We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Lauria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lauria
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked this hotel directly through their website and the process was great. Paid a deposit and paid the balance on departure for a group of 19 guys on a cricket trip. Check in was quick and easy and the reception and other staff were all very helpful. The rooms were large and fully air conditioned, though no tea/coffee facilities. Power shower was excellent in the sapcious bathroom. The bar ran out of beer so we ventured into the town - the hotel is a couple of hundred yards from a spectacular view over the bay and there are restaurants literally next door.Breakfast the next morning was a self service cold buffet, and it was plentiful with lots of choice. It is also available until 11am which is a real bonus for those who like to sleep in. The pool area was fairly small but big enough to swim a few lengths, and it gets the sun until late in the day despite being enclosed by other adjacent buildings. Check out was quick and easy - and I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who takes on the task of booking a group holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Mr Mike0210,

Thanks a lot for all the time used to write your review, all your comments are so interesting for us because we're working daily to improve our job. You've detailed perfectly the almost points about our hotel then I just would like to do mention about your request about tea/coffee facilities.

In Spain it isn't usual to take tea or coffee in the room hotels, just the English people request this kind facilities. We've thought about this question but definitely just by security (the electric kettles can be dangerous if you forget to switch off it) then we decided not offer these facilities. Just in case, in reception we always can offer you coffee/tea facilities and you can bring it with you to your room and or reception is open the 24 hours.

Just to finish, say you thanks again for your comments. If you decide to visit us again we'll be very happy to receive you again.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 542 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a 2 day stop over in Spain. We had wanted to stay in Salou but as we were booking last minute it was way cheaper to stay somewhere outside and so we ended up here and were very happy. The hotel wasn't too difficult to find with the sat nav and even though we were early we could check into our room - I had emailed ahead and requested a new refurbished room somewhere quiet and got no response but they obviously listened as this is what we received on arrival, not much of a view really but as it was only a place to sleep we didn't mind because the room had been done up to a high standard with lovely décor, large flat screen TV including a couple of English channels! and a lovely bathroom with shower, though it was a compact bathroom so you wouldn't want to be a huge person trying to move around in it but for us it was fine :) When we checked in we were provided with a map and also help on parking (which got us half price parking in a near by underground secure parking facility).

The hotel has a small pool which we didn't use but there always seemed to be people in it so I assume it was very nice, there was also a bar again we didn't use this but it looked nice, it was small but perfect for the size of the hotel, although if im not mistaken it closed quite early around 11pm? The hotel served breakfast but we did not avail of this, although from having a wee look it seems to be cold foods and cereals etc but it all looked fresh and everyone seemed to be enjoying it!

The hotel is in a great area full of bars and restaurants and is a 5 minute walk in either direction to either the train station or the bus stop which is perfect. We used the bus to salou a lot and it was only 3 euro one way (we never thought to get a return duh!).

The only problem I had with this hotel was that it could be noisy at night, not from outside but from the rooms above us and beside us so we were woken a lot through the night and in the morning but as it was only 2 nights we decided not to complain, if we had of been staying for a week we would of asked to be moved then.

The maids did an excellent job of cleaning, they never bothered you in the morning by knocking even when we forgot to put our do not disturb on which was great and when we came back each day after being out the room had been cleaned top to bottom with fresh bedding and towels. They also supply hand wash, shower gel, hair comb, etc which is nice.

The hotel has some vending machines located in the building so if you get peckish late into the night you know you can always get something to eat or drink. There is also room service which is either pizza or pasta, we didn't try this but it all sounded lovely....though there was no indication of what time they stopped serving at.

All in all this is a great wee find of a hotel in a great location, good price as well and friendly staff, what more could you want for a few days stop over? Would go back in needed to stay in the area again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurished room as they are not all completed yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Purplified,

It's great to know that you've enjoyed our hotel and our city. I'm happy that you choose Tarragona and not Salou, I'm sure that Tarragona can offer you more option than Salou and as you say Tarragona is cheaper and Salou is near then... always better Tarragona.

About your comments just an advice for any stay in any hotel: If during the night you detect noise from other rooms and you can sleep, please, contact with reception. We're working for you 24h to solve problems like this one. If one of your neighbors is noisy people, the TV is so laugh... contact us and we'll contact with the neighbor. If you don't contact us we can't know this problem and we can't solve it.

As I said you before, I'm so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and also happy that you have written your opinions.


Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Location is excellent. After initial mix up with rooms, Jose sorted it out. Room 211 is great.
Excellent value for money, breakfast is more than adequate. Very clean hotel.
Highly recommend getting train to Altafulla beach. Train station is only 5 mins walk away, €5 return

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torkieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Mr Torkieb,

Thanks a lot for your comments and the time used, it's wonderful to know that our guests have enjoyed our hotel.
About the room, as you know, it one of rooms refurnished during the last June. We're working hard everything to get an actual hotel without increase the rates. We always are looking for to be an economic hotel in the best zone from Tarragona.
In your comments you recommend the Altafulla Beach, it's true that it's a wonderful beach and it's another great point of Tarragona. We're situated in a zone where you have a lot of options to enjoy 100% your time and from our city you can access to beaches as Altafulla, Salou, Cambrils, the south of Catalonia, Sitges... you also can access to the interior of Tarragona where you can find a very important wine caves, you can visit Reus with a important Modernist Route...
Just to finish, I'd like to say you again thanks for the comments. We hope to see you again in Tarragona and, of course, in Hotel Lauria.


Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in two adjacent rooms with a ten month baby in a cot they provided for 5 nights.

Excellent central location. Reasonably priced. Currently updating their rooms to a modern, beautiful standard but to be honest the unrenovated rooms in which we stayed were spacious and pleasant to begin with, traditional wood interior and shutters, but with aircon and fans, and a nice balcony.

But the biggest draw must be the helpful and friendly staff. They were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. Moreover when we left items in our room when packing they sent them special delivery to our home in Amsterdam. Many thanks Hotel Lauria!

Room Tip: If you prefer an updated room check with them. We stayed with balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear F e P,

Thanks a lot for your comments. One of the main objectives in our job is get that our guests leave the hotel with the sensation that they're at home and we're very happy when we get it and we receive comments from people like you.

If I'm not wrong you slept in a not updated room, I hope that you decide to visit us again in the future to enjoy one of the update rooms because I'm sure that you'll enjoy again your stay with us.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel Lauria is perfectly located at Rambla Nova. Although located in the midst of the city the room/the hotel was quiet. Large rooms beautifully furnished. Very nice swimming pool on the backside. A nice breakfast buffet. Helpful English speaking staff. I can really recommend hotel Lauria!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricast10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Mr Ricast10,

What can I write about your comments? Not so much, just say you THANKS A LOT. I hope that your comments will be helpful for more travellers who are deciding which hotel or which destination choose.
I also hope that you can visit again in the future and visit us again.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We have been to worse 5 star hotels than this the hotel is nicely placed with very nice renovated rooms the staff are excellent especially Raymond who could not do enough to help! I can highly recommend hotel lauria and im sure when we next visit that their star rating will improve to **** the only criticism I have is that on more than one occasion the bar run out of lager but there was plenty more options to choose from and countless bars and restaurants right outside the front door.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Wayne d,

Thanks a lot for your comment and the time used to write it. When we receive this kind of comments we're very happy, we feel that our hard work get wonderful results. I'm going to feedback Raymond about your comments, I'm sure that he'll be grateful.

If in the future you decide to visit Tarragona again remember that you've your home at Hotel Lauria.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at Hotel Lauria as our first holiday abroad together and loved every minute! The hotel is fantastic and this establishment definitely deserves more than 3 stars to its name. The staff members are so helpful and friendly and provided us with maps, information and directions that we needed during our stay. We were also able to buy tickets for theme parks such as Portaventura via the hotel which saved us the trouble of pre booking online before our stay and on money! The rooms are cleaned throughly everyday and are furnished lovely. The outdoor pool is available till 10pm which was great to end a long day walking around in the heat! I would highly recommend Hotel Lauria for any others planning to visit Tarragona and will be re-visiting there when next in spain :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbbbbbbbianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear bbbbbbbbianca,

Thanks a lot for your time and your comments. It's great to know that all guests are interested to share his great moments in Tarragona and, of course, in Hotel Lauria.
We hope to see you again when you visit again Tarragona.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.6 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#5 of 20 in Tarragona
579 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
579 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#10 of 20 in Tarragona
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Urbis Centre
Hotel Urbis Centre
#17 of 20 in Tarragona
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauria

Address: Rambla Nova 20, 43004 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range: $60 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lauria 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100 metres from the "Balcón del Mediterráneo" Viewpoint, Hotel Lauria is located on Tarragona’s main street, Rambla Nova. It offers an outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with a balcony.The rooms at the Lauria feature parquet floors and dark wood furniture. Each one comes with flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.The hotel serves a daily breakfast in the modern dining room, and there is also a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lauria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauria Hotel Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing