We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 1* Hotel and Close to everything”
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Cid
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Just back from my first trip to Sitges. We stayed at the El Cid hotel, we decided to spend as little as possible on the hotel as we were there for 10days, our requirements were, clean and close to everything and the El Cid delivered.
Ok the hotel is dated, its all old furniture and tiles in bathroom are so old they are most likely going to be back in fashion again sooner than later, but i am not knocking the hotel for its style, its a really nice well run little hotel, the room was always cleaned when we got back everyday, fresh towels, you cant ask for better, the only let down was the bed, i have to say it was not very comfy(other people i was traveling with found them the same) after a few vodkas in the bars i didnt care but it something to note, if you need a really comfy bed then i am not sure this is hotel for you but its my only complaint. The rooms did have air-con and what 1* offers air-con so top marks for that let me tell ya.
The staff at this hotel are lovely, a credit to the place. from front desk staff who were very helpful to the chamber maids, all friendly hello's whenever you passed them in halls. The breakfast is served in basement room, its feels like its under the pool but its was great for the price we paid for the rooms, its usual stuff, breads, pastries, cold meats, juices, coffee/tea and cava (nice touch) I didnt come down for breakfast everyday(even thought it is served till midday) but i did have a nasty hangover a few days and didnt make it down, but tasty and plentyful.
The hotel is near everything, the train station is 5-8 mins walk away, the beach is about 5-8mins walk as well, plenty of gay bars near by and some great restaurants, we ate in parrots restaurant, great 3course deal. SoCa is very near hotel and had fantastic 3 course deal with glass of wine or beer. If you wanna splash out a wee bit, The Beach House is gorgeous and pretty close.
All in all, a great llittle 1* hotel with fantastic staff plus clean and safe.... what more do you want!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray-Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

It was a pleasure to be able to host you and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Sitges.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor, it's certainly much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 955 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2011

We booked here on the strength of the great reviews the hotel had online, despite the 1* rating. We were not disappointed - the reception on arrival was friendly and helpful. The room itself was basic but comfortable. The pool area was excellent and always immaculate. The service and food in the Breakfast room was excellent ( and was served until midday) and the service from the housekeeping staff was friendly, efficient and unobtrusive. The communal areas were spotless and comfortable. This was a great discovery, having been to Sitges many times before and being used to expensive hotels and apartments. Cant wait to go back in September. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit Sitges.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuartTurner7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2011

Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We enjoyed your company very much and would love to see you return in the future, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I recently returned from a two-week stay in El Cid in Sitges. Although I had been to Sitges many times in the past, and it is one of my favourite resorts, I had never stayed in this hotel.

The hotel exceeded all my expectations. I got a great "off-season" rate online,but this hotel provided a service and facilities way beyond its official rating. Having stayed in many hotels of all classes in many parts of the world, I would say that the El Cid offers the best price/quality relationship I have encountered.

My room was spacious, with an extremely large balcony/terrace. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job of keeping it in spotless condition, with on-going replenishing of bathroom supplies.

The breakfast (from 08.00 to 12.00!) was a great buffet with very varied selections of hams, cheeses and fruits - constantly being refreshed.

The hotel has a relatively small but nice pool area with plenty of sun loungers and chairs (it was, of course, not overcrowded in May).

The front of house staff were gracious and helpful at all times, and the hotel has plenty of nice and roomy public areas and spaces.

I am certainly planning on returning to El Cid on my next viit to Sitges.

Well done to all involved in running and working at this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philipoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2011

Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I have just returned from another great stay at the charming El Cid. It's so welcoming to walk in there & Rosa say it was my 7th visit & immediately give me a card for free cava at the Platjad'or Hotel!
The el Cid is a comforable, centrally located hotel ideal for solo travellers or groups of friends & couples. The pool area is pleasant, with areas for shade & anyone on their own need not worry about not making any friends around the pool! I had a room on the second floor overlooking the pool, for which I paid a small tariff for. Still, the el Cid is great value for money. In fact I kind of don't want to spread the word about it, because I want it to remain the hidden gem that it is!
Breakfast is at the completely civil times of 8am-12pm, and is a cold buffet breakfast. Loads of choice, toast, breads, pastries, muffins, yogurt, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, fruit juices, and even cava!!
The rooms now have air con, and even though it was unusually hot for May (30 degrees), I didn't need it on, the ceiling fan was sufficient. Rooms are clean & comfortable, and towels changed every day & the room is cleaned every day as well. There is a tv in the room too, if you are bored enough on holiday to require one.
Free wi-fi is available in the lounge & bar areas downstairs. Toni the manager is a great guy, really friendly, amusing & helpful. He will also provide any info on the resort should you need it.
All in all, if you are looking for a clean comfortable value hotel to stay in Sitges then look no further than the el Cid.
Top tips - buy cava from the Spar round the corner, it's just over €3 a bottle! Take the train from the airport, it's €3. Visit the rooftop terrace at the Platjad'or on the 5th floor, views are stunning, it's very chic & you feel like you are somewhere like St Tropez. Their restaurant is also good value, serving great food for €19 for 3 courses with bread & water included.
Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: pay a small supplement for a pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JonH2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2011

Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We enjoyed your company very much and would love to see you return in the future, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Hotel El Cid is a lovely little hotel, right in the centre of town and only 5 min walk from the train station. Its kept very clean and tidy, and even your rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels, by friendly and polite cleaners. The Reception is always helpful and coopertaive, and most staff are friendly.
The Hotel has lots of sofas in the lounge for relaxing, with free wifi. The pool outside is in a great sunny position, very clean and a real treat!
The rooms contain a very comfy double bed + a single, extra pillows with blankets, balcony, bathroom with a tub and good hot shower 24 hrs!
The breakfast consists of a variety on breads, pastries, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, yoghurts, juices, teas, coffees and also a glass of bubby (cava not champs!). Its the same everyday, but the best thing is its available from 8am untill 12pm! So no need to rush for brekkie.. have a lie-in! :)
Check out is 12pm, but if you are still around till later, you are given a luggage room and a shower room with a fresh towel!
I have never experienced such relaxed facilities even in 5* hotels!

Even though this is one of the cheapest hotels around, i found it to be better than more expensive ones! Its also very gay-freindly.

I had a wonderful stay and will most certainly return!


Sitges has numerous beaches along the coast, and they are only a short walk away (5mins).. very pretty surroundings all along the coast, with numerous bars, restaurants and yummy ice-cream shops!
Sitges town is small and consists on cute little cobbled streets and alleys, with small boutiques, designer shops, bars, restaurants, coffee and pastry shops.
The Pony restaurant next to the hotel is very good value, with a daily 3 course menu, with wine or beer for only €7.90! Wine, Cava and beer are very cheap and most offer it at the same price as a soft drink!
Also try the Pollo Express chicken shop at the end of the road.. a rottiserie with delicious chicken, and 100's queue up on sunday afternoon to buy their Roast!
The Santa Marina restaurant on the seafront is superb! Big restaurant and delicious food.
Try the delicous ice cream and range of pastries from all over the area.

Visit barcelona if possible, its only 30 mins on the train and €6 return! Beautiful city with lots to see and do!

Room Tip: Best prices on room from Travel Republic website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank smoochyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I must say this is one great hotel!
as everyone we were a bit skeptical, but once we entered it was definitely pleasant surprise.
First of all reception is great, and people are friendly! especially nice guy (Antonio or something)....and young girl that was working there...very helpful ...
rooms are clean, and towels changed daily! it is safe please also to leave ur stuff...since we didnt rent safe box....we left all belonging down...
pool is amazing! it is clean and quite....and very easy to meet people there....
breakfast is good! as someone said there is no hot food...for me its fine because u can have everything else! and enormous quantities! really generous
few days after arrival we already felt like at home! big happy el cid family!
internet is free in the lobby! which is again another great thing!

to be honest i cant find anything bad to say about this place...for the ammount i paid i got probably 2-3 times more then i could get in any other hotel.
i stayed in sitges in another hotel, which was also one star, but sucked big time!!! el cid forever! :D

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BXLBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 10 days in Mid September, After reading some reviews was a little worried
When I arrived and checked in all thoes worries went within seconds,e staff were freindly (More so than the Galeon where I stayed the last time) The room was Nice and clean with a double and single bed although the beds were a bit hard and the bathroom was tiny but had a decent sized shower cubicle. the room was cleaned daily the towls were changed every day.
I was a little dissapointed with breakfast as it was a cold buffet style it would have been much better if they offered some hot food too, But this is just a minor thing what was offerd was not too bad.
You need to get the air conditioning ativated at reception It is free and makes a big difference to the room
The hotel also has Wi-Fi which again has vto be activated and again is free its is only supposed to work in the reception area but for some reason it worked in my room

All in all I rally enjoyed my stay an will go back next time I go to Sitges.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank markmancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
1,894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#4 of 40 in Sitges
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: $48 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing