We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great mini-break to A Coruna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Maria Pita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Maria Pita
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in La Coruna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great mini-break to A Coruna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It will be difficult to beat the location of this hotel if you are staying in A Coruna. We did not book a sea view room, but got given one on check-in which was fantastic. There are steps going down to the beach in front of the hotel and the beach is great. We ordered some cava through room service and drank that on the beach watching the sunset - highly recommended. Even though it was October, the weather was absolutely great. The hotel is also a short walk from all the sights and lovely to walk around and discover. We also opted for the breakfast when we checked in and both the hotel and breakfast was excellent value for money. We found the service great and everyone was very helpful.

Room Tip: Do ask for a sea view room. We also asked for a twin room as we were two friends travelling togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonitaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Gerente at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Client:

On behalf of Hotel Melia María Pita ´ staff, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your last stay in A Coruña as well as taking your time for your comments about our hotel.

Best Regards

Alfonso Lara
G. manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    544
    145
    44
    15
See reviews for
251
537
45
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This Melia falls well below its own aspirations. The WiFi and hot water are very unreliable. The walls are paper thin and heavy wood doors with faux wood floors means that any loud footstep will wake you up. We eventually resorted to earplugs and I am a very sound sleeper. The Laundry and Parking are pricey and they are not helpful in finding you any alternatives to their prices. Luckily I found a nearby dry cleaners that saved me about $60 USD over the hotel. Lastly, the bathroom had very shoddy work, broken tiles, and a broken shower head meant to adjust, but it kept sliding down. There are better alternatives for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ama2re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Gerente at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Client:

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write and contact us. I full regret that you have a negative impression about our services and please accept our apologies about that.

Best Regards.

Alfonso Lara
G. manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited here last Friday and spent two nights in the Hotel. I ate in the Restaurant one evening and the food was ok and breakfast was ok in the morning. Nothing special really but the location is good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Manager at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Client:

On behalf of Hotel Meliá María Pita ´ staff, I would like to thank you for choosing us during your last stay in A Coruña as well as taking your time for your comments about our hotel.

Best Regards

Alfonso Lara
G. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved A Coruna - what a lovely spot.
Hotel in great location looking out over fantastic bay. Friendly helpful reception staff who were happy to give us a late checkout - nb normal time is noon :)
Very comfortable bed & nice large towels however depending on what's happening it can be a bit noisy.
Breakfast buffet very good especially when booked at reception - 8 euros rather than 14.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Manager at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Client:

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about your stay in the hotel. The costumer ´s opinion always helps us to improve the quality of our service


Best Regards.

Alfonso Lara
G. manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Coruna, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is only my second review on tripadvisor.com. My first review was to assure anyone traveling to La Coruna stayed clear of the disaster of a hotel (my original booking) down the same street. As a corrective measure, I booked alternatively at Meila Maria Pita and didnt arrive until 2200 hours on Thursday evening. I booked using their online 'dial me back' feature. The promptly did call me back and I discussed my desire to book a suite (jr or normal) in the Melia Maria P. The gentleman on the phone wasnt actually at the hotel but did everything in his power to secure the suite for me (put me on hold and rang the location's front desk). Unfortunately, at 2100 hours, no suites were available for that night. BUT, the same individual didnt stop at that night but inquired for upcoming days / nights. What he did was assure my desires were satisfied. So, for the first evening he secured a standard room for me. He alerted the hotel of my desire to upgrade on future nights.

I arrived at Melia Maria P (leaving the original disaster of a hotel) and was greeted warmly and with great hospitality. The front desk staff watched me attempting to communicate the best I could whilst exhausted in Spanish (not my native tongue). They were so patient and willing to continue the dialogue in Spanish as long as I was willing. Eventually, they saw me struggle for word and so, they switched to English with a smile and warming quality. We discussed my checking in to the 'standard' room for the first night and listened to what I was looking for: 1. Big bed (not a single) 2. Bathtub 3. Massage or doctor for the following day 4. Late meal considering I was checking in at 2200. They bent over backwards to attempt to satisfy each request. THEY DID! I was tired, in pain, and hungry and they took care of me without hesitation.

The next day upon waking and initially going down for what turned out to be the most amazing breakfast I've had on my pilgrimage, the front desk staff found me and provided me a walk thru of the Junior Suite. I asked at that time (1100 hours) if it would be alright if I waited to make a decision until I saw the Normal Suite. They assured me that would be fine and allowed me to return to the standard room I stayed in the night before and reside there until the Normal Suite was cleaned and ready for viewing. Near to 1430 hours, the front desk rang me up and showed me the Normal Suite. I was sold. Soon thereafter, the front desk staff returned with the key, a bellhop, and necessary paperwork. They did not require me to return to the desk (they did all the leg work for me). In addition, they secured the physical therapist (doctor) to arrive in my room at 1600 that day. In addition, they were accommodating in that I was having a friend arrive that afternoon and they assured the friend would find me in my room (considering I was being worked on by the doctor).

Next, I was so delighted to have then a superb room, jacuzzi tub, and treatment, I extended my stay an additional two nights. A subsequent night in the suite and then downgraded again to a standard.

I have nothing but brilliant grades in all categories for this facility. Their staff were irreproachable in their service. The rooms were amazing (and I stayed in a few). The external network proved worthy of high reviews as well. Food was delicious. The price, unbelievable in comparison to the other 'crap place' I originally visited.

I recommend HIGHLY anyone considering the Melia Maria Pita. You will not be disappointed. From their remote reservation system, front desk, kitchen, bellhop and external services (doctor / therapist), it was a first class act and experience.

Kind regards.

Maureen M.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you want and why you want it and they will make recommendation and accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Manager at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Maureen M



In Meliá Hotels International, we believe that is only through listen carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. We are proud to receive personal comments and opinions such as yours

Thank you very much for your comments.


Alfonso Lara
G.manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during our recent trip to Spain. Absolutely wonderful experience from beginning to end. We couldn't believe our good luck. The staff spoke English and were all friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean, practically designed and very comfortable for sleeping. There was actually a double bed rather than two single beds pushed together like at the other two hotels we stayed at in Spain. The breakfast was the best we had in Spain. A dazzling array of mainly cold choices. Very tasty and fresh. On the second night, we tried the $20 menu at the restaurant. We don't normally eat at hotel restaurants but the choices looked very good. Top notch service with waiters in uniform. Excellent and awesome value. Location was perfect - next to the ocean but walking distance to everything we wanted to do. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sixtysix66_66_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Gerente at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Client:


Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about your stay in the hotel. The costumer ´s opinion always helps us to improve the quality of our service.


Best Regards.

Alfonso Lara
G.manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent three days in Melia Maria Pita and enjoyed the beach view. You just cross the paseo Maritimo to have a swim in the Atlantic Ocean. A beautiful, endless, sandy beach infront of the hotel.
The staff at this hotel is very friendly and service minded. They do their outmost to make you feel welcome.
The hotel is missing a nice lobby bar. The small bar they have is hided away without any view, but of`course you have all the tapas bars and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juhani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlfonsoLara, Gerente at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Client:

Thank you very much for your kind opinion. Client´s suggestion help us to improve our business.


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Coruna hotels
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Blue Coruna
Sercotel Blue Coruna
#1 of 32 in La Coruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hesperia Finisterre
Hesperia Finisterre
#3 of 32 in La Coruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Attica 21
Hotel Attica 21
#2 of 32 in La Coruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH La Coruna Atlantico
NH La Coruna Atlantico
#9 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Coruna
Hotel Plaza Coruna
#6 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hesperia A Coruna
Hesperia A Coruna
#7 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Maria Pita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Maria Pita

Property: Melia Maria Pita
Address: Avenida Pedro Barrie de La Maza 3, 15003 La Coruna, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > La Coruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Coruna
#4 Business Hotel in La Coruna
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Coruna
#5 Family Hotel in La Coruna
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Coruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Maria Pita 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Maria Pita is located in the center of A Coruna, in the promenade and off the beaches of Orzan and Riazor, less than 10 min. Walk from the main attractions of the city such as the Tower of Hercules, the tapas area and the historic and commercial center, with easy access from any route. It has 183 rooms,refurbished in 2015, with fabulous sea views. All are equipped with flat screen 37' TV with international channels, free internet access fiber optic high capacity and bathroom with vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities Melia. The hotel has different dining areas, O`Toxo Buffet Breakfast restaurant, Restaurant -Cafeteria Trueiro two private rooms and indoor terrace with Canal + Liga. We specialize in Galician and Mediterranean cuisine and room service is available 24 hrs. He impressed the large, glazed and bright marble hall overlooking Orzan Cove. We have an exclusive parking for our customers, Internet corner (Point E) and 7 meeting rooms and banquet facilities accommodating up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Maria Pita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Maria Pita Hotel La Coruna
Melia La Coruña
Melia Hotel Maria Pita
Melia Maria Pita La Coruna, A Coruna, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing