We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Great Location in Tarragona Spain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lauria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lauria
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Great Location in Tarragona Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

We found Hotel Lauria to be a delight and wish we could have stayed longer. In winter, it is primarily a business hotel. We had wisely opted on the hotel website for the renovated room and were extremely pleased. The room was spacious and had a wonderful view of the harbor area. The sunset was fantastic. The bathroom was upgraded also with a very nice shower. The "included in the rate" breakfast was very nice with excellent muselich cereal and other typical, plentiful European fare served in a large room. One should not travel and expect to eat as one does at home. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located on the Rambla near the ocean overlook. The old town is just up the hill, while many restaurants are located in the new town area nearby. We opted to take a taxi (under E10) to/from the train station, as it is uphill to the hotel from the train station. Younger people could easily walk from the station. Be sure to see the Cathedral and archaelogical areas of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    194
    120
    41
    27
See reviews for
99
217
34
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at the hotel Lauria for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed for longer. Tarragona was a great find for us and the hotel Lauria was clean and comfortable. We stayed the 1st night in the regular rooms. Don't do that. Upgrade to the renovated rooms for 15 Euro more a night. Well worth it.
I booked through Venere as I couldn't find the hotels website but it was up and running since I booked. We were not able to choose a double room until we checked in. Our 1st room was on the 2nd floor (3rd in US) and overlooked the pool. It had one double bed and one single bed. It really needed to be renovated. Bed was comfortable enough but the bathroom was horrible. The shower was tiny and one had to step over the bidet to get into it. The A/C worked well and we had wifi. No fridge. Room safe, 5 Euro deposit.
We asked if we could look at one of the renovated rooms to see if it was worth the extra money. As soon as we walked in, it was as if we had gone to a different hotel.
Same size room but the single bed was gone. We could open the closet door! Nice bed linen etc but the bathroom was the clincher. The bidet was gone and the shower had glass doors. We went straight down to reception to exchange keys. So, now we were on the top floor with a view of the sea from our balcony. Still no fridge and our wifi was gone but it was worth it.
The hotel is very well located. We were able to walk everywhere. Lots of restaurants right outside the door. It is a 5 min walk from the train station but it involves steps.
Tarragona was beautiful. Great beach( a 10 min walk from hotel) lots of Roman ruins and lots of bars and restaurants. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ell8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

I am glad that I didn't read the recent reviews, before visiting Tarragona. This hotel is much better than the opinion posted on 6 September. We were offered the choice of either a refurbished room or one that hadn't yet been updated. After viewing both we decided to spend the extra on the refurbished room, but there was nothing much wrong with the cheaper room. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The only drawback was that the breakfast, as in most Spanish hotels, was pretty average.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianCorlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

I walked in and asked if they had any rooms available. The guy quickly responds "no". So. I went next door and booked a room online.
It was more like an abandonded one bedroom apartment. The set up was so weird. The phone didn't work, the toilet broke, and there was no air circulation in the bedroom (the window opened to the hallway).
After moving the mattresses to the living room and opening the glass doors (awesome view of the sea!), it was suddenly a great little room!
This can be a really great stay with an open mind and a little work! I would actually stay here again, but I may check out other options first...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

I found the hotel easily from the bus station in Tarragona it is about a 15min walk. It is on the main Rambla street so the location is superb. It is about 15min walk to the train station also. The beach is about 20min walk away as you need to go under the train tracks so a very longwinded way of getting there. The hotel room was very unsafe the door to the balcony was easily opened and the balcony was at a tilt with railings up to high so any child would definitely go under them. The curtains did not pull over so it was bright very early. The bathroom smell was pungent and there was mould and damp all over the shower. The main room was dark mahogony furniture which is all torn and in old. The paintwork had scuffmarks in the bathroom and hotel room. There was one socket which was used for the tv, and was far away from bed so if you needed to use straighteners or laptop you had to sit at the desk. The wifi was no treliable and sometimes connections would not last longer than 20mins. NO tv/coffee making facilities, no fridge. The hairdryer in the bathroom would take a bob hairdo about 2hrs to dry. The walls are paper thin so you hear everything next door. The breakfast was average, the chocolate croissants were lovely. The pool is tiny and very enclosed. The two female receptionists were helpful and pleasant. I tried complaining to the agents I booked through H..elopia but they just blamed me for not saying something in the hotel and fully backed the hotel. I would never recommend this hotel. My last night I stayed in Catalunya Express this was on the beach, the staff were lovely, the rooms were nice and you even got Sky News.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shezsharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarragona hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Hotel Lauria is perfectly located at the coastal end of the Rambla Nova (which is basically the heart of Tarragona). It is only about 10 minutes from the train station too. A short walk up to the Old Town, or a stroll down the Rambla Nova to the new town - the Hotel Lauria is extremely convenient.

The rooms are very old fashioned - dark wood and old fashioned bed spreads etc - however they are comfortable and very large. We had a TV and air con in our room as standard. The showers were not great - hardly any water pressure - but hot. The bathrooms were large and clean...however we did notice that the water coming out of the taps was an odd colour - perhaps they have rust problems.
The swimming pool looked very nice - not that we went in it! (It was February!)

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and it felt very safe. We only paid about €40 per night for the room so we thought it was very good value. Would recommend for anyone on a budget who just wants a convenient and clean place to lay their head.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey_holloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

The hotel is in a lovely, quiet location just a few streets away from the old town but very close to the train station. The rooms are large and comfortable if a little dark and old fashioned. The highlight for me was the balcony looking out over the hotel's courtyard and swimming pool, a real haven of tranquility.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.5 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
1.2 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#1 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Husa Imperial Tarraco
Husa Imperial Tarraco
#17 of 20 in Tarragona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Aparthotel
Alexandra Aparthotel
#12 of 20 in Tarragona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauria

Property: Hotel Lauria
Address: Rambla Nova 20, 43004 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lauria 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100 metres from the "Balcón del Mediterráneo" Viewpoint, Hotel Lauria is located on Tarragona’s main street, Rambla Nova. It offers an outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with a balcony.The rooms at the Lauria feature parquet floors and dark wood furniture. Each one comes with flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.The hotel serves a daily breakfast in the modern dining room, and there is also a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Lauria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauria Hotel Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing