We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Maricel

Maricel
Reserve with
Maricel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 384 Restaurants in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A good location on the sea front and very nicely fitted and decorated premises. But unfortunately our visit went downhill after that.

Despite being only moderately busy, the service was slow and unatentaive. My main course of filet steak was nicely served, cut into thin strips. It was only accompanied by a single French frie. The steak did not taste very good, in fact its taste and texture was quite unlike any steak I have eaten before and there was an unacceptable amount of thick fat for what I expect to be a lean cut of meat.

My partner had the paella which was dry and salty.

It was expensive by any standard and the food and service were a disappointment.

Maybe it was just a bad night, but I will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    81
    44
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The only truly excellent restaurant in Sitges”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Six years ago, we have moved into a house in Quint Mar, Sitges. After having tried several restaurants in Sitges we had come to the conclusion that it is better to drive for a good food the half an hour to Barcelona, as none of the Sitges restaurants were worthwhile of patronising - unless one would be satisfied with a very mediocre food. Then we had discovered Maricel - and we have never looked back.

The young French chef of the establishment is extremely talented, really a gem among the undistinguished cooks of the town. I think that he has a very brilliant career in front of him: even today, in his comparative youth, his culinary artistry can be compared to some of the top French chefs in long-established restaurants. He has apparently apprenticed with some of the greats on the culinary sky, such as Alain Ducasse etc. - and this is apparent from the mastery he displays in preparing his classic French dishes, without the often tragi-comic venturing into "originality" by mixing together completely unsuitable elements - only to be "innovative".

The service in Maricel is outstanding, of truly high class in every sense of the word, presided over by the lady owner of the establishment, who would be considered to be a real jewel in any three Micheline Guide restaurant. The locality of Maricel, a few meters from the sandy beach at the end of the Paseo de la Ribera, with seating both inside or outside, with perfectly setup tables in most noble manner, is an ideal milieu for high level, romantic "night out".

I would warmly and emphatically recommend this restaurant to anybody who is seeking culinary excellence while visiting Sitges: you will certainly not be disappointed!

Jdsepes, Geneva

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdsepes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food in Sitges”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is a really good restaurant in Sitges. Over several visits the food has been excellent on every occasion. Service is prompt and friendly. Lovely setting. Prices are quite high, but worth it.



    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food. top service”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Perfect service and really good food. We had 4 waiters all to our selves. they served a small apetizer and a small after dish

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Five star experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My friend and I ate at here for our special night out in Sitges. The location was not great,but,everything else was. The English speaking Hostess made it very comfortable for us and every aspect of food and service was perfect. I had the fish soup (Starter) and Sweetbreads which were exquisite. My friend had steak tartare (Starter) and Monkfish. The hostes recommended a fine Spanish Rioja which was just right and not too expensive. The service was very attentive and the complimentary small touches were very special. A tomato Caprese salad on a spoon and creme fresh and biscotti after coffee. My thanks to this restaurant ofr making our special evening just that.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CraftCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maricel also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Maricel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing