We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Addition to the Santiago Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hospederia San Martin Pinario
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Even if you don't walk the Camino de Santiago, just staying in this hotel seems in character with a visit to the city and the cathedral. The rooms are basic, small, and almost austere, but spotlessly clean with modern bathrooms. The building and public areas maintain the feel of a monastery. Both food and lodging are surprisingly inexpensive.

Although right next to the cathedral, we found the hotel entrance a little hard to find. If you arrive by car, driving to the hotel is restricted and the nearest public parking is a long walk to the front door, especially in the rain. There is a much shorter path through a back door as you leave, but the door bell doesn't work so it can't be used as an entrance. And don't expect any help with your bags. We found the staff to be very good, but there just aren't very many of them.

Overall, we loved the feel of the place and think it was a definite addition to our experience in Santiago de Compostela.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 878RichardF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 685 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel ended up giving us the best room we ever had on our Camino. It was wood panelled, generously proportioned and had the superior fittings. We got all of this by pure chance! The first room they took us to can only be described as spartan. When I protested they took me to the best room ever, just like that, there seemed no rhyme or reason and so I forgave them having to hock my heavy bags over. The staff themselves appear overworked, so there's no telling what you are going to end up with; beds, food, service. They would do well to employ more staff. and perhaps a new attitude.We were ready to set off to an early start on the Camino the next day but we were locked out of the restaurant. When I tapped on the door, we were rudely told by someone inside the joint, that it opened at eight. Not a good start to wait in the rain for your breakfast. Bottom line, avoid this place, unless you are feeling lucky!

Room Tip: Accepting rooms in the extensions built near the church is risky, ask for the ones above the main re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 296Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My single room was a bit sparse, but comfortable and with a view out the window of the Cathedral just a few steps away the location is superb. There is a glass elevator and a real mix of new and old in the refurbishing of this old monastery. Good breakfast choices but I was on the Pilgrim's menu for dinner that included wine. This building is amazing inside and out and worth a walk about even if you aren't staying there.

Thank vagabondginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hospederia is in an ideal location, right by the Cathedral,
The rooms are small but very comfortable and modern.
The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast buffet was the best one we had on the Camino between Sarria and Santiago. Highly recommended!

2  Thank joannreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

San Martin Pinario Hospedaje for B&B&D. Not long here but encouraging indicators so far;
€10 pp for 3 course satisfying dinner and a bottle of the in-house red, so left a 50% tip!
Twin bedroom cosy and spotless could perform heart-surgery in bathroom.
Half ten and still the sounds of late arrivals, suitcase wheelers, not like us seasoned walkers who move quietly and speak softly after the communal hostel-experience of jack-hammer snoring.
This old building has wall depths of 4 and 5 feet thick. The dining hall has a magnificent vaulted stone ceiling, no Paddy's involved in it's restoration. Not a doozie or wire in sight on the medevil light fittings and modern up lighters showing off the stone work. This building is full of atmosphere. Tastefully brought into the 21sr Century.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cuasnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great place to complete the Camino! Hot water. Excellent beds. Warm rooms. Good service. Nice lounge. Outstanding gift store and book store. This is where I will stay when I come back. The place is right next door to the Cathedral of St. James.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was so disappointed to have to write this - the communal areas in this hotel are not even heated and it was freezing cold at the end of March. Even in the rooms the heating was only on for a couple of hours in the morning and then again in the evening - during the day it was really cold. I came for my 70th birthday, but had to leave early as I couldn't take the freezing cold. The staff were a bit off hand, apart from the very helpful and caring waiter in the restaurant who, unlike the rest, was always smiling and cheerful. The pilgrims deserve some heat after their incredible trek over the Camino. It made me think the life of a monk was really hard! I went home after a day and a half after attending the Pilgrims Mass which was wonderful. The Cathedral was also freezing cold, obviously, no complaints there - but to have to go back to an equally freezing hotel room was not good. Go in summer - that's my advice!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Compostela
Hotel Compostela
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#17 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#24 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rua Villar
Hotel Rua Villar
#21 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia San Martin Pinario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia San Martin Pinario

Address: Praza Inmaculada 3, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $49 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia San Martin Pinario 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hospederia San Martin Pinario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia San Martin Pinario Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing