We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Three star hotel with five star touches"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“"Three star hotel with five star touches"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have to admit I was influenced by positive previous previews when I booked this hotel. I was not disappointed. Got bus direct from Airport Terminal 2 to Sitges. Journey time about half an hour. The Hotel Galeon is about five minutes walk from bus stop. It is centrally located in the bustling little town itself and the walk to the seafront and stunning promenade is a very short distance.

From the moment I entered this hotel I felt it welcoming me. During my stay I met three different members of male staff and each one was as friendly, courteous, and efficient as the previous.

The room my husband and I stayed in is in the hotel itself, and was over looking a busy little street. It was lovely to listen to the babble of the people passing by in the evenings and I felt really close to the atmosphere of the little town. If you desire total peace and quiet, however, ask for a room overlooking the pool or in their rooms across the road which I believe are really quiet. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day and an magnetic door sign was yours to place outside your room when you wanted it to be serviced or left undisturbed. Also thank you to the cleaning lady who carefully folded my negligee on my bed each day.

The facility to avail of beach towels for a €20 refundable deposit on return, was absolutely invaluable.

Another very unusual and unbelievable addition to the bathroom was the little washing line over the bath - invaluable! The only one quibble I would have, and feel rather bad saying this, was the lack of shelving space by the sink. A small detail that could be easily rectified.

Previous reviewers raving about the breakfast are not jesting. This is an incredible buffet with a huge selection of foods, cakes, drinks, etc. to suit all tastes. However, the best aspect of breakfast for me was the fact that they served it up till 12 noon. How lovely to have a walk along the promenade before breakfast and not to be rushing down to eat by 10.00 a.m. like most hotels demand. After all most people are eating out late at night and are not ready to eat a breakfast too early. Their fresh orange juice is delicious and if one really wanted to indulge there was a bottle of Cava on ice for the discerning guest. Their selection of pastries and cakes proved too great for my will power and I succumbed to their allure every morning much to my waistlines distress!!! Their is a lovely selection of fruit, however, for the more disciplined!

There is a small swimming pool in a charming courtyard and this is a lovely place to sit down with a book or your complimentary afternoon tea and yes more cake choice!!

We eat the buffet meal one night and it was extremely good value for €9.50 and the bottle of wine to accompany this only cost €5. Went out the other nights because I do love to sample local bars and restaurants which are numerous in this resort.

I was nearly forgetting to mention the little library room beside reception. Once again a lovely touch with a nice selection of books to while away the hours sitting in the foyer or in the courtyard.

Lastly on the final day of our stay, as is normal, we had to vacate our room by 12 noon but, as in some hotels, one never felt of "no fixed abode" whiling away the hours before heading off for the departure flight. The staff were still as courteous as our day of arrival. We left our cases in a little room, strolled the promenade, had a swim, lunch and then came back to the Galeon for afternoon tea and sat in the Courtyard until it was sadly time to depart for our bus to the airport.

It's the little things in life that always count and I can only sum this up as a womderful three star hotel with five star touches.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyBrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, it's certainly appreciated! Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    329
    57
    18
    14
See reviews for
96
606
149
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in rooms that were a block away, apparently as part of the hotel. When we checked in there was blood on the bathroom wall which was unfortunate. The staff managed the situation professionally and cleaned it but not something one likes seeing when checking in.

Other than that the beds are huge and comfortable, it is a reasonable price and near the main town, and they had the best breakfast we had in all of Europe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking some time to give your opinion about the hotel. It will greatly help us to improve our services.

We have read all your comments with great attention and are very concerned about the incident with the spots on the walls that you mention in your feedback.

We can only say that the walls had been recently painted in a reddish-maroon colour. Our maintenance team carries out a constant review of the state of the rooms. This means that we have to paint the walls quite often. Unfortunately, in this occasion our staff did not remove some dropped spots of paint from the tiles and walls of your room.

We are very sorry and can only apologize for any inconvenience our lack of attention may have caused.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you in the nearest future and remain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Every member of staff in this hotel was friendly and efficient. Waiters, cleaners, reception staff all perfect. The breakfast was excellent. The evening meal is really good value, if not quite top class. However, you won't find an evening meal for 9,50€ of equivalent quality anywhere else in Sitges.

We requested a balcony on booking and the request was fulfilled. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Adequate toiletries were provided and the free wifi performed perfectly. A safe was available in the room, many hotels charge for this too. Not the most amazing hotel room I have ever stayed in, but for the price it was most definitely the best value.

If you don't expect the moon but you want good value and excellent service at a good price, then the Galeon is perfect!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaton sluice
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This great little hotel has everything our second stay and won't be the last. I experienced an allergic reaction on last wednesday during the early hours reception called an ambulance and handled the emergency with calm and proffessionalism for which I thank them immensely.All the staff are really helpfull and full of information.Breakfasts ab fab and service to rooms immaculate. Thank you so much again

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarensSeatonSluice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you, high praise indeed! And a big thanks you for taking the time to post a review. It´s great to see at guests again, we will work as hard as we can, to see you next year keeping up with the effort and illusion for making your stay in SITGES unforgettable. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from yet another great stay in Sitges. Having stayed many times at the Galeon's (more expensive) sister hotel the Platja D'Or we weren't sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised at the consistency of the levels of service between the 2 hotels - friendly staff, great breakfast, good rooms. It's well situated for the railway station and not too far to the beach.

A nice touch is the welcome complimentary cava to be had at the 5th floor bar at the Platja D'Or - a great vantage point.

The hotel is split between 2 blocks, one across the road with superior rooms accessed via the real pool area from the main building. We stayed in the annexe (Pavillion) - the rooms had been refurbished to a high standard with power showers and safes and the mattresses were good quality. Breakfast was as usual plentiful and varied with the addition of freshly squeezed orange juice this year at no charge which was welcome - its also served til 12.00. The hotel has recently introduced afternoon tea which many reviewers commented on and also an evening buffet for 9.95 euros - we didn't try this as prefer to linger over dinner and be served in a local restaurant - feedback from other guests was however very favourable.

What we did find was that this hotel is more sociable than its seafront sister hotel and we made lots of new friends because of the open plan nature of the reception and the pool area. Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We chose a room in the annexe - these are rooms which have recently been upgraded and have the benef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
It was a pleasure to be able to host you and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Sitges.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, it's certainly much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well.. what can I say? A lovely hotel, what a great find. So wish I had stayed here last year!
Easy to find, great location, about a 5 min walk from the train station.
Check in was efficient, the guy on the desk was lovely and helpful.
I was given room 206, at the back of the hotel, overlooking the pool area. I had requested a quite room,... and that was what I got!
My room was clean, bright and nicely furnished, The bathroom was clean and tidy too. A nice comfy double bed too.
The safe in the room is free, you just need to put down a small deposit. You can also have a towel for the beach for free... just a deposit to pay, which is returned when you return the towel.
A nice mix of people staying there, young and old, gay and straight.
As mentioned a lot during the reviews.. the breakfast is outstanding. There is just so much to chose from. The afternoon tea that is supplied for free, is a nice touch too!
Thank you to everyone at the Galeon, I will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back seem to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Wow, thank you for your review and wonderful comments we're very appreciative. We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is situated on a fairly quiet street, near the Mon (airport) bus drop-off point and near the train station......both locations an easy walk from the hotel. It's a five minute walk to the beach and the hotel is surrounded by shops and restaurants. The buffet breakfast served in the hotel is huge and very good. I ate dinner here one night and that meal was also very good and a good value. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank lchitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#8 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 40 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Property: Hotel Galeon
Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing