We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two years running we've been disappointed with the service”
Review of Can Laury Peix

Can Laury Peix
Reserve with
Can Laury Peix is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 384 Restaurants in Sitges
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just 20 minutes from Barcelona found the Marina of Aiguadolç located in the town of Sitges, and within its great hospitality we offer the restaurant Can Laury Peix. Can Laury Peix offers one of the most representative of Mediterranean cuisine based on fish and seafood and seasonal daily market, and its most outstanding dishes risotto, fideuada, monkfish stew, .... The local consists of two areas, both indoor and outdoor fully equipped for people with physical disabilities, the inside with a maximum capacity of 90 people and a great place to enjoy lunch or dinner more intimate atmosphere. The outer divided into two areas overlooking the harbor and a maximum capacity of 220 people, one of them is heated to enjoy it all year and the other up. These areas are suitable for business lunches, various celebrations or bachelor parties. Your best guarantee is years of experience, their regular customers and friends and acquaintances and tourists who come, mostly recommended by word of mouth, and taste like the first day of their chosen card lifetime. They are waiting and want to return and recommend Can Laury Peix worldwide.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Two years running we've been disappointed with the service”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We ate here a few times in 2012 and again when we returned in August this year. The food is good. The location is beautiful. The service leaves a lot to be desired! On the 3 occasions we ate with our daughter this year, the service was brusque to say the least. No smiles, no time spent explaining anything on the menu and we felt that the waiters thought they were doing us a favour in serving us! If you're local, the treatment is totally different! All smiles and jokes but for us 'tourists', they just want to take the money. We didn't go back to this restaurant on principle after the first week of our holiday, preferring to go back to the one next door which I'll admit the food isn't quite as good - but the service totally makes up for it!!'

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    288
    75
    36
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ESSEX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having tried this restaurant we enjoyed it so much we returned a few days later. It is in a lovely position overlooking the harbour, the food and service was very good. Plenty of seafood on the menu, I had a whole lobster on our last visit and was not disappointed. If you require a harbour side table it is best to book, weekends seem busy with locals so maybe that in itself speaks well of the place.. Enjoyable food in great setting

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexJohnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK and Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Share the sea platter!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place was recommended to us with the advice to go for the seafood platter (at €25 very reasonably priced considering what you get). Unfortunately, all of us who chose it could only manage half as it is a beast of a portion. However, everyone was really friendly and made my friend's birthday meal memorable, even bringing out candles and a free (amazing!) dessert. Lovely setting at the port of Sitges.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anyanka00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average and overpriced!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I guess you'll always pay a premium if you eat by the port but for me this place seems to be for those who get the credit card out without even looking at the check. Tried it for a change but certainly not my thing. It's mainly seafood so if you're vegetarian like me there's not a lot for you on the menu! I had mozzerella and tomato salad ( had to ask without anchovies ) and while it was nice, it was nothing special - 2 balls of cheese, 5 slices of tomato and 5 olives - and somewhat overpriced at €11.85. They also have a cover charge of €1.75 pp for a bread roll each and the menu doesn't include IVA tax so an extra 10% gets added at the end which I think is a bit cheeky ( most restaurants include it ). They also never returned with our change so again, somewhat arrogant. Either they assume youre letting them have it or they deliberately take so long to bring it that you leave. All in all it's very popular so obviously theyre doing something right - maybe its for seafood lovers - but it just wasn't for me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE London
Level Contributor
236 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Local food. In the port. Large busy outdoor with sense of occasion though as formal as you wish.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very high standard with excellent local cooking mainly fish but meat good too.
All food is very high standard and large amounts. A fish stew for one contains enough for two. The so called Tapas and salad starters are also enough to share.
Starters include prawns with tiny soft broad beans, large salads (all with tuna). Mains have lots of fish/shellfish stews.
Desserts are ok.
Get a table next to the water.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Laury Peix also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Laury Peix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing