We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but delicious”
Review of La Oca

La Oca
Ranked #49 of 384 Restaurants in Sitges
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Basic but delicious”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I visited with my girlfriend at the start of September 2012. We shared a tuna salad with white beans to start, which was fairly average and full of raw onion. However, our main meals were delicious. I had the half roast chicken with mushrooms and stuffed peppers, my girlfriend had the half rabbit cooked a la plancha. Both were excellent - considering the food was quite basic it left a real impression, the roast chicken being perhaps the best i've ever tasted! The mushrooms were also delicious. The rest of the restaurant is so-so, service, decor, ambiance, prices etc, but the quality of the main meal made it stand out overall. If you're looking for a sophisticated meal or an intimate ambiance look elsewhere, but if you're after some good old fashion roast meat I'd highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    216
    167
    39
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Chicken and Chips - No Frills.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here with several friends one evening. We all had 1/2 chicken, chips and portions of roasted peppers, stuffed tomatoes. Service was ok, apart from sticky/grubby menu's and greasy table tops. Food was as expected, spit roasted chicken and chips. Overall, not that impressed, theres better and cheaper.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DucatiBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty and easy on the wallet”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you want laid-back, tasty and easy on your wallet, then this is it. You can’t go wrong with half a chicken each, with different side orders (roasted peppers (yum!), roasted tomatoes or chips) so that all tastes are catered for. Oh, and a jug of sangria on the side to wash it all down with. The tables turn over fairly quickly so you never have to wait long for table. The service is also very friendly and efficient to make sure things keep ticking over. A definite must when in Sitges.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_realist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“As good as always ....”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Been to Sitges a few times and never miss having dinner at La Oca. This visit was no different and yet again it did not disappoint. Spit roasted chicken with mushrooms roasted peppers is the best ever. A very buzzy restaurant popular with singles, couples and families. Very reasonably priced. I strongly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SafferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Delicious rotisserie chicken”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

La Oca is a Sitges institution. We go every time we visit Sitges and usually more than once. They serve a range of food (including pizza) but the chickens are the stars (!) - salted and delicious. They're revolving and roasting invitingly at the front of the restaurant. The thing to have is the half chicken and chips and to resist the offered side dishes. We order a salad if we want more. The place is cheap and cheerful and open late (we've eaten here after midnight).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Oca also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Oca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing