We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt I was in a early 1900's orphanage!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergue Seminario Menor
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Felt I was in a early 1900's orphanage!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we booked we were told that linen was included but what they supplied was a disposable matress cover and pillow cover and a blanket which you get from a shelf so I guess that just get reused each day.
When you walk in to the rooms the single beds are lined up against the wall with a locker between and seem to go on forever. Lockers cost you extra to lock.
Worst part, particularly as I had just finished to Camino. St James walk and had a severe case of of gastro was that the showers and toilets are shared male and female. Shower doors were only frosted, and to go to the toilet cubicle you walked past the men at the urinals.
After much cheaper and better accomadation along the Camino we were extremly disappointed. We moved to a hotel that by the time they gave you complementary breakfast was not a great deal more per night, as was a wonderful way to complete our Camino experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank april t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    61
    33
    3
    18
See reviews for
12
14
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

the place looked awsome from the outside, but inside it's more or less like a prison. Sleeping in former cells, without sheets, over crowded, showers were boiling hot and the button needed to be pressed for water all the time. You should leave the hostel at 9.30 every day and should be in at midnight. So..a lot of rules..no breakfast.. It's far too much for the requested money rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank CornelisNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berenguela P, Manager at Albergue Seminario Menor, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Cornelis,
We are sorry your stay was not what you expected. The building of the Seminario Menor was built in 1955 , first was used like a seminary, then as a school and now as a school and hostel for pilgrims.
We provide for pilgrims disposable sheets at the time of check inn, which are included in the the price. Our pilgrim hostel is for pilgrims, this reason we need to set a timetable to guarantee good conditions in our hostel.
We welcome your comments because they help us to improve every day.
Thank you very much,
Sincerely,
Department of Management
Albergue Seminario Menor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santiago de Compostela hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent three days here before and after walking to Finisterra on the camino. On the plus side there was no problem leaving our bags there for the five days that we walked for free. There is a very generous buffet breakfast but not enough tables to cater for the huge amount of people staying there. They also need a second lift! The rooms are clean and basic,(former monks cells): we paid €65 for a double room, and then a pilgrim room was €40. The pilgrim rooms are in the rafters, very small and with mildew on the ceiling, it seems to compromise the overall quality of the hotel to see this. What stays in my memory though is the coldness and rudeness of the staff: since I was last here 4 years ago the place seems to have been taken over by a company called 'Martin Pinario' who obviously share nothing with the spirituality of a former monk's seminary, I have to say this affected ourenjoyment of what is a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Pilgrim rooms are shabbier but cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We decided to walk the Camino from Sarria to Santiago and needed to stay one night in Santiago before taking a train to our starting point. We stayed here the first night and discovered a nice surprise.....for 2 Euros, you can leave your other bags in a locker for a long duration (we left our for 5 days). This is a much cheaper option than the bus station and you can stay here once you arrive. The facility has plenty of showers, bathrooms and other things to accommodate many travelers. The rooms are quite large with many people sleeping in there, so if you have ear plugs, I'd bring them. Don't forget that a sleeper sheet is necessary.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM010543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I’ve slept one night in Albergue Seminario Menor and paid 17 euros for an individual room (no more than 1 person per room allowed in this accommodation) because at 13:00 all the other beds were reserved or occupied.

It’s a beautiful and large building that should be your last shelter if you have done one of the St. James' Way (O Camiño de Santiago)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berenguela P, Manager at Albergue Seminario Menor, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are very pleased that your stay in our hostel has been satisfactory.
We know that the way is sometimes very hard for the pilgrims and our aim is to give a warm welcome to all pilgrims.
We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
Thank you very much for your comments.
The whole team Albergue Seminario Menor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eurostars San Lazaro
Eurostars San Lazaro
#17 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gelmirez
Hotel Gelmirez
#10 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergue Seminario Menor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue Seminario Menor

Property: Albergue Seminario Menor
Address: Avenida Quiroga Palacios 2A, 15702, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergue Seminario Menor 1*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Asunción Minor Seminary Lodge provides the following services:Reception 177 single beds Social rooms with TV Toilets and showers Laundry Internet Vending machines Outdoor parking for bikes Bottom sheet & pillow case included in the accommodation price It is essential to have sleeping bag at one´s disposalTimetableFor the lodge´s correct functioning and maintenance we recommend our gueststo:Leave the facilities before 9:30 h. A.M., since cleaning takes place between 9:30h. and 13:30h Access the facilities after 13:30 P.M. Reception serviceThe reception is open from 13:30 h. to 23:00 h. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Albergue Seminario Menor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing