We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a restaurant with rooms?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a beautiful building in a perfect location. While it certainly deserves more than its three star status there were a couple glaring ommissions which stopped me rating it as excellent.
Pluses: couldn't be better placed for the old city but still quiet and peaceful
Stunningly beautiful to look at, both inside, outside and from the windows
Immaculately clean and comfortable rooms
Minuses: There was no information in the rooms about the hotel or its services
The bar is a corner of reception with no tables and just a few stools. Not a sociable space at all and only sporadically manned.
I had been really looking forward to relaxing on the beautiful terrace,but it's actually a restaurant and I felt quite uncomfortable using it without buying food and drink. It was also very heavily booked in the evening, so couldn't use it then.
There's no lounge area, so nowhere to even just sit and people watch.
Staff were helpful if approached, but not the most welcoming...
So would I go back? Probably yes, but it wasn't perhaps the best choice for a novice solo traveler! And a warning for couples. My room had a large glass panel between the bathroom and the bedroom, so every time the toilet is used at night, the whole room is flooded with light. Fine for me on my own, but I wouldn't want to be the one trying to sleep if I was sharing with someone who'd overdone the wine!

Room Tip: Try to find one that doesn't have a glass panel between it and the bathroom!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graninwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay of 4 nights in this hotel the reception staff were very friendly, they spoke English very well. The room was very clean and the towels changed daily. The continental breakfasts were very good. We never ate in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food, the restaurant is closed on Sunday night and Monday. The noise in the street went on till the early hours, that can only be expected in this central position. We would definitely stay at this hotel if we ever go to Santiago De Compostela In the future,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent 2 wonderful nights in this charming hotel, beautiful room with gorgeous views of an ancient square. Just outside our room a roof of a church covered in flowers with lots of butterflies hovering around...bliss, lovely terraces, fab food, everything about it is wonderful.The staff are very helpful..couldn't praise it enough...and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

the location is perfect, Santiago is a very small city and from here everything is extremely near. the room is clean and simply beautiful maybe a little bit too small. the rooms with the bow windows on the square San Miguel are very romantic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this hotel recently based on reviews on Trip Advisor and can only add to the various plaudits already stated. Location is ideal, being based in the old town, and so close to the Cathedral. The immediate area has plentiful supply of restaurants, tapas bars and points of interest. The hotel itself has been recently refurbished and belies it's 3 star grading...bedroom was superb overlooking the terrace, breakfast strongly recommended...dined on 2 separate nights in the terrace restaurant and enjoyed some wonderful tapas. Reception staff helpful. Would most certainly return to this hotel and would strongly recommend to friends and fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms overlooking the terrace
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itchyfeet43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Loved, loved, loved this hotel. I was given a corner room on the first floor which was quite spacious and had two windows which let in lots of light. The windows are really french doors that can open wide to let in lots of fresh air. At night, there was no problem with noise. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were really soft. Everything was very clean. The wifi was strong all over the hotel, including the terrazzo which is rare. The front desk staff, while not the warmest, were certainly helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was good, continental style. I stayed here after completing the Camino de Santiago and was so happy to experience a bit of luxury. The plan was to move onwards to Portugal and I just wanted to take the hotel with me. This should really be a four star hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank fourroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed two nights and would return again. Large room with modern bath and a great view of the private courtyard. Just 2 minutes walk to the Cathedral. A real oasis on the midst everything and at a very moderate price. Finding parking to offload luggage is a challenge. If you arrive by rental car, return the car first and take the taxi to the front door.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEclecticTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,751 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#13 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel

Address: 9, San Miguel dos Agros Square, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $62 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing