We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”
Review of Hotel Lauria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lauria
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A good base for exploring the beautiful old city of Tarragona. The hotel is well situated within walking distance of the major sights, ruins, museums and cathedral. The rooms were clean and comfortable and represent good value for money. The reception staff were helpful and polite.
We stayed for a week and would have liked a little more variety in the buffet breakfast towards the end but that is a minor point. I would recommend it and stay there again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor probably q
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Mr David T,

Thanks a lot for the time used to write these comments, I'm so happy than our guest leave the hotel with these feelings, if you decide to visit our city we'll be happy to receive you again.

About the variety of Breakfast buffet just inform you that we don't have hot kitchen and for architectural conditions is very difficult to build one then, it's a little bit difficult for us offer you more variety. In these moment we offer you hot drinks (all variety of coffee, milk, chocolate, teas and infusions), cold drinks (water, milk and juice), two kind of breads, pastries (croissant milk bread, muffins...), different kind of cold meats typical from our zone, pieces of fruits (kiwis, apples, pears...) and cut fruits (melon, water-melon, pineapple...). You also can find 3 kinds of cereals, 3 kinds of marmalade, 4 kinds of dry fruits, honey, butter, yogurts... I think that we've a very good cold variety for a three stars hotel.

As I said you at the beginning, thanks a lot for your comments and I hope to see you again in our establishment.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 548 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was happy that I chose to stay at this hotel. The room was of a good size with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Standard of cleanliness was excellent. Downstairs, I found the staff both at reception and in the bar very helpful and friendly. It is not possible to get wifi in your room but I was pleased with the wifi signal at reception. A nice friendly family orientated hotel that is good value for money and is located in Tarragona centre and near both the train station and the beach. I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUCKERIrvinestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Mr RUCKERIrvinestown,

Thanks a lot for you comments. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our daily job is get that you and the rest of the guests feel that all you are at home. Thanks a lot.

About the wifi signal, I've the pleasure to confirm you that we've finished to install a new system with the newest technologies and now the wifi signal arrive to all room from the hotel. If you come to visit us again you will test it and I'm sure that you'll be happy.

to finish, just tell you again thanks for your comments.

Regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel is located in the heart of the Tarragona, few steps from the sea front and the old town.
Rooms are comfortable, clean and quite big. We had a balcony with the view on the port and the sea. Basic, nothing special, but everything is on its place.
The rooms didn't have fridge and wi-fi was working very slowly in the rooms.
The bathroom was very basic.
The service was nice.
A perfect place for it's location.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony to the sea are very sunny and due to that hot. Will not recommend for the Sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blinasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Blinasik,

Thanks a lot for your comments. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay in Tarragona and, of course, in our hotel.
In relation with your comments just tell you that you're right, we don't have fridges in the rooms but today, after read your comment, we've contact with a company from the zone and now, for all the guests interested we've a new service, if you prefer to have fridge in your room you can rent it. About the Wi-Fi just inform you that the last Friday was finished the installation of a new Wi-Fi net in our hotel, now the service is faster and more stable, in conclusion, now we have a better Wi-Fi system.
I hope that in the future, you decide to come back again to Tarragona to enjoy our Hotel with the news facilities again.
Kind regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel is within strolling distance of the Old Town, and is located on the "Ramblas" where there are regular markets.
The hotel has secure parking, but it is a bit tight for a family saloon car. There is public underground parking about 200m from the hotel.
The room that we had on the second floor was spacious with an excellent bathroom which had an excellent walk-in shower and ventilation, but a fairly useless, but fashionable, wash-hand-basin.
Reception was friendly and helpful.
Buffet breakfast was adequate, but choice limited compared to some other hotels.

Room Tip: Even number rooms on the second floor (e.g. 220/230) overlook the harbour and have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Mr Keith25,

Thanks a lot for your time and your comments, all your opinions are very important for us. We work daily to get the best for our guests.

About the parking is true that it's small but it's enough to park around 7 medium cars. In case that somebody has a very big car or in the case that our parking will be full is true that we have an agreement with a public underground parking next to the hotel. This parking is a little bit more expensive than our parking but it's also an option.

Mr Keith, just one question about your recommendation to choose the rooms. You recommend the room 220 or 230 but the room 230 doesn't exist. I suppose that you're speaking about the rooms 202 or 203. The both ones have swimming pool view and at the end you can see a little bit of the sea view.

Just to finish, say you again thanks for your comments.

Kind regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Adequate hotel in excellent location on the main Rambla 20 avenue - close to sea front and lots of bars and restaurants.

Rooms comfortable but clean and basic. Breakfast was simple but plentiful. Decent wifi access.

Hotel front door is locked late at night - so you have to use the side door - which was also locked. Spent some 10 minutes ringing the bell before we got any response.

Staff extremely friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear David B,

Thanks a lot for your comments and your time dedicated. I'm so happy when I read comments as yours, its means that we're working right.

It's true that we don't have a Four-Five Star Hotel Breakfast but, as you said we offer a correct and plentiful Free Breakfast Buffet, just remain you that in our Breakfast Saloon you can find coffee with all the varieties (espresso, American, with milk...), teas, orange juice, mineral water, cold and hot milk... and also some bakery as traditional catalan bread, sandwich bread, milk bread croissants or fairy cakes. You also have jam, cheese, mortadella or typical spanish cold meats as "Chorizo", "salchichón" white sausages or black sausages. For the people who are looking for something healthier you can find different kind of fruits, dried fruits or cereals and, of course, marmalades, honey or butter. From all these products you can take all that you desire.

Just to finish I'd like to inform you that the problem with the door during the night has been solved. In reception we have a portable bell that receptionist use when he/she has to move from reception. This portable bell was broken but now it's been fixed and now works right.

As I said at beginning, thanks a lot for your comments and we'll be ready to receive you again always that you decide to visit Tarragona.

Kind regards,


ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel was ideally located on the main street of Tarragona. Every interesting place you need to see is within walking distance. The room was clean and noisy and the quality of the bed was poor. The bathroom was very basic and needs to be refurbished. The view from the balcony was not very special as we were looking on other apartments. Breakfast was ok. Short, a good hotel for a short city trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Walter B,

It's so nice to receive the opinion of our guests, for us is very important to know your comments, thanks a lot for your time and your opinion.
We know that our hotel is ideally located, maybe our hotel has the best location to visit Tarragona but it isn't enough for us, we need that our guests leave our hotel with the best feelings about us, your bedroom has to be your home during your stay in Hotel Lauria. Just for this question we're working daily to get the best for you. Since the 1st Setember 2009, when Dormicum Hotels started to control the Hotel Lauria, we're working hard to refurbish all the hotel and, for the moment, we've refurbished all the 3rd floor, the Breakfast Saloon and some meeting rooms. In these moments we're preparing the project to refursbish the 2nd floor and the next week we're going to start to install full Wifi Free Net with the most modern system in all our hotel.
I supose, by your comments, that you were in a non refursbished room. If you decide to visit Tarragona again and you decide to choose our hotel again, please contact me and I'll show you all the news that we've done in our hotel.
Best regards,

ELOY CAPDEVILA
HOTEL MANAGER
direccionlauria@dormicumhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here with friends last summer and I only have good things to say about this place. A short walk from the train station, excellent location on the main street, about a 15 minute walk to the beach. The staff were always very friendly and extremely helpful when it came to booking tickets/printing out bus timetables, whatever we needed. The rooms were cleaned every day and were as expected. Nice little pool too, all in all a great experience and a nice, quiet hotel. I would 100% recommend it. Appropriate for families too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlowReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelLauria, Gerente at Hotel Lauria, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Marlow,

Thanks a lot for your comments. For me and all the employees from Hotel Lauria is very important to know that our guests have had a great experiences because we're working daily to get that all our guests will have these great experiences that all you are expecting, that's our obsession.

Kind regards,

HOTEL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.6 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#3 of 20 in Tarragona
587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#5 of 20 in Tarragona
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Urbis Centre
Hotel Urbis Centre
#15 of 20 in Tarragona
259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#10 of 20 in Tarragona
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lauria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lauria

Address: Rambla Nova 20, 43004 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range: $58 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lauria 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100 metres from the "Balcón del Mediterráneo" Viewpoint, Hotel Lauria is located on Tarragona’s main street, Rambla Nova. It offers an outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with a balcony.The rooms at the Lauria feature parquet floors and dark wood furniture. Each one comes with flat-screen satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.The hotel serves a daily breakfast in the modern dining room, and there is also a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lauria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauria Hotel Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing