrace's are wonderful, its just a pleasure being at a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schuh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The oldest hotel in Europe is a bit pricey, but worth it ! In a perfect location next to the Cathedral, this luxurious, historic hotel is more than a fascinating building, it is an experience that is not to be missed. We usually stay in moderately priced hotels, but splurge on a nice one at some point in every trip. This is the PERFECT splurge hotel. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Santiago de Compostela.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TheOranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
863 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Compostela
Hotel Compostela
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos

Address: Praza Obradoiro 1, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $159 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hospital, late 15th century pilgrim¿s hostelCombining history, art and tradition, the goal of pilgrims and the emblem of St. James, the Hostal dos Reis Católicos, in the Plaza do Obradoiro, forms together with the cathedral one of the world’s most remarkable, and most visited, urban settings. The Hostal, which first saw life as a Royal Hospital in 1499 to house the many pilgrims arriving in Santiago, today still invites the traveller to enjoy this universal and fascinating city. Considered the oldest hotel in the world, it is also one of the most luxurious and beautiful. It has four extremely beautiful cloisters, elegant public rooms, spectacular bedrooms and a luxurious dining room offering Galician style fish and meats and the classic apple filloa pies and crème brulee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santiago De Compostela Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing