We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in A Coruña”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in La Coruna
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A good choice in A Coruña”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed one night here in May 2013, and had a pleasant stay. There was however some minor “problems”...

Behind the reception area there is a room where the receptionists seem to spend an awful lot of time. I went down to the reception three times to ask for directions, advices etc, and every time I had to linger around and try to give the receptionist a friendly “signal”. It was all a bit awkward in the end...

Unfortunately you can hear everything in the hotel due to paper thin walls and hard wooden floors. Do not expect to go to sleep early or get up late... It sounded like the room over mine was having a minor earthquake. And the version of “Killing me softly” coming from the bathroom next door will haunt me forever.

The hotel is located quite a bit outside the city center, but in a quiet and new area on the tip of the peninsula. It looks a little run down from the outside, but the room was both modern and nice. The bathroom had a bubble bath, and you could choose pillows from your own preference. Everything seemed clean and well maintained. It was really quiet at night, and possible to sleep with your window open (air-condition did not seem to be turned on properly yet)

Be sure to ask for a room with ocean view. I would also recommend taking the time to walk around the area surrounding the hotel – it is really nice. There is even a small beach right in front of the hotel. It is possible to walk to the city center in about 20 minutes, and the promenade makes it a nice experience with plenty of photo opportunities.

It is possible to buy the breakfast for EUR 7 (in advance) or EUR 9 the following morning. I did not try it. You can park for free right in front of the hotel as well.

Considering the very reasonable price I payed, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    301
    102
    30
    17
See reviews for
164
323
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vigo, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This Hotel was fine, good value for money, as we stayed only for 1 night and paid a really nice price for that, didn´t have breakfast though.
The Hotel is situated in around 10-15 min of walking distance from the centre, and has its own small beach with beautiful views on the ocean.
The room and bathroom were pretty big, clean, silent with everything you need. The bed was just HUGE, very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadushaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is a little dated and tired but we enjoyed our stay, we booked the hotel after staying at the Eurostars Salamanca (ex Melia). We were given a seventh floor room with sea view . The distance from the town may be a problem for some people but they could always get a bus or taxi, the staff are very knowledgable and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had the obsession of seeing the ocean from "the corner" of Iberian peninsula, and we accomplished our goal. On 26th October, during a rain-storm, we checked-in. There was only a single parking place empty, and we drove in. I do not think it will be so easy in summer. The high middle-aged guy at the reception must have been a sailor or fisherman once. He communicated practically with short sentences, but he always smiled and did his job flawlessly, gave us the rooms we asked for and showed us the breakfast room within 2 minutes! Checking out the next morning took even less ...

Our room was looking North towards the ocean, while our friend's was on the opposite side and from 6th floor we both had different, but nice views. Of course, the storm did not allow us to open the window on the ocean side completely, but we could manage to keep it at 1/4ths so that the rain did not flood the room.

Our room was huge indeed, compared to our friend's which was on the other side, and normal, 25m2 or so. The arch shape of the building might be the reason, we suspected. As we would arrive late, and the weather was terrible, we had prepared ourselves cheese, jamon and wine as our late evening meal. Our room was so large that 4 of us could comfortably dine in there. The 2m wide sofa accomodated 3, and I sat on the chair. The mid-table was also large enough to place even 6 plates.

During sleep, we did not hear the storm, but as a precaution, we pulled the curtains. Maybe because we were tired - I can not be certain about that - but we did not wake until breakfast, so the room temperature must be convenient.

Room furniture and decoration is from 80s, but of high quality and kept very well. The bed was comfortable and linens were fresh and clean, just like the towels. There even was a shoehorn. I had not seen one in the last 15 years in any hotel!

Breakfast was undoubtedly complete, including sausages. Instead of omlette, they serve scrambled eggs. On the other hand, bacon was delicious, so I guess English make the majority of tourists.

Although it seems simple on the map, finding the hotel was not that easy during the rain-storm. And GPSs also do not work properly under such conditions, you know.

There is a bus stop 30m away, and 3 busses depart from there. The center is only 5 minutes. There is a beach towards the tower, and a promenade on the ocean side. In summer, I doubt we can afford the place! We regret having not stayed there longer.

Room Tip: Certainly from higher floors looking back to the ocean. Maybe a bit colder in winter, though ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CemKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Good experience on a hotel, good and clean room, on a nice and calm area of the city, close to Hercules tower and 5 min drive to the center of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vilhenafj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is located a little bit far from the center. If you like to walk, this will be no problem for you. It is 20 minutes walk from the center. The hotel is very good ( quality/price). The breakfast is very good and the staff is friendly. The view from the room is beautiful.The hotel is near the sea.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valquiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

A simple hotel with magnificent views and an exquisite Customer Service.
They even have a pillow menu at no extra charge.
Magnificent surroundings to walk and take pictures.
Minor draw back it is not in the center of the city, but they have transportation and if you rent a car they even have a free parking.

I will definitly book again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blissy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Coruna hotels
0.7 mi away
Melia Maria Pita
Melia Maria Pita
#4 of 32 in La Coruna
1,368 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tryp Coruna Hotel
Tryp Coruna Hotel
#7 of 32 in La Coruna
808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sercotel Blue Coruna
Sercotel Blue Coruna
#1 of 32 in La Coruna
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Attica 21
Hotel Attica 21
#3 of 32 in La Coruna
663 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection A Coruna Finisterre
2.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Coruna
Hotel Plaza Coruna
#5 of 32 in La Coruna
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna

Property: Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna
Address: Rua Juan Sebastian Elcano 13, 15002 La Coruna, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > La Coruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Coruna
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Coruna
#10 Luxury Hotel in La Coruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ocean is Galicia and Galicia is the ocean. For this reason a truly Galician night is one with the murmur of the waves breaking on the cliffs and waking with the dazzling reflection of the ocean light and the soft sound of the calm, morning waters. Without any doubt, because of its location and its quality, the Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna (City of Corunna) is the ideal accommodation for treating oneself to pleasures that are so human, so Galician, so Atlantic. The Eurostars Ciudad de La Coruna is a true oasis in the city. Here, in this secret Corunna courtyard, we have exchanged the streets for a first class collection of sculptures; here, the noise of the city gives way to the sound of the waves: here, the sound of traffic is drowned and the wind peacefully takes its place; here, the hills rise to contemplate how the city falls in love with the ocean and, here, we take off from daily life to submerge ourselves in history contemplating, next to the Eurostars Ciudad de La Coruna, the most ancient lighthouse in the world, erected in Nero's times: the Tower of Hercules. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Ciudad de la Coruna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Ciudad De La Coruna A Coruna, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing