We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Modern Hotel in the center of Tarragona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Tarragona
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice Modern Hotel in the center of Tarragona”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a bargain hotel right in the center of Tarragona. To the left lots of shopping. To the right the old city.

The old city in Tarragona is one of the most impressive in Spain.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Plaza are bigger and the double glazed windows cut out almost all sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    374
    175
    47
    33
See reviews for
185
333
26
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This hotel was a little short of what I would expect from a 4* hotel in terms of comfort. The wifi is very erratic, the rooms a little on the spartan side. there was mould on my shower screen. the movies on the payperview were all quite old.

On the plus side, the service was generally good and the price both for the accomodation and the food was very good. E8 for breakfast and E17 for a very nice three course dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msrbcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The land of The Sabbath and of The priest
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during an organised tour. Had a very comfortable stay; despite our room fronting the main traffic island in the city, the glazing was such that we did not have our sleep interrupted by traffic noise at all. Handy little supermarket over the other side of the island. Free internet in reception. Excellent bar and cafe with delicious pastries. Good and varied breakfast buffet. We dined in the hotel for one night; fixed-price three-course seasonal menu available at E13 including a bottle of wine and mineral water between two - need we say more?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_txic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Within walking distance of the main sites of Tarragona and next to the Bus Station allowing inexpensive exploration of the area. Nice cafe on ground floor with free internet access via wifi.

Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecrouch9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexHereza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear ecrouch9,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are glad you had a nice stay with us.Hope to see you again. Best Regards, Alex Hereza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Centrally located, quiet, excellent reception staff - son lost his ipod - but was found and kept for us by reception staff. Very clean - even the underground garage - two cleaners were busy moping and cleaning it when we drove in! There was no quadruple rooms so got upgrade to suite - lovely - though sofabeds were not great. Breakfast - good.. Yes the pool on the roof is small, but sofas provided and a lovely atmosphere after a hard days holiday. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexHereza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear holidaygal44,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are glad you had a nice stay with us.Hope to see you again. Best Regards, Alex Hereza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and rated it highly.

Of particular note was the exceptional help given by two of the front desk staff Rafa and Elizabet, who nothing was too much trouble for throughout our stay and who were a credit to the hotel.

We stayed in one the suites (room 505) and found the room to be spacious and of high quality.

On the top floor there is a nice sundeck, a jacuzzi, a pool and a gym (the pool and gym being extremely small but nevertheless this is a town centre and not a resort hotel and given that we visited PortAventura on three days, this wasn't an issue for us)

We enjoyed Tarragona and if you're visiting Portaventura but not staying in Hotel Portaventura (which we have done previously and really enjoyed but it was fully booked for the dates we wanted), we found it to be a much nicer place to stay than neighobouring towns such as Salou and this hotel worked for us, with us visiting the theme park via the Renfe train line.

We didn't eat at the hotel but ate breakfast at a Fleka restaurant only 200 metres from the hotel, which was fine. We had found some with some lovely tapas bars and restaurants and a nice ramblas to stroll along. We loved having tapas at Txantxangorri in the Placa de la Font square, which really is a beautiful place to spend an evening and also La Cuineta.

The hotel is also only 15 minutes away from Reus airport in a taxi (20-25 euros) or a 3 euro bus journey, which drops off literally 20 metres from the hotel.

Regarding PortAventura, it is still one of the best theme parks in Europe although if you don't purchase an express pass to avoid the queues, make sure you go early (be one of the first to be admitted at 10am) or alternatively be there 7-30 until midnight, to make sure you miss the worst of the queues, which are horrendous for the all the big rides for most of the day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Although the hotel overlooked a roundabout that was constantly busy, it was very quiet inside. The roundabout was like a little park with a children's play area. The roof terrace with the little pool had comfortable seats and was a popular place to relax and sunbathe.
The cafe on the ground floor served reasonably priced tea and coffee with a free pastry and was open until 11pm.
Our bedroom had good quality modern furniture with a television and a fridge, although the bed was very firm. The bathroom was well appointed.
Breakfast was self service with a good choice of food.
All staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 19 in Tarragona
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 19 in Tarragona
561 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#5 of 19 in Tarragona
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 19 in Tarragona
530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#10 of 19 in Tarragona
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Urbis Centre
Hotel Urbis Centre
#16 of 19 in Tarragona
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona

Property: Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Address: Plaza Imperial Tarraco 5, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
#4 Family Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat De Tarragona
Ciutat De Hotel Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing