We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Family friendly, top end 3* hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely Family friendly, top end 3* hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We arrived at this hotel to be met by a lovely quietly spoken spanish gentleman, with excellent English. He talked us through most of what we needed to know.. He explained about the rooms themselves, the swimming pool area, how we could hire beach towells (no need to bring extra towells with you - refundable deposit when returned!!)

The rooms have safes and air-conditioning. There is a car-park at the back of the hotel which is good because street parking is hard to find.

The breakfast is exceptional - buffet style but with everything you could possibly want - from a full english breakfast to a continental style breakfast. Overall we had a fab stay and would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suedundon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    333
    57
    18
    14
See reviews for
97
615
151
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The Galeon was recommended by a friend as a less pretentious and cheaper alternative to the usual Sitges four stars. It lived up to the hype in most aspects, being both friendly and perfectly situated. The breakfast was great, with a huge choice of food to suit all tastes. The pool area, though small, was a real bonus in this hotel. Free wifi was also very useful, although this was not available in our room (but strong and fast in the spacious reception area).
Negatives: not enough electrical outlets in the bedrooms; beds were too big for the room making it difficult to squeeze past; towels were worn; aircon was weak (it was 30oC most of our stay and the room still got very stuffy at night).
Some very odd things happened with maintenance – one day, one of the legs of my bed was removed for no apparent reason, making my bed dangerously unstable – it was replaced the next day (eventually) but the mystery remains why it was removed in the first place!
Handy hint: you don't need to take beach towels if you are staying here – they offer a daily beach towel service which only requires a 15 euro refundable deposit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Great location close to the rail station and the front. Our room at the rear of the hotel was quiet, if a little crammed with three beds. The pool area looked pretty decent, but we did not have time to use it.

The breakfast was magnificent and seemed to cover every European taste.

The price was ok for peak at roughly 140 Euros for 3 people in one room for one night. Given we could not find accommodation near the hotel for the person who wished to join us, I was just relieved they added the extra bed to the room at the 40Euros charge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_tripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Its chokablock in Sitges, in full summer swing, with everyone from spring break kids, budget holiday folks, independent travelers, couples - straight & gay. Everywhere we knew was booked so we opted for the Galeon. A decent location and reasonable reviews. And that's what it is. Everything was just above acceptable so no complaints, but its not a memorable stay, except for our receptionist! She was wonderfully friendly, helpful & patient with all our questions and requests. Word of warning if you're driving, book a parking space! Even then you could be caught out, and have to park in the public garages for just under £30 for 24 hours. And the central streets are a nightmare when you first arrive - many streets are closed or one way in the central area. Thankfully there is a public garage just a few door away from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Having read some of the the previous reviews we werent sure what to expect, but the hotel has under gone a recent refurb....and look s great....it was spotless ...we had fresh towels every day, room was cleaned and bed made.
The staff were efficient , freindly and very helpful....
Breakfast was amazing....if you couldnt find something there you didnt like ...well I would reckon you were just too fussy!!! It kept us going all day !!
The pool tho small was clean and well maintained....new loungers and summer seats too.
We stayed in the main hotel was was convenient to both the railway station and and town...
Hope to be back next year !!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heartonmysleeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

The following refers to the main building on C San Franscisco in May 2009.

All rooms now have double glazing and air conditioning. This means street noise is no longer intrusive. The only significant noise in our room was from the lift. The room was clean and room service was good though we did have to ask for shower gel. The shower head was the only substandard item. This very poor quality item let down the otherwise good bathroom. In Sitges most of the smaller hotels have very small baths. This one is about 3/4 length.

Television. 28" flat screen. 9 channels including BBC World, Eurosport and RTL in German. Remote control supplied (no deposit required as other reviews)

Breakfast. Astonishingly high standard. I could get picky about the eggs but the selection of fruit, cooked meats, cheese and breads is the best we have seen in a long time.

In short very good value for 60 Euro or less per night. We paid a lot less than that so best to shop around.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2009

having stayed at its sister hotel , plat ja dor twice, we could not get a room there so we opted for hotel galeon and while the decor really needs updating to the 21st century it is always kept spotlessly clean , it may be basic but how many hours do you spend in an hotel room? you sleep, have a shower and go out again! The staff are more than pleasant, its clean and the food is great and at the price you pay why complain? Oh and they have a little secret - certain rooms are fabulous!!! Its not noisy, easy to get to from the bus/train from Barca/El Pratt- I Love it! I cant really comment on the pool area as I only popped my head up to see it on my way to the beach which is great either which one you go to, always clean and you can always find a spot and so picturesque! Anyway you look at it, you get what you pay for and the galeon gives you damn good value for your money- oh did I mention the breakfast? I am a size 8 woman who needs to be fed , my friends tell me I eat a lot, and I have a very big husband who is a gym fanatic (im not!) who finds the breakfasts probably the best choice in spain. I 'll be going back again. oh, just booked again- can' t be that bad then!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janni59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 41 in Sitges
1,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 41 in Sitges
842 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 41 in Sitges
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 41 in Sitges
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 41 in Sitges
815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Property: Hotel Galeon
Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing