We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Galeon Sitges”
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Fabulous Breakfast. The evening meal which consisted of a buffet at €9.50 pp was excellent value. Very clean and comfortable room with huge comfortable bed and soft pillows (extra pillow and blankets if required) but with air-con which was silent and very effective. Perfect and welcoming after a hot day on beach or after a warm evening walking around Sitges. The rooms and bathroom were spotloss and the reception were helpfull and very professional and friendly. We cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough. Located very well for the beach and decent and budget eateries. Ideal for everyone. Ho yeah! the pool and garden is a perfect place to relax in. But don't forget the free afternoon tea and cakes in the lounge in the afternoon. Wish I had shares in this Hotel ....!!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel on the third floor and there was some street noise but did no...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryIlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Galeon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

This Hotel is gay friendly, centrally located and convenient to everything in Sitges. I stayed here for four nights In August and thought this Hotel was excellent. This is a smaller property and has a relaxing atmosphere. The Hotel has a swimming pool with open outside shower, tables, chairs and lounges surrounding. All the staff are friendly, attentive and have excellent knowledge of the area. The breakfast buffet option is extensive and the Hotel also offers a dinner menu. The room had simple comfortable decor, ample closet space and a safe for valuables. The bed in my room was very comfortable. Rooms are cleaned daily. The room A/C worked perfectly as did the free wi-fi in the room and throughout the Hotel. There were many nice touches to this Hotel such as: afternoon tea, comfortable sitting areas in the lobby, free use of beach umbrellas and beach towels (with a deposit). Vincent and Caesar at the front desk are knowledgeable and wonderful hosts. I highly recommend the Galeon Hotel. If you need to stay closer to the beach the Hotel also has an affiliated hotel (Hotel Platajor) that is across from the beach and that I visited while i was in Sitges. I found the staff at this affiliated hotel to also be very friendly. I spoke with some of the guests while having drinks at the bar and they expressed high regard for this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor in the main building and it overlooked a rooftop, however, the roofto...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotravlr45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

It was a pleasure to be able to host you and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Sitges.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, it's certainly much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel in the centre of Sitges is a wonderful experience! Real value for money! Nice spacious air-conditioned rooms with clean ensuites, a swimming pool, a lot of rooms with balcony, a fabulous breakfast buffet, open till noon (included in the price!) with a range of cold and hot snacks and dishes, even cava! Very friendly staff and also an evening buffet for about €10. They also provide free afternoon tea in the lobby. Situated in the heart of the town, near all the shops and a short walk from the promenade. A hotel you can safely advise to other people!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the best are the ones with vue over the pool, or the rooms in the annexe bu...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

When we first arrived at the Galeon after a long day, my initial impression was "Number 1 hotel in Sigtes? Surely not". Our room looked quite dated and though it had a big balcony, it overlooked a noisy streeet. Anyway, after a good night's sleep, I politely asked Reception if we could change rooms to one at the back of the hotel. This was no problem and we got a room at the pool side which whilst it didn't have a balcony nor any view, suited us better. But if the rooms were rather average, I absolutely loved breakfast and (don't tell my gym trainer) couldn't resist a glass of cava and Danish pastry every morning. Honestly, if someone struggled to find something nice to eat from the buffet, there must be something wrong with them. Huge choice (healthy or otherwise), constantly replenished and available from first thing until noon. Other than that, I liked the nice pool area with its loungers, trees for shade and general relaxing ambience.

And that's what makes the Galeon special and I can see why people return and return again. Ok, so it's not the most stylish, flashy, 'all mod cons' establishment but the staff are consistently helpful and polite and overall it's a really homely, clean and comfy place to stay whether for 1 night, or in our case, 10.

Others have mentioned the 5th floor bar at the sister hotel, Platja D'or, and I urge you to go there, not just for the free drink but simply because it's really nice and again, the staff were lovely. If that same space was in Ibiza or similar, it would be promoted to the hilt with prices to match. Not the case here, drinks were really reasonable.

If you fancy doing something a little different one evening in Sitges, look out for the cultural events on certain dates. (You'll find details in a little brochure available at the Tourist Office or at some of the museums.) For just 20EUR each, we enjoyed 2 open air concerts at the Musea Romantica; one a jazz trio and the other a selection of opera classics sung by 2 tenors and soprano. A glass of cava (yes another!) was included along with a look around the museum if you wished.

So, back to the Galeon. Is it the number 1 hotel in Sitges? Well, it's an understated, unassuming little place and all the better for it. We liked it very much, would have no hesitation in returning and recommending it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WendsPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for the most wonderful review, its hosting people like yourselves, and indeed the vast majority of our guests, that make our job worthwhile!
Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Hotel Galeon. From the complimentary wifi to the provision (for a deposit) of parasol/beach towels, every need was looked for. The rooms were great (with the biggest beds I've ever seen). The rooms were very clean, and very ample instructions were given. We didn't take advantage, but a very reasonable dinner was offered, as well as afternoon tea!! The pool area looked great and something of an afternoon sun trap. The "superior" room that we stayed in was quiet, and had a small balcony. The only minor criticism was the noise from the air conditioning at night, which was very loud, but essential, so we had a bit of a dilemma!! We would absolutely stay again and highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the road!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graemes1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words and for posting them on Tripadvisor.
We get a lot of pleasure out of helping the terrific people that we host, to ensure that their stay in Sitges is the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wow - what another wonderful stay at The Galeon and it keeps improving year after year. Last year the hotel rooms had been redecorated and they offered afternoon tea. This year they've replaced the charges for the security box (which I think should be standard in a hotel) and also now offer free WIFI (another service I feel all hotels should offer for free) and they now do an evening buffet which is absolutely wonderful and value for money. The staff are as helpful and friendly as ever, air con great, bed's comfy - another top stay at Galeon and I will most certainly visit again. A true gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you, high praise indeed! And a big thanks you for taking the time to post a review. It´s great to see at guests again, we will work as hard as we can, to see you next year keeping up with the effort and illusion for making your stay in SITGES unforgettable. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

There are some great features to this hotel: central location; excellent staff; afternoon tea; quiet pool area; breakfast and cleanliness. These were consistent with my previous stay. What was a bonus though is that there have been additional services added: free safety box; free wi-fi in rooms as well as in reception; excellent value for money evening buffet (3 courses for e9.95). These all added to a great holiday.

Having stayed before and seen my mate's rooms, it's clear that there is a diverse range of room types (the room I had last year was huge and in the Pavilion so was quiet...this year I was in the main building right by the lift and my bathroom was across the hall - yet I paid the same price). Equally some rooms don't have external views. I would like a more transparent booking process so it doesn't feel like pot-luck when you check in...

Overall though another great week at the Galeon; and in Sitges.

Room Tip: Pavilion rooms are quieter...and ask for a room away from the lift as it is VERY noisy!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dairylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you, high praise indeed! And a big thanks you for taking the time to post a review. It´s great to see at guests again, we will work as hard as we can, to see you next year keeping up with the effort and illusion for making your stay in SITGES unforgettable. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,870 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#4 of 40 in Sitges
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
1,062 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: $69 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing