We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good local food”
Review of Izarra

Izarra
Ranked #112 of 384 Restaurants in Sitges
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Erding, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good local food”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This small rustic bar looked like locals would eat here.The waitress was very friendly but didn´t speak much English or German so I had to practice my Spanish! I had the set menu :Salad Sitges with raw fish and olives, (a little too overwhelming), grilled tuna, flan (really good), water and coffee for €12.50. My friend ordered duck fom the menu which was also very good. I didn´t know about the pinchos and I really didn´t see many; it was quite late in the evening and maybe there was not much left. Will definitely try next time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrunchieFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    47
    9
    7
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The "pintxos", as Sergijorquera says, are left on the bar until they wilt and more...
Only chance to get them recently made is if you go at peak times and still nothing special.
If you order a course and for some reason you don't like it (too salty, overcooked, etc.) and obviously don't eat it they charge you for it anyway!
Grand rip off!

Helpful?
Thank Roberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good choice of pintxos, nice barman, cider ad txacoli, basque design, average cheesecakes, good coffee.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank alff2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“LOVE this place”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Izarra is a must do when in Sitges. It's a Basque Tavern that specialises in Pinchos. For the uninitiated these are usually slices of baguette topped with all manner of delicious things from goats cheese with balsamic dressing, to crab mayonnaise, to meatballs, to delicious sausage and everything in between. Each one has a cocktail stick in it, so when you enter the bar you just ask for a plate, and help yourself to your fill from the choice of pinchos laid out all across the bar (which will be added to throughout your time in the bar as fresh plates emerge from the kitchen). When you can eat no more you settle up by passing your plate with cocktail sticks to the staff so they can count them and work out how many you have eaten and charge you accordingly. Simple! The pinchos here are probably the most delicious I have had in Sitges (and I have tried lots!!)
On this visit we also ate from the main menu. I have to say that based on the pinchos and my friend's recommendation I was expecting great things, but unfortunately I wasn't as impressed as I expected. What I had was nice, and clearly used fresh produce, but it was very simple food which I didn't feel was the impression given by the menu. Everything sounded a lot fancier than it was. I would imagine that the set menu that they do is worth it as the price is so good, but otherwise I would recommend going there for pinchos rather than having a sit down meal from the menu.
There has been a great atmosphere in the bar every time we have been, the staff are really friendly and they offer a great choice of drinks at very reasonably prices. Don't miss out!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lexy_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent value!”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had a lot of terrible / mediocre food during our two week break on a budget but this place was a jem! We ate there twice and the €12.50 set menu was good both times. Good value and unpretentious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steady500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izarra also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Izarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing