We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could smile a little more”
Review of Fragata

Fragata
Ranked #19 of 384 Restaurants in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Could smile a little more”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and wine. However staff were neither welcoming nor friendly. Lovely location and like I said the food was excellent but the atmosphere created by the lacklustre staff spoiled somewhat the overall effect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmacseoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    329
    103
    47
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Choice on the Plaza”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

After a week in Sitges, we had dinner (17 of us) at this restaurant, situated right on the plaza in the shadow of the cathedral. What a relief. The other places served very mediocre tourist food, but at Fragata a real effort was made to deliver interesting dishes, cooked well.

Granted, my family is pretty critical. Some of us have worked professionally as restaurant critics, and many of us can cook quite well, and have trained in restaurant kitchens. So, saying that most restaurants in Sitges are, in a word, awful, is not a tourist reaction to unfamiliar cuisine.

Fragata was much better. Service, eh, friendly but nothing special. Food, not bad at all. And the same price as the other places right next door. By comparison, Fragata stands out. We had everything from suckling pig to local fish dishes, and it was all flavorful, generous and well-prepared.

Special? Not particularly. Worth the price? Definitely. We didn't order paella because a) it's often a rip-off in these tourist-oriented restaurants and b) I can make it better myself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't go - absolute rip off and terrible service”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I can only warn you going to this place. We had some decent starters but shared a paella for 2 between 4 people. Didn't even have a bottle of wine but still had to pay 140 Euros. No deserts nothing. Service was rude, lazy and ignorant. Yes the setting is nice, but there are more places on te beach, where you don't feel you just got robed! Stay away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globesurfer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto C, Gerente at Fragata, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Google Translation
Distinguida Señora,

El precio de las paellas en Fragata oscilan entre 17,95 € y 19,25 € por persona, impuestos incluidos. A esto se le debe añadir un 5% de suplemento si sus consumiciones fueron servidas en la terraza. Ignoro cuáles fueron sus otras consumiciones, pero nuestros entrantes oscilan entre 9 y 14 euros.

Usted es libre de escribir lo que quiera acerca de Fragata, es su opinión y como tal debe respetarse, pero sería de agradecer que sus términos fueran respetuosos y fielmente ajustados a la realidad. Por este motivo discrepo absolutamente cuando emplea calificativos como groseros, perezosos o ignorantes para referirse a nuestro personal. Del mismo modo tampoco resultan admisibles términos como estafa, robo o "stay away" para referirse a nuestro establecimiento.
Creo honestamente que su excesiva y desmesurada crítica acerca de nuestro establecimiento, así como su peculiar redactado, le hacen un flaco favor a la deseada objetividad y credibilidad de la misma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We live here and this is probably a placee we will never eat in again. After last night's showing I would never recommend to anyone. We arrived at 9pm and there was practically no one else in the restaurant. We didn't get offered anything for at least 20 minutes. After ordering we waited ages and the. Everything arrived in fits and starts and one of us didn't get the main course til 20 mins after the rest of us. The most appalling thing was my scallops which had been somehow cooked to have a dark brown top then frozen and warmed up in a microwave. Unbelievably bad, tasteless and lukewarm. Will NEVER go there again and will NEVER recommend to anyone. The service was non existent, totally disinterested. I can not understand why this has good ratings unless they are writing them themselves

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto C, Gerente at Fragata, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Google Translation
Distinguida Señora,

Con el debido respeto deseo manifestarle mi disconformidad con los comentarios acerca de Fragata que usted ha publicado en este medio.
En primer lugar confirmarle que habitualmente nuestro Restaurante acostumbra a estar bastante concurrido a las 21 horas, especialmente en los meses de verano.
Nos resultaría de mucha utilidad conocer la fecha de su visita y la mesa que ocuparon (encontrará estos datos en la factura). De esta forma podríamos averiguar las horas del pase de los platos y también si usted manifestó alguna queja en su visita, ya que tenemos un registro de las incidencias que se puedan producir con nuestros clientes.
En nuestro protocolo de servicio tenemos establecido sustituir cualquier plato que no sea del gusto o agrado del cliente, con independencia de que el plato pueda estar perfectamente elaborado.
En cualquier caso, siempre descontamos de la factura cualquier plato o bebida que no haya merecido la aprobación y conformidad del cliente.
En cuanto a su apreciación de que alguno de nuestros platos está cocinado, congelado y recalentado en el microondas, simplemente ofrecerle la oportunidad de visitar nuestra cocina y permanecer en ella todo el tiempo que usted quiera, de esta forma podrá comprobar que su comentario al respecto carece de fundamento.
Y por último confirmarle que nosotros no escribimos ningún comentario en esta página, no es nuestro estilo. Los clientes expresan libremente su opinión y escriben acerca de su experiencia de la misma forma que usted ha escrito su subjetiva opinión acerca de nosotros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent year after year”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have visited this restaurant many times and the same high service and food quality has always been maintained. We endorse our previous reviews.

We dined this year as a large group of about 14 or so as we have done in the past. We chose the set menu in advance. There are a number of choices and the restaurant is always happy in advance to discuss variations on a theme. On this occasion we had Dublin Bay prawns, wild seabass, beef sirloin, cheesecake as well as white wine and red wine, mineral water and coffee. This was for the set price of €57.75 exclusive of 10% tax. It is very good value and the food was of a very high quality. The staff always remember us and although we have been there every year for a long number of years, there is still always a personal recognition.

The atmosphere is outstanding being close to the sea and at the base of the cathedral walls. It is wonderfully lit and during the summertime the outside dining experience is fantastic.

We are not quite sure why the restaurant has slipped in the ratings. Clearly there are a number of diners who have experienced problems from time to time. We have not had that experience at all but no doubt the management will take these matters on board. It does deserve to be so much very higher in the ratings compared with others which we know and are not in quite the same league.

However, this was again a fantastic holiday dining experience. We all look forward to dining there and we heartily recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IANandARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fragata also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Fragata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing