We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveler rating
537
351
87
28
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
351
87
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone starair conpastriestrain stationceiling fanpool arearooms are basictill middaydouble glazingbreakfast roomhot foodcentral locationcleaned dailyreception staff aresmall balconynice poolshort walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
559 - 564 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed in the El Cid many times before and know it well, it is very basic and always has been there have been some improvements i.e. T.V.s and air conditioning and breakfast till midday. The staff are always very helpful and polite and do their best but the Hotel is just uncomfortable apart from the things I have mentioned it has not been changed since the 1960's and still has many of the features from that period. We had an internal room which had no balcony and the only view was the window of the room opposite, it was incredibly dark and you could not tell if it was day or night or if the sun was shining. The bathroom was of very poor quality and was so small that you could not get to the sink unless you went in and closed the door, there was no way two people could get in there at the same time.I will say the beds were comfortable.
The Breakfast was one of the worst I have ever had and the service was chaotic, most days there was not much at all to eat if you came down to breakfast around 11 am as we did and most days there was no cutlery so you had to ask for it, On one occasion the coffee machine had broken down and the fruit juice machine was broken, there was hardly anything to eat until we complained and then after a wait of 10 minutes some cheese and ham was brought out.
I know this is a budget hotel and we paid very little for the 2 weeks but even so this is not good value. we paid a similar amount in other hotels in the town and were far more comfortable.
The sister hotels of the Galeon and Platja D'or are far superior and for not much more.
We definitely will not be staying here again. A tip for anyone staying in the El Cid be very wary when returning to the Hotel at night as there are lot's of robberies outside and in the surrounding streets.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room with a balcony and preferably with a pool view, definitely do not except an internal room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toshsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we are very sorry that your stay with us have not been so confortable like before. That is true that we have 10 inside rooms without balcony, these rooms have the same facilities but they don´t receive the direct sun, it is so that and for comments like yours that we have made an ammendment in the prices and we are going to offer these rooms for a cheaper price than the rest. That is standard rooms (inside and no balcony) , standard room with balcony and superior pool view room. With this sistem we expect to avoid that people who doesn´t want these rooms can book exactly the room where they want to stay.We apologize for not arrive to keep your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed again at the EL Cid and cannot find any criticism, all the staff in this great value hotel are friendly and have a genuine concern for all customers. We arrived six hours late at 2.30am in the morning and were quickly dealt with by the night manager who was well organised and again friendly and helpful.The pool area is a great suntrap if you want a lazy day without walking far and the sister hotels are available at little extra cost if you want a different choice of breakfast or a evening meal. The free bathing towels (with returnable deposit) are also excellent optiion and can be changed everyday if wanted the rooms are spotless and all have air con and TV at no extra cost, Its close proximity to the Railway station and Mon Bus and also the Gay Bars and beach make it the ideal place the fact that it is great value is a bonus.

Steven Priestley & Kevin Stanworth

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it on TripAdvisor. we really appreciate that! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Situated right at the top of the gay section of Sitges, only 5 minutes away from the clubs, so great when you stumble home in the early hours, this hotel was really pleasant, with breakfast til 12 (the first time i've made breakfast anywhere) & room service that was really pleasant who were more than happy not to disturb even if they couldn't get in to clean before late afternoon.
There was great air con which kept the room lovely & cool with blackout blinds & double glazing to stop noise, plus a pool on the roof that was always full of really friendly people and being a gay couple there was so not an issue with a large mix of different people staying there.
We stayed here on friends recommendation & will be staying here again when we come back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Bargain budget hotel. Simple and clean. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast was nice with toast and several different breads and pastries. Cereals, yoghurt and fruit. My room/ensuit was spotless and the balcony opened out onto the pool. Wifi in public areas worked well - so did the air-con.

Only downsides. Wish wifi reached my room and I wish there was a boiled egg for breakfast. Apart from that - i'm already looking to book again for next year

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CircuitBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed for 4 nights and arrived early but were welcomed, The rooms are basic but clean
the staff were friendly and always present.
The continental breakfast did what is said on the tin and was fresh and replenished quickly are regularly
our room overlooked the main road but the french windows were double glazed and kept the noise out.
the pool area was very clean and well used
would recommend this hotel if you want a no frills clean and cheap place to staff in Sitges

Room Tip: maybe ask for a double bed as we were given 2 singles
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you very much for having found time to write a review, it's certainly much appreciated. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews