We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Caleta

La Caleta
Ranked #114 of 369 Restaurants in Sitges
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
378 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Nice lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

My friends treat themselves to lunch every day they go to Balmins. They know the staff now and have a table. I'm only mentioning this as done people mention bad service. The day I went was a Sunday and it was packed with Spanish families. However despite it being busy, we found the service to be friendly and excellent.
The paella was wonderful. We had a lovely salad and chipirones, washed down with a delicious dry rose. Coffee was excellent.
It's a lovely spot for lunch. Certainly checking out if you are on the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
208 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The big octopus is fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

So we had an evening meal and were the only people in the restaurant. Normally a worry but not here. The put the music on ( the cd starts with happy birthday!!) and the service was friendly. The fried anchovies are possibly the best we are in Spain. But the large octopus - a whole "leg", not for the squimish - was so delicious. Very soft and tender and in a fabulous red wine sauce. Worth a try. Busier in the day for lunch but I would say mid priced! Staff were very nice too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Renze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Food is not fussy and tastes amazing. One of the best restaurants in town - you'll need to book in high season. Can't wait to go back :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been here a number of times on my last 2 visits to Sitges. The restaurant is beautiful, and has a great location overlooking Balmins bay. It's a real treat to take a break from the beach and enjoy lunch either on the terrace or in the air-conditioned interior. We usually take a couple of plates of fish and a beer with some tomato bread on the side & it's delicious! It's not the cheapest place in town, but our food is always good, and from what one can see, the bigger dishes look good too. If only the service were better - or rather - friendlier!! You really do have the feeling of being not welcome - or at least only grudgingly. It's almost like it's not worth their while to be friendly - or are we not spending enough? It's not like we turn up in our trunks either! At the risk of sounding a bit neurotic, the spanish guests seem to fare better. Or maybe they a need an additional frontman with better english, so that the friendliness can be shared out a bit?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food - shame about the rest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Food was absolutely lovely - no issue with that
But service was lousy from the moment we sat down. Menus thrown down, no interest in us, staff ignoring all customers trying to attract their attention. Accept we were ordering towards the end of the night - but if you cannot be bothered don't waste either of our times

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Streatham14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caleta also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing