We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, central and affordable”
Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #10 of 42 La Coruna B&B and Inns
nesoddtangen
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice, central and affordable”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hostal Sol is located in the center of the town, very close to the beach and to restaurants and bars. We were a couple in a superior room, travelling with an elder relative who was unlucky and got an ordinary double room that smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. She was not offered a new room, the solution was to open the window.. However, the superior room was great value, spacious and with a nicely designed bathroom and free wifi. The only downside was that the ventilation seemed ineffective, no proper airconditioning. The staff was friendly and helpfull. No minibar, but we bought cold drinks from the bar downstairs and had them served in the room to chill out one afternoon.

Room Tip: A "superior double room" is very good value, it is still a reasonable price. Beware of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbergaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    54
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
67
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siam Reap Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

In the centre of town with very tight parking. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms with lots of old style dark wood furniture. From balcony you could just see the sea down the road. very loud bars outside which are open till early in the morning. Good value for money with few wifi and parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is situated right in the centre of the city, next to all the central bars/cafes, resturants, especially with the famous seafood!
The hotel is pretty simple, but more or less modern, with clean nice rooms (with all the basic things you need inside), it didn't have breakfast, although there's a small cafe right in the same building (we didn't try it though).
Note: on the booking.com it was said that the hotel is a non-smoking one, but when we entered in our room we saw an ashtray on the night table and it smelled of smoke horribly bad. We asked to change the room at the reception and as long as it wasn't a high season and there were a lot of free ones, we got another room without any problems (without the smell!).
But, better check it our before you go, because sleeping with this smell must be terrible.
Everything else is just fine. Big plus that we were looking for was the parking - they have a private one - in the garage, though you'll need to leave the car key at the reception in case they'll need to move the cars.
Anyway, it was a good stay! Cheap, central and with free parking!

Room Tip: make sure you have a non-smoking room (if you're not a smoker) because some of the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadushaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Very friendly staff. Very good value for money. Excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Small hotel located in the center of A Coruña, 200m from the beach, 200m from the main shops and the nightlife
Rooms are quite small but very clean
Parking is included in the price of the room (and parking in A Coruña can be very very difficult, so this is a great bonus !)
The only negative point is that it's quite noisy (especially from room to room)
We didn't try the breakfast

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LePhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The best value for money in La Coruña. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Super friendly and helpfull staff. 2 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes walking from the main square and harbour. Free parking. Breakfast is not included but they have a cafeteria where they serve breakfast. It is the best area to go to the beach, and located in the area where all the pubs are. It is a bit noisy in the morning because of the sea gulls but more expensive hotels will not help to this. Definetly the best choice in La Coruña, specially to go with friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dora_gallego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

First of all: We did not stay in the hostal Sol when we saw our Room. - It was not for us.
It is clean, and everything looked ok. Just for us the bed was much too small (we think even not 1,40m wide), Room was very small, there was a nice and even spacious balcony but without any furniture.. (even not a chair), We did not like the street where it was located since it looked dingy and we saw that there where one or two nightclubs nearby. To compare to other places we stayed in during our trip through portugal and Galicia it was really expensive for what it was. But it seems to be normal for la Corunia.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaujolais31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Coruna hotels
0.9 mi away
Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riazor Coruna
Hotel Riazor Coruna
#17 of 32 in La Coruna
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tryp Coruna Hotel
Tryp Coruna Hotel
#9 of 32 in La Coruna
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH A Coruna Atlantico
NH A Coruna Atlantico
#10 of 32 in La Coruna
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Maria Pita
Melia Maria Pita
#4 of 32 in La Coruna
1,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH A Coruna Centro
NH A Coruna Centro
#8 of 32 in La Coruna
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Property: Hotel Sol
Address: Calle sol 10, 15003 La Coruna, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > La Coruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in La Coruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol La Coruna, A Coruna, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing