We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice visit”

Castle of San Anton
Ranked #5 of 76 things to do in La Coruna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
558 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“nice visit”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to the Museo arqueologico to find out a little bit more about the history and background of A Coruña and its past. We were not disappointed. Interesting exhibits, nice location.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank honguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    153
    43
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The castle has got spectacular views and it's very well looked after. There are very fine Celtic jewellery on display and also there is an old reservoir (now became a wishing well). It is definitely one of the places that must be seen while visiting Coruna. The entrance fee is only €2 each.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Berivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great view and nice museum”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This castle is very small, however the view from there to the city is pretty amazing. It was originally constructed over an island and used as the first defense against incoming navies.
The museum is good and has a very decent collection of Roman carved stones gathered from spots where permanent roman settlements were constructed around Galicia. Also, the celtic jewelry collection is beautiful.
You can make this visit in about an hour or less, and the admission is free, which is great if you are running low on budget.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ocecena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The museum itself is OK with some beautiful Celtic jewellery and some interesting facts. But on the fine day we went the views and the castle itself were the best thing about visiting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank euromnlostatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free Admission to an Excellent Exhibit!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I visited La Coruna on a Cruise. We didn't have a ton of time, but Castillo de San Anton was well worth the time.

There was a worker in a booth, and we expected to pay some fee to enter, but he gave us a couple of passes and said there was no admission.

There are several different areas of the fort. The interior yard has old ruins on display. There were smaller rooms in the stone that were probably store rooms or cells for prisoners for the fort. Now they have many pieces of walls, arches, etc. on display. Many of them are dated from the 1400's and 1500's.

On the upper level, you can walk around the entire fort. There are a couple of cannons. I looked out over the harbor and imagined soldiers of the fort defending the harbor against incoming unfriendly ships.

There are several interesting sites to see around the fort. There's a light house near the end of the fort. There's a recreation of a boat that would have been used in the early days. By the boat there's a dark stairway that leads into a Cistern. It takes a little curiosity and no fear of the dark. There are a couple of turns on the stairway. Inside the Cistern there was a light and you can see incoming daylight from the well.

There's a similar dark spiral staircase on one of the upper buildings. After a little more curiosity, we discovered it came out on top of the main building. From the top, there was a pretty spectacular view of the rest of the fort, and the harbor. There was also an interesting tiled roof structure.

Finally, we discovered you can go inside the main building. It's a museum filed with artifacts from the fort. There are old swords, a flag from the 1500's, coins, crown jewels, and some Catholic items.

I've been to the Castillo de San Marcos in St. Augustine Florida. Castillo de San Anton is very similar. Definitely worth the price of admission (Free!!).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Tommy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle of San Anton also viewed

La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
 
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
La Coruna, Province of A Coruna
 

Been to Castle of San Anton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing