We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A torn drapery, an unchained bath plug, a wondrous view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Husa Imperial Tarraco
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Gävle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A torn drapery, an unchained bath plug, a wondrous view”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Imperial Terraco in Terragona is placed on a rise, facing the Mediterranean and an ancient Roman amphitheatre. On a diagonal, and close by, rises the old medieval city of Terragona, topped by a church, so the position of the hotel can hardly be faulted. My husband and I were there at the end of October, 2012, meeting up with a group of colleagues, who had ordered their rooms together. These rooms were often suites , beautifully appointed, plush chairs, settees, coffee tables. The corridors were tastefully done in whitewashed stucco (not sure of this), lighting graceful and discreet. That could sort of sum up the whole hotel, and that could be a bit overwhelming.
However, our room, while facing on to the sea and the amphitheatre, had some unanticipated elements, like a ripped thick drapery (inside the curtains, to keep out light and sun); first water run from the bath tap was brownish, the plug had no chain, the walls could have used a coat of paint...slightly tawdry, in other words.
But decent. Quiet enough - we were not bothered by other guests in the corridor or rooms, and the traffic died down late at night. The entrance, lobby, bar and restaurant smacked of a higher standard, more like the suites. The staff were OK. All in all, despite or because of its interesting contrasts, it was a good experience.
The two fairly certain negatives were a costly WiFi service (one computer) and only Spanish or Catalonian channels on the television (the latter is not all that important, but in a 3 or 4 star hotel - and this one makes claims to both - it is reasonable to expect at least one foreign language channel).
Jan Teeland, Gävle, Sweden

Room Tip: View good on floors 3 and upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    161
    155
    128
    98
See reviews for
98
301
12
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed the last wek ion october and booked what we thought were 2 Junior suites. The room that we had initially was extremely tired with the bathroom needing updating, carpet threadbare nad television not working. Told by the female receptioist, blondish long hair that hotels in Spain do NOT have fridges. This girl aged late 20's was quite abrupt. The reception manager, who was helpful, moved us to another room which was marginally better and gave us a reduction of Euros 25 for the first night which was acceptable.

The hotel badly needs updating and the swimming pool was closed.The shower was spasmodic and having a showere was a challenge. We cannot comment on the food as we did not eat there. There are very good views over the beach which is about 100 metres below

Room Tip: The best room and possibly only room is The Imperial . Avoid Room 402 which is classed as a Junior S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tarragona hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tarragona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we were accomodated at room 305. Seating on WC and bidet was amasingly unconfortable. Air conditioning was off and at 5 PM we were roasting, due to heavy sunrays. And this in october, immagine in july. Reception personnel unsupportive on the matter.
Good quality food well presented and served, at both breakfast room and restaurant.
Perfect location for visiting Tarragona by feet, good price, but not a 4 star hotel rating at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank massimoTarragona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial1960, Subdireccion at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
We agree the air conditioned wasn. t working. We didn. t expect the hot of the wheter in october but it was working all summer. We regret you you room was too hot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Lazio, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Not a 4 star hotel. I'd say it's a 3+ in the best case. Superb location, huge rooms, but worn out. Seems it's been build in the 85 and never renewed.
We had a wonderful sight on the beach and roman amphitheater but the air conditioning wasn't working, the lights in the second room wasn't working and to charge the phone I had to pull out the minibar. The breakfast is rather poor for a 4* hotel and the milk was sour (they replaced it when I made them notice it). One of this things may happen anywhere but not all of them.
Once back in the hotel from the beach I had to wait 5-7 minutes to get my room key, while the people at the reception was managing to check in other guys. It's not a big deal to hand me the key I suppose.

So, pros - great location, 7 minutes walk from the sea, huge rooms, wonderful sight (on the right side of the hotel), acceptable restaurant, cons - worn out, air conditioning not working, problems with lights in the room, the breakfast could be definitely richer and the sensation that everything could be better.

I'll not get there back again, value for money - not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyRoma_Lazio_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial1960, Subdireccion at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your time and your comments.
The hotel has had a big reformation of common areas and 60 rooms of the 170 that has the hotel.
We,ll have the rest of rooms reformated soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Everything seems worn out in this hotel (although clean), but it's right on the beach and our room (75 euros a night) had a view of the Roman Amphitheater and the ocean. We were within walking distance of everything. Parking is relatively cheap (11 euros), but in short supply, so we had to park in a public garage 2 blocks away one night at 25 euros. Breakfast was also expensive, so we opted to walk over to a nearby square and eat a light breakfast there. I would stay again, but I wouldn't expect a 4-star property, which is how it is rated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial1960, Subdireccion at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
First of all, let me thank you for the time you spended letting us know your comments.
We are happy to know that your stay has been pleasant except for the number of the parking places and the breakfast menu price.
About the parking We are working to have more places in the near future and the breakfast price is due to the extended menu (hot and cold) We offer.
We hope to have you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarragona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are leaving the hotel tomorrow after a 4 night stay. Never stay in a room on the 4th floor. The room is tacky and old. There is not mini bar - not even a telephone or room service list! The paint is peeling of the walls and the carper fryeid. The plaster on the wall in the passage is falling off leaving a huge hole in the wall. The staff won't help with anything. There are very few guests but they would not even consider a late check out! We have stayed here before but we won't come back. Bookings.com were unreliable in their advertising and their prices. We stayed here in high season over the summer for the same price with a much better room. No more Husa hotel and no more Bookings.com for us, sorry!

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 4th floor if you are going to stay at this hotel. There must be better options in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marievanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial1960, Subdirecion at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are terrible sorry that your stay didn´t have the expectation you had on us.
Let me, please, explain you that We are renovating the hotel and most of the rooms have the quality of the room you had in the summer.
Works renovation will take a little bit of time.
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent location near Roman amphitheatre and Rambla Nova, even if you have limited time to visit the sightseeings like I had, this is a great place to stay. Service was very polite! My room and common appearance of the hotel was little bit worn out, I had a dirty fitted carpet on my room floor and the strings inside my mattress felt like they were pushing out at any moment. My colleague's room instead was looking much more freshier and newer, so perhaps there are coming slowly renovations. Overall, my room was tidy, bathroom was spacious and clean, and breakfast was ok (bread, toast, eggs, different kind of spanish charcuteries and chees, fresh fruit salad...). In my opinion, this is not a four-star hotel at the moment, it needs renovations to get that status again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial1960, Subdireccion at Husa Imperial Tarraco, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your time.
As you say, the hotel is in a very important phase of renovation. But, even of that, We are very satisfied you liked the great views of the sea and the Roman amphitheatre.
We hope to have you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarragona hotels
0.4 mi away
Astari Hotel
Astari Hotel
#6 of 20 in Tarragona
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lauria
Hotel Lauria
#11 of 20 in Tarragona
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
#2 of 20 in Tarragona
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Tarragona
AC Hotel Tarragona
#4 of 20 in Tarragona
551 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tarraco Park
Hotel Tarraco Park
#8 of 20 in Tarragona
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Husa Imperial Tarraco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Imperial Tarraco

Property: Husa Imperial Tarraco
Address: Paseo de las Palmeres, s/n, 43003 Tarragona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Imperial Tarraco)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Husa Imperial Tarraco 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Husa Imperial Tarraco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Tarraco Hotel
Imperial Tarraco Tarragona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing