We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Driving Directions to the Parador Santiago de Compostela”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Santiago de Compostela
This parador is truly wonderful we really enjoyed our stay there.
The bedroom and bathroom were spotlesly clean. Any toiletries if used where replaced. We noticed that the house keeper inspected the room after the cleaning process. The beds were also turned down in the evening.
Breakfast is served in a separate dining room where there is an amazing assortment offered from a help yourself buffet.
There is a comprehensive choice of hot and cold meats, eggs cooked in a variety of ways, cheeses, smoked salmon,
fresh fruits, pastries, various fresh fruit juices and even Cava for you to help yourself to.
There are two restaurants for dinner. Restaurant Dos Reis which is the more formal of the two and Restaurant Enxebre which
Is more of a bistro type. Both are excellent with good staff.
The bar is well staffed and comfortable. There is also an outside bar terrace where you can sit and see the cathedral and the
lovely square. The drinks are a lot more expensive but it’s worth paying the extra at least once.

I will keep my general comments on the parador to a minimum, concentrating more on the driving directions to the parador as this seems to cause most people a little bit of trouble.

Here are Driving Directions to the Parador Santiago de Compostela
The Sat Nav coordinates are (N 42.880888 W 8.545834)
or Search: City. Santiago de Compostela : Street. Costa do Cristo:
or get the map out. Route( 1) is via Rua das Galeras Route (2) is via Av de Xoan xxlll
both marked on my map.

There are only two possible routes to the parador. I have marked them on the map called directions to Parador Santiago
(Which can be found in my photos)
Both will bring you to a No Entry Sign for the (Rue de San Francisco)
You are allowed to go up Rue de San Francisco to obtain access to the Parador.
Drive carefully as there are pedestrians walking. Go to the end of this road and at the end bear right into the Plaza de Obradoiro.
All other sat nav & Google maps directions are useless. Many changes have been made to the road layout here.
The Parador is on Costa do Cristo. You are permitted to park to load and unload your luggage.
The Parador does have garage parking if you want it. It’s approximately 15 Euros per night.

The Pilgrims’ Mass is usually held at 12 noon in the Cathedral it is a must-see. Get there about 11.30
There are many Bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We found a nice bar set in a garden oasis belonging to the
Hotel Costa Vella. You can access the bar without going in to the hotel. The drinks are about half the price of the Parador.
I have marked on the ‘directions to Parador Santiago’ map with a green circle.
There is also a sight seeing train that leaves the Plaza outside the Parador. The journey lasts about half an hour and is very
Interesting. There is a live commentary in Spanish and English.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jonsmith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Glad we visited here because the building and the service are great; but obviously even in April Santiago is full of tourists and many many Americans and it's difficult to feel you are in a 'real' place. The cathedral is touristy also, souvenir shops abound - we felt better when we went outside the ring of souvenir shops to some local cafes. As to the room, it was clean and comfortable but sparsely furnished and quite a lot of noise from the streets outside (Galician bagpipes I think!). I suppose it was authentic to the original use of the building, but for the price I expected more. The restaurant was also full of many tourists taking pictures of their food and with an intrusive pianist, not much good for a 'couples' meal. The bar was good but I can honestly say we paid far more for drinks here than any of the 7 paradors we visited and indeed anywhere in north Spain - and I mean on a like for like basis. What was outstanding was that when we left the garage staff noticed we had a puncture and rolled their sleeves up to help change the wheel. Glad we stayed here once and would recommend others do too, but probably too many touristy things for us to want to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had the good fortune to make the acquaintance of Vim each morning during my recent stay at your fine hotel. He really impressed me with how professionally he catered to not just me, but to every single person he interacted with. He offered free NY Times, was equally congenial and seemed genuinely delighted of offer service and a smile with one and all. Definitely a keeper!
Stephen R. Brown
stephenbrown.atlanta@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilgrimFromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Normally I only have good things to say about the Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos. However, on Monday morning last we had a very disappointing experience. Having walked for 8 days on the Camino, we decided to treat ourselves to the buffet breakfast in the hotel. We enquired the previous night about the price (€21 per person) and the times (7-11am). Based on our previous, very enjoyable visits, we persuaded 3 friends to join us. We arrived at 10am. Before we could help ourselves, we were asked for payment up front - which wasn't a problem but it was the only efficient part of the service that morning. The buffet - normally wonderful - was obviously being run down for the morning and as items ran out, they were not being replaced - this came down to most basic items such as bread. We had to ask on more than one occasion for hot water, sliced lemon and service; only soya yoghurt was available in natural flavour and the normal celebratory Buck's Fizz wasn't possible as the Cava had run out. Overall, the buffet looked empty and tired. and the staff were less than attentive.

The Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos is a wonderful building and setting - and I have never stayed there so can't comment on the accommodation The ratings are being applied strictly to restaurant. However, for the price we paid for breakfast on Monday, we expected the standard to be equivalent to that we have previously encountered. We were sorry that we had encouraged our 3 friends to join us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHS2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The parador of the catholic kings in santiago de compestela is a wonderful old hotel. It is not quite as rich in architecture as the parador in leon but its historical use was first a hospital and then a orphanage. Our room was very well appointed with rich colors and high ceilings. The location is perfect for visiting the cathedral as it shares the grand plaza with the main facade of the cathedral of santiago.

Room Tip: The central plaza is very noisy late into the night so you might ask for room not facing the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krfaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you are going to Santiago and not actually walking the path, this is the best place by far to stay. The building is fantastic, right across from the cathedral. The service is one of the best in all Paradores we tested. The bathrooms are very nice (as in all paradores) and the staff makes sure you are satisfied. You can drive right to the door of the hotel (even being in a pedestrian area) and parking is available. You can explore the cathedral, the city and surroundings by walking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Plaza. If you are there, why not enjoy it!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrecs_rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nothing bad to say about the Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos. Extremely central, facing the Cathedral, a stone's throw away from the main square. Rooms are clean but also austere, which is somehow what you'd expect especially if on a "camino". So no bubble baths, flat-screen TV sets or any other thing. Breakfast very decent and reception + bar until 11pm always willing to help. Galicia rules! Will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Yves L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,588 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Araguaney
Eurostars Araguaney
#24 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos

Address: Praza Obradoiro 1, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#8 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $162 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hospital, late 15th century pilgrim¿s hostelCombining history, art and tradition, the goal of pilgrims and the emblem of St. James, the Hostal dos Reis Católicos, in the Plaza do Obradoiro, forms together with the cathedral one of the world’s most remarkable, and most visited, urban settings. The Hostal, which first saw life as a Royal Hospital in 1499 to house the many pilgrims arriving in Santiago, today still invites the traveller to enjoy this universal and fascinating city. Considered the oldest hotel in the world, it is also one of the most luxurious and beautiful. It has four extremely beautiful cloisters, elegant public rooms, spectacular bedrooms and a luxurious dining room offering Galician style fish and meats and the classic apple filloa pies and crème brulee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Santiago De Compostela Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing