We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic”
Review of Melia Maria Pita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Maria Pita
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in La Coruna
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Romantic”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the last couple of nights of our European holiday. The hotel is right on the water and very close to the city. We had one room that wasn't facing the water and our room was huge, very modern, very clean, etc. We loved it! We upgraded the next night to a room looking out on the water. The room was lovely, although much smaller. My only complaint is that the balcony overlooking the water was not kept up very well. The paint was flaking off and it looked a little gross. The view, however, was amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, I would recommend staying here and hope I can go back someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear romerome22, I am Raul Alvarez, General Manager of Meliá Maria Pita.
We are glad that you liked the hotel and the location.
I regret that the balcony of the second room has not met your expectations.
We hope to see you again at Meliá María Pita.
Best regards. Raul Alvarez – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    560
    149
    45
    15
See reviews for
261
558
45
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice hotel, right on the seafront. It's 10 minutes walk into the centre of town and about half an hour to the lighthouse. Good value...about £60 for one night without breakfast. Only negative was that it took quite a while to check in as they seemed to be short staffed and the process was a long one!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ljv87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear ljv87, I am Raul Alvarez, General Manager of Meliá Maria Pita.
We are glad that you liked the hotel and location.
I’m do apologize for the delay in your check in.
We hope to see you again at Meliá María Pita.
Best regards. Raul Alvarez – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Excellent breakfast. Good value. Very cheerful and helpful staff (but not enough of them on check-out). Top floor 'B' room with the spiral staircase and the terrace was ideal for us and good value. While here we only ate breakfast - loads of fantastic tapas within 10 minutes walk in the direction of the harbour.

Room Tip: Sea view, unless you are desperate to save money. Top floor 'B' room if you can handle a ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euromnlostatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear euromnlostatsea, I am Raul Alvarez, General Manager of Meliá Maria Pita.
regret that our rooms have not met your expectations.
We are glad that you liked the hotel, location, rooms with terrace and our breakfast.
We hope to see you again at Meliá María Pita.
Best regards. Raul Alvarez – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The Melia Maria Pita was clearly an icon back in the day, however it is clear that the hotel is in dire need of a renovation. The property, while well maintained, looks VERY dated. Specially the rooms. The furniture, fixtures and decor in the rooms looks from an era kong gone. On the other hand, the bathrooms are nice and modern. Not sure why there is a disconnect between those two.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear JFrontado, I am Raul Alvarez, General Manager of Meliá Maria Pita.
regret that our rooms have not met your expectations.
Our hotel has a classic style and in 2008 we changed the bathrooms to update the Facilities.
We hope to see you again at Meliá María Pita.
Best regards. Raul Alvarez – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very poor front desk attendance. Room very noisy with an outside machinery. We were unable to sleep. When mentioned to front desk, she said it was the air conditioning (which was actually off!).Cleanliness was borderline with terrible smoke smell for a non smoking room. Breakfast was fine.
I would definitely avoid this hotel

Room Tip: Get another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chawket M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear chawket, I am Raul Alvarez, General Manager of Meliá Maria Pita.
I greatly appreciate you have taken some of your valuable time to provide feedback.
I regret that your stay at the hotel was not as expected and suffered inconvenience due to machinery noise and the smell of smoke.
I would appreciate if you could contact with the hotel in order to know what your room number was. This information is very important to check the noisy at your room
Best regards. Raul Alvarez – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Best thing about this hotel is it's location. In the centre of things and yet overlooking Coruna s beautiful beach and long promenade. Cost of room for night was very competitive ( without breakfast! Who pays for hotel breakfasts when you can get a 'Desayano' in a cafe for 3euro?). Our bedroom was very nice, clean and spacious with the loveliest of views. Our only interaction with personnel was at reception and both ladies were very pleasant and welcoming. My reason for just an average rating is that this hotel is probably great if you are in it for business reasons but I needed it to fulfill mine and my husbands needs as a holiday base ie ; while I could laze on beach opposite the hotel ,He could relax in the hotel lounge areas or coffee bar or garden. In this case however there was a lobby with seating and internet which was essentially a waiting area , not particularly cozy, the bar did not open until 7 in the evening, the restaurant seemed to be closed during the day or if not , appeared to be a more formal dining area than a cafe ( at least when we went looking for a coffee we did not feel it welcoming to sit in a formal setting with no one else in sight) and finally , the one major disappointment was that there was no outdoor seating area in which to sit , read and take whatever ray of sunshine might appear for an hour or so. Minor gripes really. Would i stay there again though ? Yes ! If only for that wonderful sound of sea lapping on to the shore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetalGalwayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
PetalGalwayIreland Dear, I am Raul Alvarez, General Manager of Meliá Maria Pita.
I greatly appreciate you have taken some of your valuable time to provide feedback.
We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and location
There are two bars in the hotel, one open from 11:00 am and another from 19:30.
For next summer we will try to have outdoor seeting with bar/snack service.
Hope to see you again soon at the hotel and thanks again for the comments that help us improve every day.
Best regards. Raul Alvarez – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a in a great, walkable location to the center of La Courna. It has a beautiful view of the ocean front. Rooms are nothing special on the inside, but are very clean. The staff was not wildly helpful. In house restaurant has amazing vegetable paella. Weak WiFi, only works in lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Addie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul A, Director General at Melia Maria Pita, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Addie76, I am Raúl Alvarez, the General Manager of Meliá Maria Pita.
I Greatly appreciate you having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments.
We are glad that you liked the hotel, location, our vegetable paella and our fantastic seaviews.
I would like to express my regret and offer my apologies about lack of service of our room’s wifi. It could be because a temporary problem.
We hope to see you again soon at the hotel.
Best regards. Raúl Alvarez - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Coruna hotels
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Blue Coruna
Sercotel Blue Coruna
#1 of 32 in La Coruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH Collection A Coruna Finisterre
2.5 mi away
Hotel Attica 21
Hotel Attica 21
#3 of 32 in La Coruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH La Coruna Atlantico
NH La Coruna Atlantico
#9 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Coruna
Hotel Plaza Coruna
#6 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
NH A Coruna Centro
NH A Coruna Centro
#8 of 32 in La Coruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Maria Pita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Maria Pita

Property: Melia Maria Pita
Address: Avenida Pedro Barrie de La Maza 3, 15003 La Coruna, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > La Coruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Coruna
#4 Business Hotel in La Coruna
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Coruna
#5 Family Hotel in La Coruna
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Coruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Maria Pita 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Maria Pita is located in the center of A Coruna, in the promenade and off the beaches of Orzan and Riazor, less than 10 min. Walk from the main attractions of the city such as the Tower of Hercules, the tapas area and the historic and commercial center, with easy access from any route. It has 183 rooms,refurbished in 2015, with fabulous sea views. All are equipped with flat screen 37' TV with international channels, free internet access fiber optic high capacity and bathroom with vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities Melia. The hotel has different dining areas, O`Toxo Buffet Breakfast restaurant, Restaurant -Cafeteria Trueiro two private rooms and indoor terrace with Canal + Liga. We specialize in Galician and Mediterranean cuisine and room service is available 24 hrs. He impressed the large, glazed and bright marble hall overlooking Orzan Cove. We have an exclusive parking for our customers, Internet corner (Point E) and 7 meeting rooms and banquet facilities accommodating up to 350 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melia Maria Pita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Maria Pita Hotel La Coruna
Melia La Coruña
Melia Hotel Maria Pita
Melia Maria Pita La Coruna, A Coruna, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing