We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Sitges, but Hotel is a HUGE Disappointment”
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
New City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love Sitges, but Hotel is a HUGE Disappointment”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I usually check other sites before going to tripadvisor. However, on this trip I trusted the reviews on trip advisor based on the fact that I have never been steered wrong. Well, this time I was. This hotel did nothing but disappoint. I usually only read reviews, or only leave good comments. So if I'm writing this now, there's a reason.

The BAD: First, good luck finding the place, streets are narrow and confusing. We finally get there only to find that the person at the front desk has a bare minimum knowledge of Spanish, and her English is only slightly better. I am fluent in Spanish (know a little Catalan) and was shocked to find myself almost at a loss for communication. Anyway, it turned out we were staying at the Pavillion building (behind the hotel). She gave us a map and told us how to get to the hotel. The problem? the streets she sent us to were one way, in the opposite way than we needed. Shouldn't the hotel staff know this? She also failed to tell us that when you enter the garage, there is a steep incline that you must then travel uphill to get to the hotel. Be sure you have upper body strength if you plan on pushing, or carrying, a heavy suitcase.

Beach towels. They say they provide them. Well, at 9 am they were out. In case you're wondering, the beaches are empty at that time. I did notice, however, that prior to my asking for towels the man at the front give one girl 3 towels. If these are your last towels, should you give one person 3? Do they not know how many guests they have? I went to the beach anyway. Sitges beaches are gorgeous, I wouldn't miss my morning at the beach for anything!

The Shower Stall. You have time for a mani/pedi before the hot water kicks in. Also, our shower door did not properly close, therefore water went everywhere. Dangerous, true, but we put towels down and didn't give it another thought. Until our last day, when the hotel found it a necessity to fix. They said they would be by at 12. We left at 12 for a good 2 hours. We came back, decided to rest, when we were called that the door posed a danger and they needed to fix it at that point. Why did they not come when they said they would?

The GOOD: The room was small, but clean. The airconditioning worked great, and the place is central to everything. That said, Sitges is great. I will NOT come back to this hotel (actually I'm still there - men working on the bathroom door as I write this. I hope nothing else goes wrong before we leave. If so, I will leave another comment). There has got to be something better.

By the way, this was the second leg of our Barcelona trip. Stayed in an amazing hotel during the first leg. (Aparthotel Silver). I will leave a separate review for this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on tripAdvisor.
We want to express our most sincere regret not to have been able to fulfill your expectations and sincerely apologize for it:
The Galeón hotel is focused on service to our guests and this unknown series of inconveniences is unacceptable for our standards.
We are located in the very center of Sitges close to every place, which our guests usually appreciate if arriving with the train or the airport bus.
If you arrive with a car, driving in the center is not easy as we are located in a pedestrian area. That is why we have published in our web site a very easy way to deal with the car.
However, as our garage is an underground parking space, we should have recommended you to take your bags out of the car before going down the slope to park it. The stairs make it difficult to carry all the bags up.
The Reception staff can speak several languages. We also have some students who do their practice with us. They all come from different European countries and can communicate in different languages. Sometimes their command of English is not as good as it should be, however, we can always replace them in the circumstance.
We are very sorry that in this occasion we haven’t been quick enough to react to the situation.
Beach towels should be available any time when our guests need them.
We do have enough towels for every guest. They are provided very early in the morning. However, in this occasion they arrived a bit later than they should have. We are very sorry about that.
Sometimes, technical problems occur while the rooms are occupied and we want to solve them as soon as possible. However, we only access the rooms if occupied when our guests allow it and the time they allow us to do so.
We truly apologize that we made the mistake to come to repair the bath enclosure at an absolutely inconvenient moment.
We look forward to being given the opportunity to welcoming you in a future occasion and compensate you for bad impression you may have had this time
Yours sincerely
The management
Hotel Galeón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    342
    58
    18
    14
See reviews for
98
626
154
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
whitley bay
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and amazing breakfasts. Pool area is good though can get busy, I prefer to stay in the annex across the road, bit quiter and usually have the rooftop terrace and jacuzzi to myself, good for those days when a trip to the beach seems like too much effort :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

First time to Sitges which we combined with an overdue trip to Barcelona.
It's's proximity to Bacelona makes it ideal for a two centre holiday or as we did based ourselefves here with the option to back to Barcelona one or twice if we so wished.
Excellent access to Barcelsona as on mainline station.
The hotel itself is about as central as you could wish for and within easy walking distance of both the
Railway Station and bus drop-off/pick up point.
Older hotel with a myriad of rooms some with balcony others not and more in an adjoining annex via the pool area.
we choose to eat at the hotel as although perhaps not the most intimate of restaurants the food was exceptionally good with a v good selection albeit self-service and the fixed price of €9.50 was particularly attractive especially if you went on somewhere afterwards for a night cap.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Magoireachtaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good value hotel! Very reasonable sitges hotel. Nice buffet breakfast, fills you up for the day. Similar price to hotel subur. Always pick this over Subur! Subur has good location for the beach, but Galeon gives you much better and friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylejoe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Right from the start this Sitges hotel proved itself to be a great find. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful about parking. The room was very comfortable and the wifi connection strong and stable. Free fridge and water were most useful on a hot summer's day. Air con worked well and efficiently. Cosy poolside area and bar. I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Park in Mercadona supermarket car park and then get directions to hotel carpark once checked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Surprised with a bottle of Cava in the room on our arrival , as it was my partners 40th Birthday. Very Helpful and friendly staff who can't do more for you. Breakfast had so much choice and sets you up for the day to enjoy by the beach or pool. Good location and 5 mins from Sitges Train Station.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flumpy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel. The Management and staff are all very professional yet friendly in dealing with any requests you might have. The hotel is centrally situated shops and bars on the doorstep, beach a short walk away. The breakfast and evening buffet are fantastic with really something for every taste and diet, the evening buffet is exceptional value for money. Lovely swimming pool which is well maintained a very peaceful area to sunbathe in the private garden. Rooms are clean and comfortable lovely large bed, good show, fridge etc. The Pavilion is the annex and enjoyed our stay there. If you want a relaxed friendly hotel this is the one!

Room Tip: the Pavilion is nice on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#4 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Property: Hotel Galeon
Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing