We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Liberty Sitges
Ranked #4 of 24 Sitges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 12 nights and found this an excellent choice. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was fine and hotel location great - easy walk to the beaches and convenient for restaurants and nightlife. Very good for access to the station as well! We enjoyed the cocktail hour and the garden very much. Breakfast was good and Eddie makes an excellent cup of tea! Highly recommended for a stay in Sitges.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidgibbons599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 219 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Was my second stay at the hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed it again ! It's a real hidden gem with friendly helpful staff and the perfect place for a chilled out base in Sitges . Lovely garden and minutes from the station, shops and nightlife of the town.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel Liberty isn't on the front..... nor in amongst the clubs .... its in a quiet side street a hop away from the station..... yet 5 minutes gentle walk takes you to the heart of the action - whatever rocks your boat ..... shopping.... restaurants.... clubs and yes a few minutes more and you're strolling along the wide promenade.
The Liberty's location is reflected in the room prices but there are few other compromises - no lift is one..... We had a Garden Terrace Room on the first floor - quiet, very comfortable and sitiitng out on the terrace is a sure way to chill.
Jon and Eddie are welcoming hosts who have added early evening cocktails to the enjoyments. Jose mixes a mean screwdriver! A generous (if predictable) breakfast buffet is a gentle and dignified way to start the day.
Hotel Liberty offers good value, comfort and a place to recuperate after the excitment of the day - or night!

Room Tip: The stairs are steep - so choose floor depending on your fitness (the top floor Penthouse is terrifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Situated conveniently close to the railway station this Hotel offers good sized rooms and an excellent buffet breakfast served in the charming pretty garden. There is an exellent happy hour bar service nightly with a good cocktail list - very good value!!
All in all a very pleasant stay - would definatley recommend

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187147George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed with Hotel Liberty mid March 2013 to visit with friends who also stayed in the Penthouse unit at Hotel Liberty. The owners are most gracious and friendly. They accepted our little dog that travels with us everywhere and had no problems whatsoever. We stayed on a courtyard view large room with large terrace. Being off season, the building was extremely quiet, but it offers a super location near the train station. There is no noise from the trains. The town is just steps away along with many nearby shops for daily needs. The friends that were in the Penthouse unit has exceptional city views and a gigantic patio. We spent much time with them there in their one bedroom unit. The bed was confortable, plenty of room to walk around, plenty of storage area, a small refrigerator and television (which we never watched). The bath was a little small, but recently upgraded and spotless. If you are contemplating a stay in Sitges for a few nights, this is your place. They also had a small bar downstairs with many English speaking guests and expats. In season, I believe that they offer a breakfast, but we understood, that this was not offered due to the off season. So, make this a good consideration for your next stay in Sitges!

Room Tip: There are a couple large courtyard view rooms with spacious terraces, or option for the Penthouse wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Liberty recently and I would agree that some of the concerns expressed on here by other guests are quite valid.

I had no issue with the room itself - it was clean and comfortable. However if you are looking for a unique place to stay in Sitges (and there are many) I would not recommend this hotel. The owners/hosts are definitely absent most of the time. The hotel appears to have a beautiful garden in the back however you cannot access it when the owners are not there - so what's the point?
Regretfully I find that the owners are very lacking in making guests feel welcome at the Liberty. On arrival I inquired as to what time breakfast was offered and was abruptly informed by one of them that there was no meal plan and it was clearly stated in my confirmation. (This is correct and it was my error - however the way they advised me put me off at the very beginning of our stay).
I asked to use their computer to print airline boarding passes which they allowed me to do - however the printer was not working so the boarding passes would not print. The owners were nowhere to be found of course, so had to resort to an internet cafe to obtain these.

Noise is a problem at this hotel, so if you like a quiet stay this is probably not the place for you. The stairway is marble or some type of tile with no covering, so when other guests come in at 3 or 4 in the morning you are awakened by them trouncing up the stairs.

I have been to Sitges numerous times and there are many wonderful small hotels - unfortunately this is not one of them.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LauderdaleBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I'm astonished that this establishment received a # 1 rating from TripAdvisor! Upon arrival the owners gave us the keys and disappeared. The patio area is locked up. Later we discovered that the owners use this area for their own entertainment. The location in close to everything, however, right next door is a "cafe" that is really a teenage hangout in the evening, and a daycare during the day. The noise from these teens and children make you think that you're in a playground, day and night! You can't enjoy your terrace as the noise is deafening.

When asked if breakfast or coffee was served, we were curtly informed that they do not include a "meal plan" however starting in April they offer a breakfast after 9:00 am. There was not a drop of hospitality or warmth from the owners. One evening around 7:00 p.m. they were vacuuming the adjacent room. Another morning we heard someone yelling at the top of their lungs. We thought it might be from the adjacent neighbors. We discovered that it was one of the owners having a temper tantrum.

The room was adequate, however, there is no top sheet on the bed!

To conclude, I would not recommend Hotel Liberty to anyone.

Room Tip: I would NOT choose any room at Hotel Liberty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libertysitges, Owner at Hotel Liberty Sitges, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

I am sorry to read and receive this review but respect that a guest can and should write when they are both happy and unhappy.

The experience is not one that I recognise as we pride ourselves on not only delivering value for money but also trying to ensure that guests enjoy their holiday and stay with us.

Eddie, my partner, is our chief inspector of cleaning and hygene and as a nurse and Reiki practioner is always fastidious, testified to by the number of apartment owners in Sitges that also request that he cleans for them.

If the guests truly did feel like this I would have preferred they had raised their complaints and concerns with us while they were here and we could have examined and if correct then have made efforts to put right.
It is obviously too late now but I genuinely dispute the description given

Jonathan Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
0.4 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
#18 of 40 in Sitges
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#8 of 40 in Sitges
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Los Globos
Hotel Los Globos
#14 of 40 in Sitges
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Liberty Sitges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty Sitges

Address: Calle Isla de Cuba 45, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sitges
Price Range: $67 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Liberty Sitges 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1886 as a Modernista or Cubana style house the Liberty enjoys its historical setting. Cool garden and conservatory doubles for bar and breakfast service. Central for the town and beach (4 minutes easy stroll away) restaurants and bars within 2 minutes. The accommodation is comfortable and well maintained. Spacious by Spanish standards with rooms from 106 to 126sq feet. All rooms have ensuite shower, a/c, refrigerator, sat TV and tea&coffee making facilities. Free wi-fi in public areas. Airport transfers available subject to booking and fee. Close to rail station. Beach towels available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Liberty Sitges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing