We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money hotel”
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“value for money hotel”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

spent three nights here in a superior pool room.glad we paid extra for this.air con .small fridge and very large double bed.well worth extra.staff very friendly and welcoming.little extras like chilled lemon juice in reception all day.the breakfast is even better than before with bacon eggs and sausages now.the hotel is a little dated but this is its charm and keeps the prices down and for sitges is very reasonable.very central .close to everything.cannot fault it really .dont excpect luxury and you will not be dissapointed.p.s the roof terrace at the hotel platjador was lovely as were the bar staff.best view in sitges.

Room Tip: pay extra for superior pool rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    309
    78
    25
    8
See reviews for
47
330
179
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The staff was great, very clean, confortable room and breakfast were excellent (until 12). The location is perfect to go to the beach, go to restaurants or nightlife.
El Cid is great value for money and shouldn't try to change a thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lauragarcise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just came back from a week at this hotel and i have to agree with all the great reviews, how it's only 1 star i'll never know, maybe they refuse to bribe spanish hotel inspectors.

Central to everything, 5 minutes walk from Sitges train station with connections to Barcelona & Airport every 20 mins from early until late 7 days a week.

The hotel is what i would describe as "rustic" which just adds to it's appeal.
Rooms are cleaned daily, have air con but aren't huge. It's located in a quiet street so no noisey bars opposite and easy to find off the main road. The staff speak English (some better than others) are very friendly and helpful when asking questions.
The Free working Wi Fi was a god send if you don't want to rack up massive phone charges!

Breakfast was from 0700 - 1200 and exceptional given the hotel rating, i've had a worse selection in 4&5 star hotels!
This was my first time to Sitges and i'm glad i opted to stay here, i can't imagine you get much sleep before 0400 staying at any beach front hotel. Be warned Sitges is expensive in the tourist areas and especially on the beach. Buy your food & drink from supermarkets there and take it with you to the beach. It's also cheaper to buy a parasol from the chinese supermarket on the main road than pay 7 euros on the beach every day.

Sitges is poplular with gay tourists so don't be supprised to see same sex couples strolling arm in arm etc and the gay bars are exteamely vibrant. However be aware of pickpockets in bars and bag snatchers on the beach.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies. Rooms facing the pool and street have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I booked a double/twin room with balcony. I chose the hotel based on its low price and excellent reviews. We were allocated a room on the ground floor facing the pool. We were two adults sharing and my first impression was that the room felt a little bit cramped with a double bed and a single bed in a small space. However we settled in fine and found that the room had everything we wanted - comfortable beds, powerful shower, effective air-conditioning, reliable free wi-fi, a fridge and TV. The breakfast buffet served until 12 each day was excellent and far exceeded my expectations. After 7 days I was left with impression that woking within the confines of an old building with small rooms the management really care about the hospitality they offer. The whole property was very clean and well maintained, everything worked and was well thought out. We had a very relaxed and happy stay. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are small so definitely choose a room with a balcony. The balconies facing the street would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

just got back after a week there lovely hotel great staff comfortable rooms excellent breakfast very welcome air conditioning usefull free wi-fi welcoming glass of cava at it's sister hotel on the front with rooftop lounge going back in sept.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, believe me when I say that it's really appreciated.
It was a pleasure to host you....all the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was our first time at El Cid, and it won't be the last. We can't fault this hotel. The staff, cleanliness, pool area, breakfast, were all excellent. El Cid is great value for money and shouldn't try to change a thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rintintin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it on Tripadvisor.
Take care and we hope to see you next time you’re in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed for a week 5th to 12th July, everything about this 1* hotel is great, Friendly staff, great pool, clean towels and room cleaned every day and Breakfast served until midday, the hotel is a bit dated but spotlessly clean and and has free wifi throughout,have booked to go back in June 2015

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, it worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 38 in Sitges
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 38 in Sitges
2,394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Property: Hotel El Cid
Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing