We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Leave your bags here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hospederia San Martin Pinario
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of September. The hotel itself is very large, and the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Our room was quite noisy we were woken up several times by doors banging and people shouting but I suppose this is always a risk with big touristy hotels. The location is as central as you can get being adjacent to the cathedral and everything is on your doorstep. The room was good value and we would have probably have scored this hotel more highly if it had not been for the poor customer service. The reception desk was under-staffed but what was most shocking was the left luggage arrangements. In most places we stayed hotels offered us a secure place to leave our bags for a few hours after we checked out. So did this hotel or so we thought.......we left our bags with reception and went off to explore for a few hours before collecting them to catch the train. On collection I was shocked as when I asked for my bags the receptionist just allowed me to walk into the left luggage room unattended to help myself. What's more our bags had all been opened and searched. Thank goodness we did not have anything valuable inside. We alerted the girl at reception but he seemed rather under-whelmed. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR BAGS UNATTENDED HERE. It's a theives paradise!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GracieDundee_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 685 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having read the reviews, I had mixed feelings about whether to stay, but have always felt a bit drawn to a monastic lifestyle. Now its a hotel, you don't get the lifestyle, but the conversion of a great building is good and there you get austere comfort in a great location. Bathroom fittings are good quality but you do hear when facilities in neighbouring rooms are being used, other than this there is plenty of quiet. Rooms are smallish, but there are plenty of spacious sitting areas around. Catering is a bit institutional, but in a place like Santiago with so many eating options on offer, that hardly matters.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greedymort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Huge old restored convent, beautifully done. I like the atmosphere and combination of the wandering pilgrims being welcomed for a lower price in addition to the regular guests. Rooms and bathrooms were great until someone in one of the next rooms used it and it felt like it was happening in your room. Could hear a complete conversation of the guy next door asking to change rooms at 6am. Big breakfast and as long as you take good ear plugs along, this is a great location for the price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NijmegenGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We planned a driving tour through Spain and were looking for well located hotels at a reasonable price. We were pleasantly surprised by the grandeur of the hotel and it's stones throw location from the cathedral.

The rooms were not spectacular and the hotel had limited amenities , including AC. Although there was a little trouble finding close parking there was little else we could fault. At the price point we paid it was extremely good value (probably too good. ) so if you are looking for a good nights rest without the price - this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Pros: Location. Price.

Cons: I am biased; having stayed here twenty years ago, I was shocked how commercialized it has become in every sense (building, 'receptionist', breakfast room, room facilities, etc.) Yes, it is comfortable and clean, but it was just like staying at a regular hotel in a renovated old building. I expected more from this place. I have stayed enough monasteries to say there are better choices out there. Don't let the old architecture fool you.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
6  Thank catsinbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for one night here in July 2012 and loved it. The rooms really did reflect their monastic origin. I suspect if you are the sort of person who expects to be in the lap of luxury you will be disappointed - it did have a slightly spartan feel to it - but the place was roomy and beautiful with helpful and friendly staff. Also the price was fantastic

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughan_Straker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The reason why this place gets two balls is the location. Very central, yet very quiet. There is also some nice details in how the old convent is present, in details of the interior as you walk from the entrance to the reception, for instance. Unfortunately, otherwise it felt really lousy and stingy. One thing is the structural elements:The very small double room we had for three nights had a reading light and bedside table only for one side of the bed. What is that? There was a cupboard with four hangers. For two people... No desk or table in the room, but an iron rack of shelves (for storing what??? I did not get it) and a suitcase stand of iron in front of the window. Feels like sleeping in a spare room where some disused pieces of furniture are stored. Our towels were not replaced, the two plastic glasses we received on the first day were thought to last for three days apparently. The ventilation in the bathroom did not function. Sorry about this, Santiago is beautiful, but some care and comfort should be provided for the price paid at this hotel/convent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kbergaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
Hotel Gastronomico San Miguel
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Compostela
Hotel Compostela
#16 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tryp Santiago
Tryp Santiago
#17 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#24 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rua Villar
Hotel Rua Villar
#21 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia San Martin Pinario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia San Martin Pinario

Address: Praza Inmaculada 3, 15704, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $49 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia San Martin Pinario 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hospederia San Martin Pinario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia San Martin Pinario Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing