We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel has been going down a little”
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel has been going down a little. There is a problem with the swimming pool : it used to be very nice, it now needs to be maintained (I.E. pictures with mold). Food is plentiful, but as a consequence, you find emptybottles and leftover waste food near the swimming pool. Rather dirty :( .
Rooms in the Pavilion have been recently updated but bathrooms have problems : water out of the shower, no shelves for storing your own stuffs, and no spanish bidé (usefull for washing bathsuites). Since the hotel used to be excellent, and remains dynamic :) , I hope they are going to work on these issues, especially concerning the pool (maybe some garbage around the pool could help, or maybe service could be organized differently around the pool ?... Up to you) . The pavillion access also needs to be secured at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabloflind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to our hotel and your opinions in tripadvisor. We have taken good note of your words and are going to take all necessary steps to deserve the usually good impression of our guests.
Please, be sure that all aspects mentioned in your mail will be contemplated and our best efforts will be dedicated to solve them.
We hope to have soon the possibility to welcome you in our hotel again and remain
Yours sincerely
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Galeon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in May for 7 nights. Room good, huge comfy bed, bathroom acceptable. Had a balcony to sit out on which was a bonus. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great idea of tea and cakes in the afternoon,sadly we only made it once as were always out between 3 and 6 pm. Breakfast choice huge and very varied, did not expect so much and it was always replenished quickly. Stayed in higher starred hotels and not had such a good breakfast as this was. Had a couple of evening buffets here, good value at 9.50 euros per head. Particularly enjoyed the meals at their sister hotel Platjador at the restaurant El Rincon de Pepe, food was excellent every time (went 3 times) and again very good value, compared to the rest of the restaurants along the sea front. Get wine included in the price if you are guests of the Galeon, which made it even better value.
Overall a very enjoyable stay which was better than anticipated. Would stay again if holidaying in Sitges, shame the car park is a bit expensive at 15 euros per day, we parked quite nearby on municipal car park considerably cheaper, although obviously not as convenient. Keep up the good work

Room Tip: I preferred the back of the hotel overlooking the pool as front overlooks a busy street and some hav...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We always try to spend a week in Sitges at the start of the season and try to book the Galeon when we can ( last year we were too late and stayed at El Cid which is a sister hotel and certainly worth more than the 1 star it has been given ) .

Galeon never disappoints - year on year you can depend on a clean room, clean beds, friendly staff and an awesome breakfast which sets you up for the whole day - we hardly ever bother with lunch ( they even have soya milk for those like me who have allergies ).

I have to say that the showers/bathrooms at the Pavilion are much better having been recently updated - and that would be my only gripe, its not really a complaint - upgraded bathrooms in the main hotel would be great.

The Galeon is always our first choice when we book - centrally located and just a few minutes walk from the train station - who could ask for more.

As long as the budget allows we hope to be back next year - thanks again to all the staff who make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: From a personal choice try to get a room in the Pavilion but only for the updated bathrooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you, high praise indeed! And a big thanks you for taking the time to post a review. It´s great to see at guests again, we will work as hard as we can, to see you next year keeping up with the effort and illusion for making your stay in SITGES unforgettable. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the best 3 star hotel in Spain that we have ever stayed in. Friendly, helpful staff, rooms are very comfortable and so many extras like free wifi, fridges, hairdryers, free safes, tea/coffee making facilities, afternoon tea/pastries. We stayed in the Pavillion Annexe in superior rooms, huge bed with memory foam mattress, so comfortable and nice bathroom with 'rain' massage shower. Great roof sun terrace with jacuzzi.The buffet breakfast is fantastic, so much choice and the buffet dinner for 9 euros50 is great value( good local wine only 5 euros a bottle in hotel restaurant). Great position in centre of town,5 mins to beach, station and stop for Mon bus to airport. We will def. be returning here, I suspect on a regular basis. This was our first time in Sitges but thanks to the 'Galeon' for such a wonderful stay. See you again soon !

Room Tip: book superior rooms in the pavillion annexe.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Wow, Thank you for the most wonderful review, its hosting people like yourselves, and indeed the vast majority of our guests, that make our job worthwhile!
Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Things have gone a bit downhill since last year
Quality of food at breakfast is really noticable
Towels need to go
Evening meal at 9.50 euros is good value
There is some noise from latenight revellers
Also night security is on door at night..there have been problems

Room Tip: Any really..most in pavillion are good
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clivebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your decission to visit our hotel one more time.
We are also very grateful for your kind comments and also for the constructive criticism about your last stay in our hotel. These comments will indeed help us to improve the quality of our services.
We understand that you are not very satisfied with the quality of our towels and are already working to provide our guests with adequate towels that would keep the expected softness and capacity of absortion.
You have realised the presence of night security in our Galeón Pavillion and suggest that there might have been problems of this kind. We want to reassure you that our new night porter is there to prevent this kind of problems before they happen and is not a reaction to them.
You also mention some latenight revellers noise. We are aware of this kind of problems and our night attendance is there to make all necessary efforts to keep our Galeón -Galeón Pavillion complex as quite as possible.
We really appreciate the time taken to report your visit in this site and want to assure our best efforts to keep taking all our guest's comments into serious consideration.
Again, thank you very much.
Yours sincerely
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This small hotel situated on a typical narrow Spanish street is an absolute jewel. The staff can not do enough for you, the rooms are spotless and the beds comfy. The breakfasts are absolutely incredible, so much choice you would not believe, and great quality. There is a small pool/Jacuzzi and seating area at the back. Stayed there in May for 6 nights bed and breakfast with a friend. The price for single occupancy of a double room was very reasonable. Recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sitges

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel at the back, overlooking the pool are quiet. There is an annex across a road...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britgalYorkshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here at the end of April and booked the superior double B&B.The hotel has a reputation for its breakfast and we found it to be one of the best we have had,from top quality continental to full English on offer.We stayed in the annexe which is at the rear of the hotel in a small quiet side street about two minutes away.The room was lovely with a massive bed and a superb bathroom and cleaned daily.You can see why this hotel is one best budget hotels in Spain.The staff were also very good and extremely helpful with there knowledge of the area and transport links to Barcelona.We stayed here for a week at the same cost of staying in Barcelona for three nights and as the station is 250m from the hotel we caught the train into Barcelona to see the sights for 15€ return.All in all a very good hotel situated in the town and only 10 minutes walk to the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor if you stay in the annexe.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are happy also for your appreciation of the Breakfast
It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay and we would welcome a return visit sometime in the future!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,870 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#4 of 40 in Sitges
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
1,061 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: $69 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing