We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the other week. Very centrally located with English speaking staff to make up for my poor Spanish. The town itself isn't that spectacular. However, the family room was great value with good views of the square. Ate evening meal in restaurant which was great and buffet breakfast in the morning - excellent value. Also underground parking was cheap and convenient. A good place to stay especially if catching a plane from Reus airport the following morning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgr_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotels, Gerente at Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest :
Thank you very much in the time used in valuing to our hotel.
We hope to see you in a near occasion.
Attentivly

Sandra Salas (hotel manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    367
    172
    46
    31
See reviews for
178
328
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived to the hotel by bus transfer from the Airport and the hotel is on top of the bus station which was very convenient.
I found the staff to be welcoming and very helpful but we had to spend our first night in a twin room as there were no double rooms available at that time. I don't understand why the type of room can not be decided while you make your booking.

I found the hotel to be very nice and clean. The room was too but the marble floors and thin walls meant that noise was an issue. Especially when the guests next door have a dog barking throughout the morning. This was my first experience of a 'dog friendly' hotel and hopefully my last.

The location is very good and is close to all the main tourist spots and restaurants and shops.
Many people appear to have had issues with the pool facilities, but having seen the pictures on the website, I knew the size and quite enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi. I did not try to sauna.
The gym however, was completely lacking. The management need to either invest in some proper facilities or stop advertising that there is a gym in the hotel.

We did not eat in the restaurant but I found the breakfast to be excellent for the pre-booked rate of €8

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side will have the noise of all the traffic to and from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotels, Gerente at Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much in the time used in valuing to our hotel.
Sorry abou your "dog experience". Normally, dogs who travell with its owners use to be educated.
About your gym comment, we don't want to deceptive anyone, and we are going to change our web description about our "gym". Maybe explaing that it is a " little sport room" with 3 machines..
About breakfast rate, you got an speccial offer.

Thank you very much again for your comments.

Sandra Salas (hotel manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent three days here. Great hotel. Easy access to activities. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Our kids loved that there was pool and gym. Breakfast buffet in the am is 8 euros and big. Perfect for our 18 year old son who eats endlessly. Food was good and lots of selection.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia County, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights recently and found it comfortable, and well-located. The rooms are pertly functional but the wi-fi is spotty at best. The staff is friendly but do not count on any real concierge service. The breakfast is pretty good but unvarying. The roof has a pool and jacuzzi but no but no service and the jacuzzi does not heat up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnc-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotels, Gerente at Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest

Thank your very much for your comments about our hotel.

About wi-fi, we have changed:
*Caudal Internet extension of 4mb to 10mb
*Adjustments with the filter of contents
*and hanging measures shortly: new device hotspot to manage the connections wifi of the clients of form mas efficient
*New line ftth 100/10 of Internet exlusiva for clients.

best regards
Sandra Salas (hotel manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Nice hotel, stayed there for three nights on a recent trip. The only problem is the location, which is about a 20 minute walk away from any tourist site or reasonable restaurants. However, a work of warning, whilst in the hotel foyer a couple of pickpockets stole my wallet. The hotel was very helpful in ringing the credit card company and helping to fill in a police report, which can be done on line in English. As I later found out there is no need to take the report to the police station.

Nonetheless and event with the loss of my wallet and the useless CCTV, I still give it a good review.

Room Tip: Danger of pickpockets, but unfortunately that is a general problem in Spain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glengarriff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Short walk (20 mins) to town centre and to the restaurants in the port. Good buffet breakfast, though can get quite crowded when the tourist groups are in. Good choice if spending a few days in this pleasant city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaroonTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in Tarragona and has good parking facilities. It is a short, pleasant walk from the hotel to the major attractions in the main part of Tarragona. (Tarragona is very walkable and a large part of its main street is especially for the use of pedestrians.) The room was modern and spacious and had a lovely, well organized bathroom. The closet space was awesome! It was an excellent value for the money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisfan072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
551 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
520 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#9 of 20 in Tarragona
311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona

Property: Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Address: Plaza Imperial Tarraco 5, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
#4 Family Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat De Tarragona
Ciutat De Hotel Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing