We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit”
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited the El Cid again in May 2013 for a week. Booked a superior pool room this time to sample the improvements. What you get extra is a walk in modern power shower, extra comfy mattresses and a fridge. Very comfortable accommodation although there was a lot of noise the week we were there. There have been other improvements at the El Cid. Breakfast now has an extensive range of hot and cold items, including eggs, bacon, sausage and beans..so you can fill your boots. The bar area is now attached to reception, so someone is always on hand to serve you drinks. Everything else is as my other reviews, a great hotel to stay in Sitges.

Room Tip: book a superior pool room for extra comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonH2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, it's certainly appreciated! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 954 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have stayed many times at El Cid, it is always great value combined with fantastic staff and a great location and of course a good breakfast, ( no other meals served). Recent improvements to room facilities have also made a great addition to the already existing great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for the most wonderful review, its hosting people like yourselves, and indeed the vast majority of our guests, that make our job worthwhile!
Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have stayed at the El Cid several times. When ever we have a problem we have created ourselves the staff are really helpful in helping us find a solution. Like the most recent visit when I turned up with a locked suitcase to find the keys were at home on the kitchen table! If we have any issues with anything in the hotel (which is rare) it is quickly resolved by staff who are very helpful and do all they can. Its not the Ritz, and it doesnt have the all the latest fixtures and fittings but what they do have works,the beds,linen, towels etc are very fresh and clean.Lovely pool. The hotel/room etc is clean and we think real value for money. Location wise it suits us 100% being right where we end our nights in bars in the next street.

Room Tip: we like any of the rooms which overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBathBath_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you very much for having found time to write a review of Hotel El Cid of Sitges. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having read the reviews for the El Cid, we booked our stay through "Late Rooms" for a last minute 5 night stay. The hotel is perfectly located for the train station, the Mon-Bus and for walking into town. There are many plus points for the El Cid, including the buffet style breakfast (which offers both a hot and cold selection) from 08:00 until 12:00, free wifi in public areas, free internet access in the reception area and room cleaning service, with fresh towels daily. There is also a bar which is open until midnight.

One little negative - we booked a "superior" room and would have assumed this would give a balcony with a view (either street or pool), unfortunately this was not the case and our balcony overlooked the back of another building. We did however have free wifi, which I don't think all rooms have. In future, would ask for a room with a view.

Overall this hotel is much better than it's 1* rating, Tony and the other staff are a great help and are always more than happy to help. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMKB0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you very much for having found time to write a review, it's certainly much appreciated. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having stayed in sitges many times in apartments I thought i would save some money and go budget this time with the expectation that I would have to make allowances for this . However I could not be more surprised at the great value el cid had to offer.

The team are fantastic at looking after you and making you feel special whether it was first thing in the morning or late in the night nothing was too much trouble they really are a credit to the hotel.

We took a pool view room which was clean , and all the basic needs for a holiday including a fridge which you normally would not get in a hotel . The bed linen was modern and fresh with a comfortable mattress.

The pool area although small was great to get to know other guests and kept the small charm the hotel has in general which would be a shame to lose as so many hotels become ultra modern and sleek .

We ate breakfast every morning as they served until midday which was great if you had been out on the town the night before . The variety of food included was great given it was included in the cost. Even with a glass of cava if you needed a hair of the dog .

The Wifi is avaiable but only in reception and also the reading/meeting lounge but again great as you get to know other guests .

The hotel also has sister hotels where you can pick up evening meals which we tried and again great value and friendly service.

I will be definitely visiting El Cid again they just need to make sure my room 229 is available.

Thank you El Cid for exceeding my expecations and making it one of my best holidays in Sitges yet

Room Tip: 229 pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, it's certainly appreciated! We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations as that is our aim. We're also very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just back from holiday in Sitges and my girlfriend and I stayed in the Hotel El Cid. Its a really handy hotel. Only a few minutes walk from the train station and the beach. The rooms are clean ( we had a room overlooking the pool ) and fresh towels every day. The breakfast is good ( buffet style with cereals/ fruits/ meats /cheeses/ breads etc )and the staff are really nice. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a good clean hotel in Sitges. A big thank you to Tony for all the advice and a map of Barcelona / info on metro stations.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rincewind71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and for posting them on Tripadvisor.
We get a lot of pleasure out of helping the terrific people that we host, to ensure that their stay in Sitges is the best it can be.
We look forward to seeing you back here another time.
Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have just returned from a week at El Cid. A great hotel for what I paid staff on the front desk were very welcoming and very helpful. All the staff breakfast, cleaners, every one just so friendly. The room was standard and clean and met my needs for the ammount of time I was in the room. The room was cleaned every day and new towels changed each time , the shower was one of the best I have used in a hotel powerful with unlimited hot water. The breakfast buffet was spot on eat till you drop, with Cava on tap !!! hot choice, fresh fruit etc.The view from the room 204 was not the best but then I did not ask for a room with a view ,just a balcony which is what I got. The only thing I missed was a kettle and a mug I would have bought coffee etc myself ,its a personal thing I just need coffee first thing to function. Everything is all within 5 mins of the hotel the bus station, train station, beach ,shops night life what more could you ask for. Thanks again guys I will be back!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baronkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#4 of 40 in Sitges
322 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: $48 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing