We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improving year by year!”
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Improving year by year!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have just returned home today from El Cid, after spending two weeks there again, for the third straight year.
We liked this hotel very much before also, but it keeps improving each year. Now wifi is available in the rooms also, which is a big plus, and it works well, Also firdges have been implemented in the rooms, and the tvs have also been changed.
The staff is really friendly and helpful, the rooms are basic, but nice and clean (our room was cleaned each day, even if we didn't asked it), breakfast is great, and the location is also almost perfect.
I can't wait to be back next June, thank you again for making our stay this nice!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you, high praise indeed! And a big thanks you for taking the time to post a review. It´s great to see at guests again, we will work as hard as we can, to see you next year keeping up with the effort and illusion for making your stay in SITGES unforgettable. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    303
    75
    23
    6
See reviews for
47
316
176
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

ist time here, definately be back...small hotel, only 1 star but better than higher starred hotels, free wi fi throughout, excellent breakfast, very friendly staff, central location, double and single beds in room, air con and ceiling fan in room, fridge, nice balcony.....already planning to return next year

Room Tip: pool side are quieter than main rd, need close doors to block out street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We would love to have you come and stay with us again, thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

From the moment we checked in to our departure we were more than happy with our choice of accommodation as we were unsure of what to expect being a one star hotel. The reception staff were excellent, helpful and informative and our room was very bright and clean. We were on the street side of the buiding but once the balcony doors were closed we didn't hear a sound and the air con unit was also very silent.
Breakfast suprised us as we expected a basic minimum, instead we had a massive choice of pastries, juices, coffee and teas, bread, bacon, egg, sausage etc etc etc, it was great.
We certainly would stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poplarjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and kind remarks.
Just think, I " have " to eat that breakfast every day, life can be sooo hard!
Take care and we hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

A group of 4 ladies who wanted a resort not too far from Barcelona. We were a little unsure about booking a 1* hotel but the reviews on here were really good so we decided to go for it. We flew home yesterday and I can confirm that all the great reviews are accurate. It's a good value for money hotel. Pluses included a fridge in the room, superb buffet breakfast available till noon, friendly staff and free wi fi throughout hotel. It is a little dated but characterful. We had rooms with balconies overlooking the street which were good for people watching. All spotlessly clean and towels changed daily. Close to all amenities. Handy for buses, train station, bars, restaurants and beach. All 4 of us loved our first visit to Sitges and to El Cid. It won't be our last. The airport bus is another plus. Costs €6 each way and is quicker than the train. If you do come by train and intend to have trips to Barcelona etc, buy a T10 ticket for €10. This gives you 10 journeys and can be used on trains, buses and metro. Not airport bus though. Avoid Splash Travel if you arrange transfers. We paid £142 through Travel Republic for a return 7 seater car and at Barcelona airport we were told they would not take us as they didn't have our booking. This was despite me having all the correct paperwork and a ref number. We ended up travelling by train and getting to the hotel at midnight on a Sunday. When contacted the next day they told me to complain through my travel agent and hung up. For a great value meal try the Galleon hotel. Fab buffet dinner for € 10 pp and bottle of house wine for €5. It's part of the same group. Use your voucher for a glass of cava at a 3rd hotel in the group, overlooking the sea. Fab 5th floor bar with those sea views. Final word - don't miss out on El Cid or this resort. After that dodgy start we had a fab time!

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a balcony room. We were on the 1st floor which was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valeriejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Wow!!!, thank you for your review and wonderful comments we're very appreciative.
We would love to see you back here again in the future.
Thank you again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just back from Sitges and a stay at El Cid, The hotel remains fantastic value with good amenities and a great breakfast. With very helpful and friendly staff. Its good to stay somewhere you know will be good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Given the price and star rating of this hotel, it surpassed my expectations by far. I had booked their most basic room type as this was the only one left on a busy weekend - while it had only an inside window and was rather dark, the room was spacious with a large double bed and en suite bathroom. The service from all staff I encountered was great, and they genuinely seemed eager to please. The icing on the cake was the peaceful pool area and the great breakfast buffet - again, surpassed my expectations. Handy location for train station, beach and centre of town. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if coming back to Sitges.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank paulmccbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and kind comments.
We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations as that is our aim.

Take care and continue to enjoy life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very close to everything, and a most friendly and helpfull staff. The rooms are small but ok. Bathroom is ok, and they offer clean towells every day. Breakfast, as well as the coffee that comes with it, is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Bjarne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Property: Hotel El Cid
Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing