We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local food with a twist. Highly recommended”
Review of Taberna da Galera

Taberna da Galera
Ranked #18 of 1,199 Restaurants in La Coruna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

We live few meters from this quite new restaurant and used to ignore it as we had few other favorites near it.
We tried once as it was always busy...and we enjoyed it a lot!
You may go for the typical Tortilla (Betanzos style so be aware of the runny egg) or local raxo (pork with paprika)...But I would recommend queen scallops, mussels and some type of blue fish almost raw.
Great desserts too
Good atmosphere
Slightly more expensive than nearby tapas bars and restaurants in the same street...But worth trying!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank xmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 372 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We fancied some tapas so went into this restaurant.

We arrived at 8 p.m. when this and many other restaurants are just opening. Service was very fast friendly and efficient.

We had 4 dishes between us but did not realize that the Spanish omelette was going to be as big as it was, so two or three dishes between two people may be sufficient except for those very hungry people out there.

We especially recommend the Walk of vegetables which was plentiful and delicious. this plus the omelet would make a substantial meal for two.

Prices of wood so reasonable and would suit anybody on a modest budget.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SteveByfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Great looking bar, well done out and really pleased we stopped for some lunch. The staff are very friendly, speaking good English and happy to recommend. We had a range of tapas and stuff from the munch menu and everything was amazing. The flavours really come through and feels totally fresh.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Markandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

We randomly picked this place on a busy Saturday because the locals were filling the place and the menu looked incredible... and it was! And great service! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Great service! Tapas and wine were fab. Perfect tuna tataki and fried fish. Highly recommended! Will definitely go again.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank winebore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna da Galera also viewed

La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
 
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
 
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Taberna da Galera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing