We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalunya Express

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalunya Express
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location is very close to the train station which is perfect. The staff were very friendly and the hotel was very clean. It is very basic and the walls are very thin so I wouldn't recommend staying more than a few nights

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey84uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    54
    35
    14
    1
See reviews for
21
64
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Perfect place to stay for few nights to see Tarragona. Its next to railway station and everything is around- main street with shops and cafes, old town, port and many historical places of interest...Staff was very friendly and helpful, on arrival they give map and explain where is what...Room was very clean, beds comfortable, free wi fi in the rooms...Also i was surprised, that room was cleaned every day and every day all towels were changed...It was quiet at night and we had a very good sleep..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lleida, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is situated close to the train station and 5-10 minutes walk to the beach. We spent one night in this hotel in July, the room was very small and clean. The breakfast was very good. It was very noisy that night but this is absolutely normal for Spain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilicaDejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel is close to the train station. Be aware that there is no elevator, and all rooms are on the second level. So if you have mobility issues or may have trouble carrying heavy suitcases up the stairs, find a different hotel. The room I had was very basic. It has been reported that the hotel has been recently remodeled. It seems they focused more on showing things like the "wavy" mirrors you see in some pics than on fixing basic functional problems. The bathrooms are small, and awkwardly configured. As has been reported by another, the shower stall involves a very high step up from the floor level. In my shower, the bracket that holds the "handheld" shower nozzle was broken, so you really did have to keep the shower nozzle in your hand the whole time. The floor included a poorly placed door stop right in your way in front of the toilet. Another reviewer complained about a lack of heat in cold weather. Well it seems that there is no modern thermostat for the heating system. You must adjust a knob on the old-style radiator to turn on the heat (wish they had mentioned that to me at the front desk!) If your goal is to enjoy sights in Tarragona (which is a GREAT town!) I would not recommend this hotel at all, as it is very inconvenient with regard to attractions. If you are just passing through and need close access to the train... well... there are drawbacks to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Three nights at the Catalunya Express allowed us enough time to explore Tarragona and Salou. As others have said, the hotel is two blocks from the train station and a short walk to city centre, but people with mobility problems may have difficulty navigating to Las Ramblas due to the steady climb and narrow sidewalks. The hotel was undergoing a paint upgrade during our stay so the lobby and corridor walls were fresh and clean. Reception was expecting us, a good sign, and quickly checked us into a small room with an extremely tiny bathroom. A polite request for a larger room, one that better resembled those shown on the internet, was granted. The small television worked fine but there were no English channels - just a comment, not a complaint. Bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water. The shower stood off the floor about twelve inches and was completely enclosed by two narrow sliding doors - no problem for us but elderly or handicapped folks might have a hard time stepping up into and down from the shower because there was no handrail. We chose the Easy Breakfast plan and were glad we did. Plenty of fresh bread and buns, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee - a good start to the day and available until 11:30am. Internet in our room was down one day but they may have been working on the router; in any case internet was always available in the lounge. The first night we left our window open a couple of inches and admit that the street noise kept us awake. After that we slept with the window closed. Even though the hotel is so close to the station, we never heard any noise from trains. The Catalunya Express is a solid two star hotel in a beautiful city - Tarragona, with its Roman and medieval history, incredible sea views, great transportation links, delightful side streets, quaint outdoor cafes and dozens of restaurants - it's the destination dreams are made of!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room and maybe they will have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunnen, Switzerland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Reading the description one would expect a rather well placed, rather close both to the center and beach, reasonable hotel.
Reality is : in a poor, rather worn down area, to say it nicely, far from the center and far from the beach - there is a railway in between, and the center one has to climb stairs for 15 minutes.
"Garage" is public garage of the feria building, expensive and far, specially to go there by car from the hotel. The city Tarragona is a miracle, beautifull and full of history, just discover it from a different hotel for your own sake. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Take another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_Schwyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarragona hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you are on the road the location close to the train station is helpful. Basic, standard accommodation, clean, everything worked. Staff was competent. I thought it was priced too high for what you get but other than that I was satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pigal
Pigal
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Aparthotel
Alexandra Aparthotel
#12 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalunya Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalunya Express

Property: Catalunya Express
Address: General Contreras 16, 43004 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Catalunya Express 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Catalunya Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalunya Express Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing