We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Velero - CLOSED

El Velero
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
498 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We always pay El Velero a visit when we are in Sitges and it is always a treat.

Whilst not the cheapest place in Sitges, it is one of the best, and worth the treat.

You will enjoy a good dinner here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waldorf53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beachtravel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just enjoyed a fabulous lunch at El Velero. Had the fixed price menu of a salad, sauted squid with vegetables and a cheese plate with a glss of wine for only 14euros. The food tasted as good as it looked... I took photos!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mpayne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Kudos, and deservedly so!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Without any personal recommendations, we decided to eat here based on a review in the guidebook, "Barcelona Time Out." Located on the street facing the waterfront, it seemed like a good bet. Few diners were in the restaurant, but February isn't high season for Sitges (we saw few people except locals). Maybe that was good for El Velero because they've set the bar high and kept it there. We chose the menu del dia and were delighted with the way the seafood prepared. The service was attentive and purposeful. We also enjoyed talking with sommelier David Martinez. Their house wines are local, and he was all too happy to talk about wines of the region and make sure that we had the perfect wines to compliment our lunch. Both my husband and I decided that El Velero would be worth a trip to Sitges for a meal!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank passionflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Having been away 2 years we couldn't wait for the chance to sit down and enjoy what is for us the finest Catalan food in Spain! Walk in from the street along the sea and be welcomed by starched white linen, leather chairs, original artwork and Riedel stemware.

The front of the house is flawlessly orchestrated by David, who, by the way, teaches classes locally to students trying to qualify as servers. Nothing is ever out of place or imposes on the elegant dining experience. David also makes has his own wines, labeled as La Caseta de Fusta, and serves his excellent xarel-lo and rose, as well as the finest wines Penedes and Spain have to offer.

The food is strictly died and gone to heaven amazing .The meal, the first of many for us this trip, was highlighted by foie with artichokes and Scottish Angus beef among the 6 courses we savored. If you are in the Sitges/Barcelona area don't miss the fine wine, food, service and setting at El Velero

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We ate our evening meal here twice.
On each occasion we chose a set menu; the food was always carefully prepared and tasted fresh; it was much better than average 'tourist' fare. Service was very attentive.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank HoppyEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Velero also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing