We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions!”

Big Al's American Kitchen
Ranked #17 of 384 Restaurants in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Big juicy American burgers, homemade desserts, and a nice selection of craft beers along with friendly staff and great service. Now in a larger location with more room and less wait.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big portions!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I wanted to reserve a table for my husbands birthday, but upon phoning was told they do not accept reservations. The only way to guarantee a table is to arrive before opening time at eight o'clock. There were only three of us, we arrived fifteen mins before opening and there were already three groups waiting! If you aren't successful on arrival they add your name to a waiting list. The food was delicious and the burgers really good quality. Service was so efficient and very friendly, with a great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 426TheresaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    378
    122
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
191 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“You have to book!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

So good we had to go twice during our holiday! Down a side street with a very small front door this is a gem. The best way of summing the place is to say it was like eating at someone's house. The welcome was warm, the service was excellent, the beer was mmmmm and the burgers were truly delicious. Value for money is excellent and there was a genuine desire for us to enjoy your meal. Now you might think why eat a burger in Spain when you are surrounded by all the other places... Just think you are having a night away in a cool USA diner and if you have kids they will love it. Finally as we left the staff were so nice saying 'have a good evening and be good!' It was really like leaving their own home. Don't forget to book... We turned upon the first time and had to return 45 mins later. Big Al... We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This is my second review having first visited while on holiday last year. Last year I gave Big Al 4 Stars just because the service lacked. This year everything was great, the food was better than I had remembered and the buff beardy guy running the place was great. You have to expect a wait for a table as this is the place to be but the guy serving us was very well organised and made our wait as short as possible. This place deserves it's ranking on Trip Advisor!

Helpful?
1 Thank nickanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

If you've had enough to the tapas/sangria life in Sitges (is that even possible?) then this burger place is a good alternative. The burgers are no joke though - absolutely huge (I think the special had 4 patties!) so you might consider sharing. Overall the portions are quite bit - we had the pulled pork nachos as an appetizer, which was delicious but could have been a meal in an of itself. The other items on the menu are not as good -I had a salad which was quite disappointing, but then again, this place's specialty is burgers though, so I shouldn't have been ordering salad :P If you're not in the mood for huge burgers then, go elsewhere!

Also, the place is quite small and quite busy, so make a reservation, or pop in earlier than you want to eat to let them know your group size and give yourself a chance at a table.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marichan623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I was a bit puzzled by friends wanting to eat at a hamburger diner while in Spain. Why not more tapas? Well, Big Al's was great. Excellent hamburgers - I mean really world class. Gracious friendly service in a small and relaxed restaurant. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crawhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's American Kitchen also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Big Al's American Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing