We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent located great value hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent located great value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Situated right at the top of the gay section of Sitges, only 5 minutes away from the clubs, so great when you stumble home in the early hours, this hotel was really pleasant, with breakfast til 12 (the first time i've made breakfast anywhere) & room service that was really pleasant who were more than happy not to disturb even if they couldn't get in to clean before late afternoon.
There was great air con which kept the room lovely & cool with blackout blinds & double glazing to stop noise, plus a pool on the roof that was always full of really friendly people and being a gay couple there was so not an issue with a large mix of different people staying there.
We stayed here on friends recommendation & will be staying here again when we come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    299
    74
    23
    6
See reviews for
45
305
173
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Bargain budget hotel. Simple and clean. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast was nice with toast and several different breads and pastries. Cereals, yoghurt and fruit. My room/ensuit was spotless and the balcony opened out onto the pool. Wifi in public areas worked well - so did the air-con.

Only downsides. Wish wifi reached my room and I wish there was a boiled egg for breakfast. Apart from that - i'm already looking to book again for next year

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CircuitBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed for 4 nights and arrived early but were welcomed, The rooms are basic but clean
the staff were friendly and always present.
The continental breakfast did what is said on the tin and was fresh and replenished quickly are regularly
our room overlooked the main road but the french windows were double glazed and kept the noise out.
the pool area was very clean and well used
would recommend this hotel if you want a no frills clean and cheap place to staff in Sitges

Room Tip: maybe ask for a double bed as we were given 2 singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for having found time to write a review, it's certainly much appreciated. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Unfortunately I had read the 5 star reviews on this hotel prior to booking, and I paid extra for a superior room. I probably wouldn't rate the hotel so low if my expectations were not raised due to these factors. The extra money paid meant that I had a view of the pool (as explained by the manager) the room was very basic, narrow and extremely noisy due to the thin walls. We feel that we have practically shared a bathroom with next door as you can hear EVERYTHING !!! The pool area was kept clean but the broken miss matched sunbeds need to be replaced for safety reasons. The breakfast was ok but there was no hot food available and the coffee machine did not work most mornings. I think that we overpaid and therefore expected more. We have stayed in the sister hotel and had a lot better experience for less money. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments in regards to your stay. I am somewhat disheartened to hear of your surprise at the negative points. We don´t offer or advertise the air-conditioning but when you arrive in the hotel reception they connect and it is free. We clean the rooms daily and every day we provide fresh towels. The free WI Fi is available in the large lobby area. The supplement for the pool view room is due to the request of these kinds of rooms for everybody and that is the only way to confirm it, as there are not so many rooms with this view. We regret so much that our hotel didn´t be able to get your expectations. We are one star hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I feel a little disappointed when I arrived to my room, yes I know the hotel is a one star... but I just expect a clean bedroom and of course bathroom.My room was lovely with a big terrace overlooking the town, at the beginning we feel worried for the noise but the double glass keep the noise perfectly out.... but when we came into the bathroom... the glass sreen was white for the lime of the water, it seems like if it hasn´t been cleaned in ages...The floor was plenty of sand from the beach and marks like if somebody was mopped the floor without swepping..
We commented to the "manager" who don´t give too many importance He was very kind but just with some people so I think that maybe we didn´t give him the extra tip .
All the staff were very kind but not professional, they need to call always somebody to help with simple matters... They give us a questtionaire but when we saw that he dropped some one (maybe not a good review??) we decided not to feel in and to put it here on internet.
Of course talking with other guest, we discovered theat not all the rooms were cleaned in that poor standard , by the way one of the days a very serious cleaner (she seems to be angry) came to clean the room and the glass screen was transparent a really shame that this lady hasn´t clean our room before

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princetonuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments in regards to your stay between us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, but I am somewhat disheartened to hear at the negative points. You're right, they didn’t clean the first day as they did the following days, what a pity! I hope the next time you have a perfect cleaning from the first day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at El Cid 15th - 22nd August 2012. Excellent location. Reasonably priced. Reception staff robotic but efficient. Hotel old but well looked after (clean). Great swimming pool area. Room 107 small and a bit too dark (window is facing the courtyard). Better lighting (stronger bulbs and two side lamps) would improve it. Room got cleaned every day and towels got changed too. Breakfast could be better, coffee is weak (proper espresso machine would resolve this), more fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juice would be great, to much emphasis on pastries.
Regardless small criticism would definitely come back. Beyond me that hotel has only 1 star (deserves 3 for sure).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Den62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our second stay at El Cid showed the hotels aim to improve the customer experience. Newley renovated rooms with double glazing and air conditioning, spotlessly clean surroundings, with courteous and helpfully staff. What more could you ask for in this price bracket.......a pool and breakfast, they are included too. Will definitely be returning to El Cid. Year after year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for the most wonderful review, its hosting people like yourselves, and indeed the vast majority of our guests, that make our job worthwhile!
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 40 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#8 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Globos
Hotel Los Globos
#11 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Property: Hotel El Cid
Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing