We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AC Hotel Tarragona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Tarragona
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great location!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband stays often in this hotel when he is working in Tarragona and this time I joined him for a long weekend.
It is close to the main centre and the Rambla (shopping area, restaurants etc.)
The room is rather small but when you just use it to sleep in as we did, it is great. Bathroom ok but again, rather small but with bath and shower inside the bathtub.
Nice amenities and big fluffy towels!
There is a comfy chair with table and a desktop with chair, large suitcase table and a large cupboard and of course A/C (which can be turned off!!) :-))
The room was spotless and cleaned everyday but sheets were not change daily, which, to be honest, I don't mind! I don't don't change the sheets at home every day either!!
Make sure you ask for a room facing the park on the backside, it is nice and peaceful.
I did not use breakfast at the hotel but according to hubby it is nice but I found the 9,50 euro too expensive. There are plenty of nice cafes around the hotel or near the Rambla to have a sumptuous breakfast for next to nothing! F.e, we had 4 coffee, croissants, pastries and 2 large brown sandwiches for around 5 euro!
Beware that during the weekend, the bar at the hotel is closed and we were there, the dining room was also closed.
There is a Nespresso coffee machine with pastries available at this bar, this is nice when returning from town for a (free!) coffee.
The roof has a sun lounge deck with loungers but I guess this place will be boiling during Summer as it is situated in the sun the whole day :-))

My husband will return on Sunday for another business stay but this hotel is also recommend for short (or long) stays while sniffing up culture in Tarragona.

Also compliments to the always very friendly staff, nothing is too much!!

Room Tip: Rooms on back of hotel are more quiet and with a nice view at a Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    275
    104
    23
    13
See reviews for
70
266
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed in Tarragona for four nights. The hotel was very reasonably priced and was a good value, The room was comfortable, clean and a good size. The weather was very hot so the air conditioning was essential. Used the internet access in the lobby. Staff were helpful in offer advice about what to see. Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality. Enjoyed the walk into the old town and used the restaurants there. Hotel was convenient for the bus station. Had caught a coach from Barcelona city and was able to get a coach back directly to the airport at Barcelona. Would definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Room at the back overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OG
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Though it is close to a shopping center, it is quite some walking distance to the old town where most restaurants are located. During low seasons, the hotel restaurant is closed. There is perhaps only one sushi restaurant nearby. The hotel staff are polite but not too helpful. The hotel looks ok, but I am not sure it is in a four star standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were visiting Tarragona for a two day one night stay and chose this hotel for its price. It was great. The staff were excellent and the room very pleasant. The room was quite small however we had the window open the entire time with a view over the park and it was lovely. The breakfast was simple but fresh with a great ambience in the restaurant. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wgeine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were last week and the stay was just nice. Cleanliness is very good and meets expectations. No it was overpriced, and the staff was very attentive to us and the children. We really liked the design of the hotel, although it seems that needs some reform. In short, we found a very good option to visit this beautiful Mediterranean city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josanpapeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went on business for one night.
The room was a good size with a nice bathroom. My only gripe was that there were not enough electricity outlets in the room to charge all the gizmos at once.
Dinner was delicious, although a little slow: don't expect ANY more than is on the menu, so if you like vegetables, order those additionally. Also expensive: €95 for 2 (incl. wine).
If I was to go again, I would walk out and find a local restaurant.
Breakfast was very good though, simple breads, jamon Iberica, cheeses, cereals etc...all good.
Coffee and hot water for tea disappears quickly though....and that was when there were only 5 people for breakfast!
There is a lovely park round the corner, with an impressive modernist style house dominating one side.
Free Wifi in the lobby only. PAYG in the rooms.
Good service at the reception desk.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are a little quieter but they are all pretty much the same: good sound-proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for five nights over Christmas as part of our Christmas break in Tarragona. We'd chosen it partly because of the location (5 minutes walk from the bus station), partly because we'd stayed in the AC Marriot in Leon last year and lastly because of the free minibar.

Except, there's no free minibar anymore. That was the first of our disappointments.

The location is fine: five minutes round the corner from the bus station, ten minutes from a Mercadona supermarket and 15 minutes from an Eroski supermarket and a big shopping centre. It's on a main road, but reasonably quiet, especially if you have a room overlooking the park at the back.

The room is average, all the usual fixtures. Bathroom nice and big.

But that's about it. Discovering that the mini bar wasn't free was irritating, as it was still advertised on their promotional material and was still free in September. Now, it's the usual ridiculous prices and not worth even thinking about. The internet is free in the foyer, but they charge if you want to use it in your room. We knew this, so managed fine by sitting in the foyer, but it is a stupid thing in a modern hotel - most Spanish hotels we've been in don't charge, so it seems as if they're squeezing every penny out of us.

The restaurant was closed from 24th Dec to 6th Jan, so there was no chance of anything other than room service. We don't tend to eat in the hotel restaurant, but we arrived late on our first day and had thought about it. Also, the 'bar' was a tray full of bottles in a little sitting area a short distance from reception and asking staff to serve you. This is a 4 star hotel: I expect better.

There weren't that many people staying over Christmas, but there was no atmosphere. The staff were helpful enough, but nothing remarkable. I appreciate it must be miserable working over Christmas, but they seemed rather disinterested.

Overall, it wasn't bad, but neither was it worth a 4 star. The price was reasonable, but the quality was lacking. I suspect we'd go back, if only because the bad points are tolerable, but it's not a great place. The location is good and it's a nice area, an easy walk into the centre, but I don't think AC Marriot are living up to their own standards in this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the back of the hotel, overlooks the park. Pick a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#9 of 20 in Tarragona
490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Husa Imperial Tarraco
Husa Imperial Tarraco
#17 of 20 in Tarragona
603 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sant Jordi
Hotel Sant Jordi
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Tarragona

Property: AC Hotel Tarragona
Address: Avenida de Roma 8, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing