We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Placa de la Font

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Placa de la Font
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Tarragona is a fascinating Roman City and the hotel is ideally situated, overlooking lovely square with plenty of restaurants. You can walk to old quarter and visit all Roman sites. Hotel is comfortable. After dinner in old quarter we came back for a night cap and played cards in hotel bar. Very relaxing end to our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jostony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    123
    49
    8
    9
See reviews for
52
140
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were only there for three nights and never spoke to the management or ate ther so this is not a comprehensive review. Bed was hard even for continental standards but my better half slept ok and i was so exhausted i must admit i was out like a light. The bathroom door nearly locked my partner in as the handle was faulty but she escaped eventually! Shower was very good and plenty of hot water. room its self was smallish but how much room do you want! Air con worked ok, nice bathroom (apart from the door). There was a lot of noise one night from a bunch of young americans that the staff didn't do anything about. Everytime i pulled my pants on to go give them hell they vanished.....very frustrating being unable to vent my wrath! Check in was great, check out was a bit of a mix up but the young lad on the desk was nice enough. Err.....thats about it really. Not a bad choice to visit a great destination. Oh we had a room at the back with no view but you can get one overlooking the square....but as i am a cheapskate I opted for the back. Thats it. Smallish nice room, clean, with a good shower. Not a bad choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrischardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked two double rooms at the top floor of this hotel with balconys for the views over the Placa and we were not disappointed. The rooms are small but in proportion to the overall size of the building. They are perfectly adequate with everything you could need. The breakfast downstairs in the cafe is nice and the service efficient and friendly.

Tarragona itself is a wonderful place to visit with plenty of historic sites and a good cafe/restarant scene. Perfect for a two centre break with Barcelona only an hour away by intercity train.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adihighpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Feb 2013. Had room 302 overlooking the Placa, which is pretty quiet at this time of the year, so I had no problems with noise at night. The room is quite small but has everything you need apart from tea/coffee making facilities which would have been the difference between 4 and 5 stars for me first thing ing the morning, although no problem to get a coffee from the cafe and take it up to your room. I found the bed to be extremely comfortable and as it was quite chilly the extra blankets available and radiator in the bathroom were much appreciated. In room 302 there is a bath with a shower, which was nice for a soak after a long day viewing the sites. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a great location for all the sights and after walking around other areas of the town this this is THE place to be. As a solo traveller there are plenty of restaurants and places to sit and have a drink in the Placa and still be within a stonesthrow of the hotel. Although there is a TV in the room, I could only find BBC news in English, but as you are not there to watch TV this is not really a problem.
Some of the restaurants and cafes were closed at this time of the year, but still plenty of choice.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Placa with a balcony is the inside choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev-Vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in this charming little hotel for three nights during my recent trip to Spain. As many of the other reviews have noted, the best feature of this hotel is its location right off the Placa de la Font in Tarragona's old city. Its a five minute walk to the Cathedral, Roman Walls and major sites, with perhaps a 15 minute walks to the Amphitheater and beach. The double room which I rented was nicely sized for a single traveler, well maintained, with proper bathroom and shower (something I have noted is not a given when staying in some of the older hotels in Europe). The Hotel offers a no frills complimentary breakfast in its tiny cafe on the Plaza level, although you'll likely want something more substantial in one the many charming restaurants in the Placa. All in all, I found the Hotel a good value, running $70 US a day for the the balcony double during the peak travel season.

Be aware that, like many hotels in smaller European towns, the hotel locks its lobby doors after midnight, so you will need to ring the doorbell to alert the staff member on duty to let you back in.

Room Tip: Spring for a room with balcony overlooking the square. They offer a nice view and more light through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzFest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This small hotel is in a great location for walking about the city. (The room had a walking guide, with different routes for the Roman, Gothic and Modernista sites.) Ask for a room overlooking the square, which is a lively place for restaurants and cafes. The rooms are small, but have a closet and bedside tables so we had enough room for our things. When someone closes a door to their room, it echoes up and down the stairwell. We were worried about this, but it didn't keep us awake. The underground garage is under the placa, so it is very convenient to park here--but it's expensive (26 euros a night), so factor that into your nightly cost if you have a car. The attached cafe is great for a quick breakfast (coffee, croissant, juice). We found several good restaurants just a few blocks from the hotel in the old part of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had been there with our 3 kids for Dia de los Reyes, 05/jan - 06/jan when happens the King Parade in Tarragona, and had really good time. It's in a great location, in a charming old Plaza with restaurants and coffees, close to the Roman Circus and Amphitheater, in front of a public parking. The hotel is well cleaned and recently renewed, not luxuous but really good and honest. Linens and mattress are good, the shower is also good. We had one triple and one double room, which were not enormous, but big enough to accommodate us comfortably. They can arrange the rooms side by side. The hotel has also a restaurant, that we didn't try because was closed for Reyes, but we tried breakfast which was good. Would stay there again without doubt. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: If you need two rooms you can ask for one with Plaza view and the other without Plaza view, so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneMMCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Aparthotel
Alexandra Aparthotel
#12 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Placa de la Font? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Placa de la Font

Property: Hotel Placa de la Font
Address: Placa de la Font, 26, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Placa de la Font 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Placa de la Font reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Placa De La Font Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing