We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day trip to Santiago de Compostela - Praza do Obradoiro”

Plaza del Obradoiro
Book In Advance
More Info
$283.69*
and up
Private Tour of Santiago de Compostela from A Coruña
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large, pleasant city plaza containing the church of St. James.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Day trip to Santiago de Compostela - Praza do Obradoiro”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a great experience seeing where the pilgrims walk ended. Looking around the magnificent old church & grounds was very interesting. I had read about the Pilgrims Walk but until I visited the Plaza I didn't really connect where it was. As well as visiting here we also had a full day exploring the old town of Santiago de Compostela which we all found fascinating as it is steeped in history. Even the torrential rain did not spoil the day.
It's worth taking a camara as there are so many things to see and do & take pictures of.
We also found plenty of Tapa's bars/Restaurants etc to rest up at after walking around so much.
I would love to visit this again though on a lovely warm summers day!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank patriciaflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,383
    606
    100
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always something going on.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Can be very exciting to watch people as they arrive from their long walks on the Camino. The laser show July 2011 was awesome.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice square”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Its not a large one with restaurants, bars and etc. but is nice to sit there and watch the Cathedral, the square and piligrims.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank espoir2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“This is the first place one goes”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

When entering the fabled city of Santiago de Compostela this is the place one goes to. Get your picture taken marking the end of a long and fun trip across the Camino. Sad because you may never see the people you have met along the way but happy because you have made new friends. This is a must do trail. It is a trip of a life time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank suewho69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A wonderful square with great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A wonderful old square beside the Cathedreal, where everyone comes to meet. You can see street entertainment, people watch or just sit and enjoy the buzz of excitement as people get their first close-up views of the cathedral. There's a hotel on the edge where you can take a coffee. We wandered back up to the town to an area serving Tapas though!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza del Obradoiro also viewed

Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
Santiago de Compostela, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Plaza del Obradoiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing