We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hotel Lauria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lauria
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is absolutely what you are looking for in this marvelous town.Near the sea shore, in the Rambla Nova. Very friendly and efficient staff. I liked all about it. The only recommendation - a bit of renovation and new towels)))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RMargo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear RMargo50,

Thank you very much for your comment and the time spent on writing.
These comments help to know a little more about our facility and the satisfaction of our customers.

Best regards,



ELOY CAPDEVILA
MANAGER.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    210
    132
    47
    33
See reviews for
110
240
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good hotel. Basic comfort but has a great location on main boulevard . Hotel is very clean and staff helpful. 5 min walk uphill from train station or taxi €30 from Reus Airport for 3 people. Swimming pool area is small but nice. bar in at reception but never seemed to have staff. had breakfast once €8.70 but not much choice. Rooms are basic but you can upgrade at extra cost. Beds uncomfortable . Great ice cream shop out front and to the left. beach was 15 min walk downhill from hotel. good beach even though a bit scruffy area but always felt safe. Old square across the road is nice and seems evening life is there . Plenty restaurants and all okay. Nothing great. Tarragona is lovely town. Lots of lovely shops next to hotel. Tarragona has a city feel and pretty grubby but has a great feel and plenty of sight seeing. MacDonald is filthy inside and out and risk of food poison like my son. Sick for days. Now Dunkin Doughnuts is awesome ! Known there as Dunkin Coffee. Very clean and good food. Went to Porta Aventura . Train was €5 return and one stop. Excellent day and train service. One stop ans approx 15 mins. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Do t pick rooms 109/110 up to 117 and below or above floors as in a lane and very dull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raines45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Raines45,


Thank you very much for your comment and the time to spent on writing.

In regards to the beds unconfortable, I will try to figure out which room they stayed so we can check the status of the beds and renew if possible.

Remind that we have executive rooms cost 15€ more per night than the standard room and these rooms have new beds since they are renewed.


Best regards.



ELOY CAPDEVILA
MANAGER.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

So disappointed, paid a large sum of money after being told 3 different prices online, and got short changed at the hotel, no fridge, no hot water for tea/ coffee, horrible room, two single beds for a double bed after paying the price for a double bed. Staff not welcoming, would never go here again, so disappointing! money wasted

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairy2993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mr/Ms Fairy 2993,

Thanks a lot for your time and your comments. I'm sad because me and my staff didn't get to be as your expects about our hotel.

In your comments you detail us that you received 3 different prices online. Of course it's possible and I'm sure that all these rates had different conditions. It's usual in our hotel, is the guest who decide which option is the best for you. If you visit our official website and you search any booking you'll see that we've more than 3 different prices because you can find the regular rate, non refundable rate, summer offers, packs with Thematic Park Resort tickets or with guided visits in Tarragona. About the money that you paid I can't say you so much, I'm sure that our hotel has very competitive rates, also if you compare with the rest of the 3 and 4 stars hotels from Tarragona, Salou or another destinations from Daurada Coast.

About the fridge, I just would like to tell you that you're right, we don't have fridges in the rooms. In Spain just in the 4 and 5 stars hotels is compulsory to have fridges. Our hotel don't have fridge but in reception (It's open 24h) we've a big bridge where we can keep your products and, of course, without charge.

About the tea/coffee facilities I'd like to explain you that it isn't usual in Spain, you just can find these facilities in the most luxuries hotels, you don't find it in a standard 3 stars hotel as Hotel Lauria.

Just to finish, I'd like to inform you that we've the standard rooms and executive rooms. In all the websites where we're published we inform about the both rooms and you can see pictures from all the kind of rooms. The executive rooms are new rooms with a modern style. In all the websites we offer rooms for two people with a double bed or twin beds. If you ask for a double bed we take it just a request and we always do the best to satisfy to all our guests but it isn't always possible. As I said you at the beginning, I'm sad because you didn't get to be as your expectation about our hotel.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL LAURIA*** MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarragona hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Tarragona and it most certainly will not be our last! An absolute gem of a city and Hotel Lauria was just perfect! Ideal central location for all what Tarragona has to offer. We arrived at Reus airport 8.50pm on a Tuesday evening and were lucky enough to catch a bus to Tarragonna via La Pineda! 20 min walk from the bus station to the Hotel, along the very attractive Rambla Nova, very easy to find! Nice frontage and entrance to the Hotel. We were greeted by a very efficient young lady who checked us in promptly and with a smile! Our room was located at the rear of the building on the second floor, our room was very clean and spacious with on suite. Super walk in shower! Double bed really comfortable, air conditioning and balcony! Perfect. Breakfast served till 11am continental style and adequate! Free Wifi and safety box. Very nice swimming pool and well kept area with sun beds. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, maid service was excellent with towels changed daily. Problem with the air conditioning was sorted immediately. We cannot fault Hotel Lauria. A brilliant holiday, a brilliant city and a brilliant Hotel! The package was perfect! Look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Room at the rear was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Robert,

First of all thank you for the time spent on your comments, for the rest of sailors know a little more about our hotel and the satisfaction of our customers.

We are pleased that your stay has been to your liking and that will want to come back to stay at our hotel.


Best regards.



ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked this hotel directly through their website and the process was great. Paid a deposit and paid the balance on departure for a group of 19 guys on a cricket trip. Check in was quick and easy and the reception and other staff were all very helpful. The rooms were large and fully air conditioned, though no tea/coffee facilities. Power shower was excellent in the sapcious bathroom. The bar ran out of beer so we ventured into the town - the hotel is a couple of hundred yards from a spectacular view over the bay and there are restaurants literally next door.Breakfast the next morning was a self service cold buffet, and it was plentiful with lots of choice. It is also available until 11am which is a real bonus for those who like to sleep in. The pool area was fairly small but big enough to swim a few lengths, and it gets the sun until late in the day despite being enclosed by other adjacent buildings. Check out was quick and easy - and I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who takes on the task of booking a group holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mr Mike0210,

Thanks a lot for all the time used to write your review, all your comments are so interesting for us because we're working daily to improve our job. You've detailed perfectly the almost points about our hotel then I just would like to do mention about your request about tea/coffee facilities.

In Spain it isn't usual to take tea or coffee in the room hotels, just the English people request this kind facilities. We've thought about this question but definitely just by security (the electric kettles can be dangerous if you forget to switch off it) then we decided not offer these facilities. Just in case, in reception we always can offer you coffee/tea facilities and you can bring it with you to your room and or reception is open the 24 hours.

Just to finish, say you thanks again for your comments. If you decide to visit us again we'll be very happy to receive you again.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a 2 day stop over in Spain. We had wanted to stay in Salou but as we were booking last minute it was way cheaper to stay somewhere outside and so we ended up here and were very happy. The hotel wasn't too difficult to find with the sat nav and even though we were early we could check into our room - I had emailed ahead and requested a new refurbished room somewhere quiet and got no response but they obviously listened as this is what we received on arrival, not much of a view really but as it was only a place to sleep we didn't mind because the room had been done up to a high standard with lovely décor, large flat screen TV including a couple of English channels! and a lovely bathroom with shower, though it was a compact bathroom so you wouldn't want to be a huge person trying to move around in it but for us it was fine :) When we checked in we were provided with a map and also help on parking (which got us half price parking in a near by underground secure parking facility).

The hotel has a small pool which we didn't use but there always seemed to be people in it so I assume it was very nice, there was also a bar again we didn't use this but it looked nice, it was small but perfect for the size of the hotel, although if im not mistaken it closed quite early around 11pm? The hotel served breakfast but we did not avail of this, although from having a wee look it seems to be cold foods and cereals etc but it all looked fresh and everyone seemed to be enjoying it!

The hotel is in a great area full of bars and restaurants and is a 5 minute walk in either direction to either the train station or the bus stop which is perfect. We used the bus to salou a lot and it was only 3 euro one way (we never thought to get a return duh!).

The only problem I had with this hotel was that it could be noisy at night, not from outside but from the rooms above us and beside us so we were woken a lot through the night and in the morning but as it was only 2 nights we decided not to complain, if we had of been staying for a week we would of asked to be moved then.

The maids did an excellent job of cleaning, they never bothered you in the morning by knocking even when we forgot to put our do not disturb on which was great and when we came back each day after being out the room had been cleaned top to bottom with fresh bedding and towels. They also supply hand wash, shower gel, hair comb, etc which is nice.

The hotel has some vending machines located in the building so if you get peckish late into the night you know you can always get something to eat or drink. There is also room service which is either pizza or pasta, we didn't try this but it all sounded lovely....though there was no indication of what time they stopped serving at.

All in all this is a great wee find of a hotel in a great location, good price as well and friendly staff, what more could you want for a few days stop over? Would go back in needed to stay in the area again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurished room as they are not all completed yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Purplified,

It's great to know that you've enjoyed our hotel and our city. I'm happy that you choose Tarragona and not Salou, I'm sure that Tarragona can offer you more option than Salou and as you say Tarragona is cheaper and Salou is near then... always better Tarragona.

About your comments just an advice for any stay in any hotel: If during the night you detect noise from other rooms and you can sleep, please, contact with reception. We're working for you 24h to solve problems like this one. If one of your neighbors is noisy people, the TV is so laugh... contact us and we'll contact with the neighbor. If you don't contact us we can't know this problem and we can't solve it.

As I said you before, I'm so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and also happy that you have written your opinions.


Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Location is excellent. After initial mix up with rooms, Jose sorted it out. Room 211 is great.
Excellent value for money, breakfast is more than adequate. Very clean hotel.
Highly recommend getting train to Altafulla beach. Train station is only 5 mins walk away, €5 return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torkieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mr Torkieb,

Thanks a lot for your comments and the time used, it's wonderful to know that our guests have enjoyed our hotel.
About the room, as you know, it one of rooms refurnished during the last June. We're working hard everything to get an actual hotel without increase the rates. We always are looking for to be an economic hotel in the best zone from Tarragona.
In your comments you recommend the Altafulla Beach, it's true that it's a wonderful beach and it's another great point of Tarragona. We're situated in a zone where you have a lot of options to enjoy 100% your time and from our city you can access to beaches as Altafulla, Salou, Cambrils, the south of Catalonia, Sitges... you also can access to the interior of Tarragona where you can find a very important wine caves, you can visit Reus with a important Modernist Route...
Just to finish, I'd like to say you again thanks for the comments. We hope to see you again in Tarragona and, of course, in Hotel Lauria.


Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.6 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
1.2 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#2 of 20 in Tarragona
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nuria
Nuria
#7 of 20 in Tarragona
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pigal
Pigal
#9 of 20 in Tarragona
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauria

Property: Hotel Lauria
Address: Rambla Nova 20, 43004 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lauria 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100 metres from the "Balcón del Mediterráneo" Viewpoint, Hotel Lauria is located on Tarragona’s main street, Rambla Nova. It offers an outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with a balcony.The rooms at the Lauria feature parquet floors and dark wood furniture. Each one comes with flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.The hotel serves a daily breakfast in the modern dining room, and there is also a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lauria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauria Hotel Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing