We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best mom & pop Catalan Restaurant in Sitges, if not the county..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Nansa

La Nansa
Reserve with
La Nansa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 363 Restaurants in Sitges
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Probably the best mom & pop Catalan Restaurant in Sitges, if not the county..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food has been criticised by locals as "too French". For many it is too Catalan.

We were once put in 'the back room' . The service there was a bit like the private room in the Dorchester's kitchen! (Those who have been will understand)

The food is some of the best in town and the sweet trolley is for those who have no waist line problems. I think it IS the best in town.

A great place for a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juantwothreefour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    111
    28
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food but uncomfortable chairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

An interesting menu, well cooked Spanish food, fish dishes are good. The house wine is very drinkable and the atmosphere is busy with many locals eating there.
The one criticiism is about the chairs which are not that comfortable, the backs are angled and force you to sit forward.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank John2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“expensive for nothing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

very expensive and the meals are average, dark and decant decoration in an awful place

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Paella capital of Sitges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have eaten a lot of paella over the last year while living in Spain and La Nansa wins! We got their meat and seafood paella and the quality was incredible and we were all stuffed. I highly recommend going here for anyone in Sitges! It's definitely worth the train ride from Barcelona, too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ioomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Impeccable local cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had a lovely dinner on our first night in Sitges, the staff were nice and welcoming, we decided for the fixed price menu since we did not know much about local cuisine -yet- , 25euro for 3 courses, entree', main course and dessert, the waiter surprised us with olives and chorizo and nice bread rolls, a glass of white wine della casa each was included in the menu and was nice and crisp, I got fried artichokes, very generous portion for a starter and delicious, the same goes for some meat filled cannelloni my 'partner in crime' had. For her followed a lovely rabbit with mushrooms and I got the squid ink paella served with all i oli,presented in it's sizable pan and skillfully and theatrically scooped onto the plate topped with prawns and clams for good measure. The dessert arrived and we were already quite full, a good crema catalana and a scoop of ice cream laced with moscatel and crushed almonds did not go to waste though! no space for coffee unfortunately, we told the waiter so he went and fetch a bottle of lovely moscatel, we couldn't disappoint him so we drank it and went for seconds- since a bithday was involved. Thanks to kitchen and waiting staff at La Nansa we had a lovely evening for a very adequate price! Strongly recommended.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank viaggitrice_ligure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nansa also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Nansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing