We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1960s”
Review of Hotel Platjador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Platjador
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1960s”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I love this hotel. It is old-fashioned in a good way. Personal, kind service. Lots of paperwork (no lean management here). They take personal care of the customer. The attached restaurant offers outstanding service and well prepared food, but the owner has evidently chosen an inexpensive selection of raw materials including a bad menu-included (3 year old "Rioja") red wine.

Room Tip: Don´t have too high expectations about the food in the restaurant, but you will enjoy it because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isfoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for having found time to write a review of Hotel Platjador of Sitges. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges. Our restaurant policy is to try to prepare affordable good meals, that means working with high quality products affordable to avoid expensive ones. As you say, we get as a result well prepared meals with affordable prices. We though that a "Rioja" from 3 years is a good product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    370
    61
    22
    17
See reviews for
131
992
134
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I don't normally give a review. We are still staying in this hotel while I am writing this. We are at room 210. Everything is perfect when we first checked in and up until tonight when we got back from dinner. We were stopped at the lift when we were about to enter. The receptionist quickly rushed to block us from getting into the lift. He said something in spanish, we said we only understood english. He then asked if we are a guest in this hotel. There was this another couple behind us and he didn't ask them. I just want an explanation why only us? Is it because we are not white? Is it because we are Asian? If this is for security reason, why the receptionist only asked us and humiliated us in front of other guests?

Apart from everything else this hotel is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Propietario at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments in regards to your stay between us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, but I am somewhat disheartened to hear the negative point. I want to apologise in name of the hotel, and, of course, in name of our employee, because it wasn't the intention to humiliate. Our bar can only be used by the hotel customers. Lots of non-customers want to go to the bar. That's why, our receptionists, when don't know someone, have to ask whether if people going to the bar are customers or not. As you mention, the receptionist didn't know you. He didn't stop you because of the fact that you are Asian but because of what you mention in your comment: he didn't know you. The reason for not asking the customers behind you was because they had been staying for more time and the receptionist knew them.
You mentioned he was rude and that's why we want to apologize once again. Maybe he hadn't enough English skills to express himself the way he'd have liked to.
We would like you to know that I regret so much causing these feelings, and that I sincerely hope that this disagreement hasn't ruined your stay with us and your vacation in Sitges.
Please, do not hesitate to contact the hotel for any further question or suggestion.

Yours sincerely

José Luis Grau Badía
Hotel Platjador owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

myself and my partner come back here each year for a relaxing break in Sitges. Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, complemetary cava on the rooftop terrace which overlooks the sea, maid service til late in the afternoon, and breakfast til lunchtime. perfect to charge the batteries.... found a home from home, love Sitges, amazing place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Top value in Sitges !
The rooms are exelent, staff very kind and serviceminded. Perfect location - the beach just in front..
The breakfast 08-12 must be one of the best in Europe.
And a very nice bar at the top floor.
E & R

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Esto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are happy also for your appreciation of the Breakfast
It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay and we would welcome a return visit sometime in the future!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved the hotel, the breakfasts, the access to the beach and promenade, the proximity to the train station for access to Barcelona and Sitges town itself. Ideal if you want to spend some time in Barca, but don't want to stay in the city itself with just a 30-40 minute train ride. Staff all very friendly and helpful. The fact that our kids remember the breakfasts more than any other aspect of their trip a couple of years ago is testament to the quality of this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addledadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is truly a wonderful hotel equal to many 5 star hotels that we have stayed in. The hotel, reception, restaurant, bedrooms, rooftop bar and pool area are light and airy and the decor is lovely. The breakfast has ti be seen to be believed with lots of variety, hot and cold, and cava that you can help yourself to. There is also a complementary teas and pastries service at teatime that meant that we never needed to eat through the day.

The restaurant does either a set or a la carte menu at night with a reasonable coast. The sister hotel also has an evening three course buffet for 9.50 euros.

The pool has been changed and is not a health pool with different configurations of seatings etc that offers jets to different parts of the body. The area around the pool has large round n]beds with mattresses and lots of suctions as well as some more traditional shaped sun beds,

The view fro the rooftop bar is really good and the hotel is on the seafront.

Room Tip: We were ib room j224 and on the Friday night could hear the bass from music until 3.30 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degustibus4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the most wonderful review, its hosting people like yourselves, and indeed the vast majority of our guests, that make our job worthwhile!
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location was prime position and we had a sea view with balcony and a fabulous room with a 6ft wide bed .the breakfast was of good variety and very tasty.the staff were wonderful and the whole place was so laid back yet organised to detail.we shall return next year for sure .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crissysew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We enjoyed your company very much and would love to see you return in the future, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#10 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
1.5 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Platjador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platjador

Property: Hotel Platjador
Address: Passeo de la Ribera 35, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sitges
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#3 Business Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Platjador 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Platjador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platjador Hotel Sitges
Platjador Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing