We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospederia San Martin Pinario
Certificate of Excellence
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

These accommodations are a one star at best. The good it is extremely clean & surroundings are quite. The room has no tv, telephone, bath mat, multi-use soap/shampoo dispenser limited outlets. Looks & feels like a convent bedroom. From the entry door it is quite a walk to reception. Breakfast was minimal. Reception staffed with one person early morning for checkout. Stayed here the final night of a tour, opted for a *** hotel my last night in the city and was glad and appreciated prior reviews to make my choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinPam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    254
    70
    24
    7
See reviews for
99
177
87
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

You can't get nearer to the Cathedral for a nights sleep unless you sleep in the square.
This is a converted monastery so the rooms are basic but comfortable.
The breakfast was good but basic.
Location is the best feature.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwordsPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was great to discover that at the end of our Camino, our hotel is just across from the Cathedral! Our room (for three) was spacious and roomy, with two lovely windows with wonderful views across the valley towards the hills. Great big fat old style radiators, perfect for getting warm after a morning walking in the rain. We were down the end of a corridor, with no-one else near us, so noise wasn't a problem. The afternoon sun came in the tall windows, can't describe how wonderful it felt to lie on a bed with fresh linen, and soak it up!
Meals were lovely - we had a simple but tasty dinner, and the breakfast had a huge selection to chose from.
wifi only works in public area downstairs, but that was fine for us - they've great areas to just relax, and there's no pressure to buy anything while you lounge around.
They must have taken on board criticism regarding left luggage, as when we left ours, we were given a number on a card, and our bags had matching stickers to identify them. We checked out and left ours for the morning while we wandered around Santiago. The hotel ordered us a taxi for the airport, with a flat rate of €21 for all three of us, which we thought was a reasonable luxury!
We thought we'd like to come back and stay here for a weekend, without doing the Camino.
Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire,England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can't really say much to add to the previous revews
Even after reading the reviews, it was a bit of a shock so find that it really is an ex Monestary!
Excellent location, rooms, service, breakfast, wifi and brilliant value
Possibly my favourite hotel ever - certainly for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Wow! Having walked the Camino for the last 5 days to arrive at the Cathedral and turn around with your back to the Cathedral and to see my hotel, it was the second best sight (only second to the Cathedral of course). It is so close to the Cathedral. I requested a view of the mountains beyond (not facing the Cathedral) and I was not disappointed. The view is lovely and the sun streaming in the room was so warm and welcoming.

The wifi does not work in the rooms. I tried a few as I considered moving, but honestly they should tell you it only works in the public areas. But there are lovely lounging rooms on each floor and plenty of private space to use wifi. The walls are over a metre thick so you can understand a router struggling, even when there are a few of them placed in the hotel.

This is an old monestary. As other reviews have explained. But it is beautiful and a perfect end to the Camino. Would recommend it. The helpful staff on reception walked me to multiple rooms to test the wifi and were happy to move us if we wanted to, but decided to stay in our sun drenched room.

Would recommend it. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty.

Room Tip: If you want a double make a note when booking. Request mountain view if you want the afternoon sun i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle_martion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The monastery was initially built around 900 AD and rebuilt in 16th century.The hotel rooms are converted monk residences. It's like reliving a medieval monastical life. The rooms are very simple, a bathroom, a bed, a table, a closet, and nothing else,which is exactly what you need in a place like that. It's insanely quiet at night and we slept like babies.

We also had dinner in the Hospederia. The food is not bad, and the waiter was very kind to us. We were the only two guests in the dinning room. Dinner, a bottle of house wine (pretty good) and a bottle of water cost us in total 20 euros for 2. We, of course, tipped the mam quite generously.

We were told at the high season which is around Easter is quite another picture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lord_cage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is exceptionally placed in Santiago de Compostela immediately across from the Cathedral and in the midst of the old town and the University. They provide a generous breakfast and reasonably priced lunch and dinner. New bathrooms, and very clean rooms. No TVs, slow Internet which only available in public spaces. No carpeting, which means you hear every sound in the corridors. Very helpful and attentive staff. Good value overall, if you are willing to sacrifice amenities.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the street, not much view in the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#8 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#12 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia San Martin Pinario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia San Martin Pinario

Property: Hospederia San Martin Pinario
Address: Praza Inmaculada 3, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia San Martin Pinario 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hospederia San Martin Pinario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia San Martin Pinario Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing