We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of La Escondita

La Escondita
Ranked #26 of 1,199 Restaurants in La Coruna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with my family. Limited but good menu. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Deserts were particularly delicious.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 883ciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 386 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

I believe this restaurant is actually excellent but we had a bad experience because of one glowing review. They said it was a criminal offense not to have the steak which was the best in the world. Now I am a criminal because my whole family had it. Let me be clear this is not the best steak in the world. The steak was tough. Also even medium is rare so if you like your meat cooked get it well done.

The mussels at the next table looked very good.

My grandson and I started with the garlic prawns which were tasty and good.

I had the oxtail stew which was very good. I would have it again.

The people were very nice we got there at 20:30 and they open at 21:00. They were full but they graciously fitted our party of six in without a reservation.

Meal was good value for money.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank rkaemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Tucked away in the far right hand corner under the stairs is this little gem - seek it out!

Friendly Galician hospitality.
Wonderful wines.
Huge juicy mussels.
Fantastic razor clams!
Beautiful devilled eggs.

And the meat! Oh God!
The meat is just to die for! The best steak I have ever had, anywhere in the world! Have the local steak entrecôte and cooked "poco hecha" - anything more is a criminal offence!

allow 3h for lunch here!
We can't wait to come back!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sometimewanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

This was by far the best experience we've had on this trip to Galicia.

Attentive service, excellent wine, perfect hidden terrace, ridiculous colas de gambon, perfect vegetables and of course...Incredible lubina a brasa!!!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Clintito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

Excellent food and perfect service ! Warmly recommended ! From starters to dessert ! Do not hesitated to go there

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Freddo974RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Escondita also viewed

La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
 
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
 
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to La Escondita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing