We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Stay”
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Galeon
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We really enjoyed our 7 night stay at the Galeon. We had a lovely standard room (312) with a balcony. We had booked a superior room for some of our stay but we were so happy with our room we decided to stay there. The staff were very friendly. The breakfasts were fabulous. The pool area was never crowded (there were 12 people at the pool on the day we left) so it was very relaxing. The complimentary afternoon tea in the lobby was a nice touch as the standard rooms don't have tea-making facilities. It is really great to be able to get breakfast up to midday- you never feel you have to rush out of bed in the mornings. It was lovely to be able to use the beautiful rooftop bar at the Galeon's sister hotel, the Platjador, on the sea-front. We went there every evening and also ate at the hotel as they offered an excellent 3 course meal (for residents of these hotels) for a very reasonable €14. The Galeon has a very convenient location in the centre of town near the train station. It is a short 10 minute walk to the beach. We had a late flight home and our luggage was stored with no fuss and we were told we were welcome to use the pool area until it was time to leave. We felt very welcome at this hotel and would really recommend it. We plan to return to either this hotel or the Platjador in the future.

Room Tip: If you have a standard room 311 and 312 have balconies and pool views. I presume 211 and 212 have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidandPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

As other reviews have said, this Hotel is absolutely superb. It offers such value for money but the main thing about this Hotel is the Staff who make you feel welcome and want to come back again - that we will certainly do next year and for a longer period. All the facilities are first class, the pool area was ideal with some shade at all times for those that need it, it is a lovely and quiet setting, so peaceful and relaxing. Long may this Hotel continue - please do not change it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike499511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

WOW, thank you, high praise indeed! So glad you enjoyed your stay here, and a big thank you for taking the time to post a review. We would love to have you stay with us again, sometime in the future. In the meantime, take care of yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I've stayed at many hotels in Sitges, and this must have been one of the best, and definitely the best value for money. Room was nicely appointed, with a very comfortable bed - a double for single use which is always a bonus. Location in San Francisco is great - and with the windows closed there was little noise from outside and the very discreet aircon kept the room at an appropriate temperature. Breakfast buffet was copious and having it available till midday is great in a late night place like Sitges. Some of the common parts could do with a freshen up but that's hardly a major issue.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated. We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Hotel great as usual,back of pavillion now overlooks bar,cafe
Can be noisy in afternoon/evening
No siesta!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel over Easter 2011. After reading the reviews already on here I decided to go ahed and book this hotel for my trip. After arriving at the hotel I was very walmy welcomed by the gentleman on reception. The hotel is typically Spanish. I had booked a superior room, and the was located in the annexe of the hotel, the Galeon Pavillion. This was located at the rear of the main building, you have to walk through the pool area, and through a back gate. Once getting the the Pavilion you have to press a buzzer to gain access to the building. Although this part of the hotel is not manned by a physical member of staff, this feature made me feel very secure as the they would only let you in if they recognised you as a guest of the hotel.

I was given a single room which was slightly on the small side. It was quite a narrow but long room. Only staying for 4 nights this was more than adequate. If i was staying for any longer it may become a slight bit claustrophobic. The room also had a fair sized balcony, including chairs, a table, and an umbrella. There is also a PC with free internet located just in the lobby of the Pavilion building. This is a very nice feature, as more than often you have to pay for internet access on a pc.

The breakfast at the Galeon Hotel was excellent. The variety, and quality is second to none. As other report, there was always cava available, although after a night out, this isn't perhaps the first thing on my mind whilst nursing a hangover! There was everything and anything you could possibly expect for breakfast, even alcoholic cocktails! The staff at the hotel were also very attentive. Any question I had, they had the answer straight away. Even the room maids always said 'Hola', and always with a big smile, which always makes me feel welcome in a hotel.

The location of the Galeon Hotel (and Pavilion) are excellent. Very close to the train station, and very close to all the shops and amenities. Sitges itself is quite small and compact, so most hotels in the town are very well located. I was most impressed with this hotel and I've already booked a return trip for August. I can't wait!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank five_star49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! You are right, in the Pavillón building we don´t let anybody come inside without being identified in hotel reception. We enjoyed your company very much and would love to see you return in the future, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Recently stayed at the Hotel Galeon in Sitges, Spain for 3 nights. Arrived early for a cruise out of Barcelona and decided to stay in Sitges. The hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to the ocean, train, restuarants, shopping. We were impressed with the large room and a King size bed. The price was also very reasonable. The breakfast was bountiful. Afternoon tea was a nice touch. Staff was friendly. The only thing was the airconditioning was not cold enough and you had no control adjuisting the temperature, other wise I highly recommend staying at this Hotel. My husband and I would definitely return if I find myself in Sitges again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherined55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you very much for having found time to write a review of Hotel Galeón of Sitges. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Centrally located hotel, five minute walk from sea front. If you arrive by train or bus from the airport, don’t worry about a taxi, hotel 2 or 3 minute walk. We stayed in a ‘superior room’ which was situated in a separate block, across the road (can seem a little daunting when checking in, dragging your suitcases across the pool area and out through a gate - but absolutely fine once you’re settled in). The room was fine, enormous bed, large fridge, air conditioning, small shaded balcony, modern bathroom with excellent shower. Housekeeping excellent. As other reviews have stated, the buffet breakfasts are quite stunning, in fact we ate so much each morning that we only required one more meal each day! Free wi-fi in reception areas and some rooms. Hotel staff spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. You may read that Sitges is a ‘gay resort’ and there are certainly many gay couples in the town and hotel – but also many families and straight couples too, so don’t be put off if you’re not gay!!! We loved the atmosphere in the hotel and town – very friendly and great fun. Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChameleonSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 40 in Sitges
952 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 40 in Sitges
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Business Hotel in Sitges
#8 Family Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: $65 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing