We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just spent three nights at the Galeon...it was just perfect. The room was a good size, with a really comfy bed, excellent bathroom with fab shower and a great balcony. The breakfast is first class and the staff are so friendly and helpfull. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahambrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    344
    58
    19
    15
See reviews for
99
628
158
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omer
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed one night at this friendly hotel. The staff was helpful and the hotel is centrally located, It has a lift and the room was spacious. The breakfast was fabulous, one of the best we can remember. It offered a great variety of good quality and fresh products, topped with specialities as fish&mussels, pizza cookies and postres beutifully arranged on an ice bed. Even champagne was available.
However, if you are a driver you will have a severe problem to find a parking place nearby, as the hotel is centrally located. After several trials we gave up, and following the advice of the hotel staff found a place in a more distant, residential area. A parking garage near the hotel costs almost as the lodging. A parking arrangement of the hotel would have been a great help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerOmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Galeon from March 13-20 and thoroughly enjoyed most of the experience. The hotel took a little getting used to - we stayed in the annexe across the road, reached through the back gate of the hotel and a short walk down the road or for the less mobile who do not like steps a short walk around the block. Breakfast was served in the main hotel, so that required the return trip.
The annexe, which housed the superior rooms, was clean and tidy while the room was comfortable if a little dated. We had free tea and coffee, free internet and our room, 603, had a small patio area. Being in the middle of town we thought it might be noisy, but that was not the case though it may be different in the summer.
There were only a few residents in the annexe apart from the Saturday night when a fairly large party stayed. That was very noisy around 2.30 in the morning when they returned from their night out as it was impossible to close the room doors without slamming them.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with fresh squeezed orange juice included. The bread was brilliant and the eggs, bacon, tomatoes, sausages, baked beans etc of a good standard and generally hot. For those who prefer continental there was an excellent choice too. Afternoon tea and cakes from 3pm is also provided.
The hotel offered a buffet meal for 9 euros on the Friday and Saturday which was good value and dinner at the sister hotel on the promenade, the Platjador, was available to guests most nights at 14 euros which included a glass of cava. We also used the Platjador roof terrace some days which is protected from the winds and offers drinks at reasonable prices.
This was our first trip to Sitges and we liked both the town with its narrow streets, bars, restaurants and shops while the promenade was also pleasant and a walk up to the harbour for a coffee rewarding.
The return train fare into Barcelona is 7.20 euros with a choice of stations at which to alight. We did both the orange and green routes on the Red buses over two days paying 26 euros boooking beforehand on the internet. The green route took in the city with its beautiful architecture while the orange route went to the outskirts and included the Nou Camp and Olympic Stadium. We thought the service reasonable value, but take hat, scarf and gloves if you go in March and want to sit upstairs!
There are plenty of Menu Del Dia restaurants at the harbour for around 10 euros (three courses) and we found these excellent value sitting in the sun in the sheltered areas. Las Ramblas and the cathedral area were extremely busy and beware of pickpockets - I kept my money in my shoe!
The day we arrived the rain was torrential but after that it remained dry and on several days there was not a cloud in the sky. Even so the wind was always fresh so shorts were not required!
A word for easyjet. This was the first package holiday we have booked with the company and at under £300 each including flights, hotel and transfers was great value. We were a little worried about the transfers but these went like clockwork in a smart transit and with a considerate driver.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derrick_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges and Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltash
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was lovely very helpful staff from the front desk to the cleaning ladies. The breakfast was the best I have eaten with fresh food being brought out all the time, served until 12 noon its like having brunch. the rooms were clean and tidy and serviced every day. The hotel is situated in the town with lots of local shops, a short walk to the beach, the train station is near by and the bus that takes you to and from the airport is also only a short walk. should I return to Sitges I should stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltashcornishmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013


I heard a lot about Galeon Hotel, As I lived in Sitges, moved away, i wanted to book there,
I didn't expect such an exellent value,, 36 euros a night 1 person in March, via internet,
charming staff (All of them, from restaurant service to desk, and cleaning lady) The best is the breakfast served till 12h ! It is really a brunch.. Teh hotel is in the earth of Sitges. I totally reommend the Galeon !
Just internet wifi is a bit slow for me,, but I'm demanding in that matter !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you very much for having found time to write a review of Hotel Galeon of Sitges. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my sister and elderly mother and I couldn’t have chosen better. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and happy to sort out any problems. When we arrived I wasn’t happy with my room, not the hotels fault just the horrible weather. I was immediately moved to another room which was perfect, what more could you ask. The breakfast was so varied there was choice for every taste. Food was topped up fresh throughout breakfast; amazing. The hotel is perfectly situated for the local shops and only a short walk to the beach. Overall, it was the friendly and attentive staff which made our stay more memorable. If I ever go back to Sitges, I would definitely stay at the Galeón.

Room Tip: I was in room 208 and it looked out over the pool and back garden which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you very much for having found time to write a review, it's certainly much appreciated. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in the superior accommodation, which is across the road from the main hotel. (Out the back-door, past the swimming pool and exit left through the large wooden gates). Wonderful king-size bed with pillow choice, (drifted off on the large square one!). Black-out curtains which for me, who likes total darkness at night, wonderful! Power shower. Tea, coffee replenished every day and bed made.

Although I didn't stay out late, Breakfast is served until 12 and a wonderful choice, as well as evening meals for less than 10Euro, so there's no need to go looking for a place to eat. HIgh Tea is still a feature of this hotel with tea & cakes!

The Galeon staff really care about the guests and nothing is too much trouble. As my flight from Reus was early, meaning a stay in Reus overnight, leaving a day early, I was even asked if 'anything was wrong?'

Would recommend flying into Barcelona rather than Reus, as the Spanish Rail system, although efficient is not easy for an English only speaker, like me to understand! However all Spanish people are more than happy to help you get the right train! There are many trains from Barcelona to Sitges, but from Reus you have to change.

My day in Barcelona was rather spoilt as it was cold and drizzly, however Barcelona Sans Rail Station has an Information board familar to English, so you can't g wrong!

Can't wait to come back in the summer, use the pool, the jacuzzi, the lovely Sitges beach and expore more of the area.

Room Tip: Fly into Barcelona Airport rather than Reus as Sitges is connected more easily by rail than Reus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, it's certainly appreciated! We would love to have you come and stay with us again, thank you for your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#4 of 38 in Sitges
887 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 38 in Sitges
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 38 in Sitges
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Property: Hotel Galeon
Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing