We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific for a 3-star”
Review of Hotel Platjador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Platjador
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Terrific for a 3-star”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife got fed up with the British weather in April 2013. She booked a last-minute one week holiday for us at the Platjador. Very pleased with the hotel - especially as we had a room overlooking the sea. The breakfast was sumptuous - unbelievable for a 3-star. The bedroom was a good size with fridge and safe. The evening meal was ordinary but did us fine as it saved us looking for different restaurants. Very good view from the balcony bar but shuts very abruptly at night - not a minute later than official closing time. Very nice walks on the seashore - just wish they were longer. Bus directly to airport from outside the market under the railway bridge about 5 mins from rail station - check times with tourist office. Barcelona takes about 1 hour on bus. There are other fairly local bus excursions available. Plenty of bars - very willing to show the match of your choice if available. I wondered why the cemetary walls were so high and thick - have a look inside ! Overall, very friendly hotel and town.

Room Tip: Worth booking a room at front and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy49London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    370
    61
    22
    17
See reviews for
131
992
134
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a four night stay here . We found all the staff without exception very friendly and so helpful . The hotel provides the best breakfast I have had anywhere in the world !!! The pool , terrace area was great as was the complementary afternoon tea . There were even all our uk regional tv programs on the television . Really nice touches everywhere like bowls of apples to help yourself to by the pool and the maid calling every afternoon to see if we needed more towels .I could go on and on .Thank you Platjador , we will be back for sure .Pete and Nick.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for having found time to write a review of Hotel Platjador of Sitges. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We chose the Platjador after a recommendation from a friend, and we were not at all disappointed. The hotel is very centrally located, right opposite the beach and within walking distance of the station. This made it very convenient for going out in the evenings, and for getting to pretty much anywhere in the town. The staff were all very warm and friendly, and very welcoming when we checked in.

The breakfast is one of the Platjador's strongest points, with a very large buffet featuring everything you could want - from fruit and cereal, to cold meats and cheeses, to hot eggs and bacon. The fact it is served until 12 is a real plus as you don't feel rushed to get down there in the morning.

The hotel also offers free tea and cakes for guests at 6pm, which I thought was a nice touch.

The pool is small but very pleasant and not as busy as I thought it would be. It is heated to 35 degrees, so on a colder day you can happily hide in the water until the sun comes out, and it features lots of different bubble massagers to relax you.

The rooftop bar and terrace was lovely with marvellous views of the sea and nearby church, and we enjoyed a free welcome glass of cava on our first night there. This hotel really does give you lots of things for free!

The room was clean and comfortable. I was pleased to find it included a fridge where you could keep your own drinks, rather than a minibar no one ever uses because it's too expensive. The only thing I might have liked to have was a bath rather than just a shower, but that's just me.

There was a small amount of noise from a nearby club or bar at night at the back of the hotel, but I always sleep with earplugs in hotels anyway so it didn't bother me at all. Given it is such a central location, I think some noise is inevitable.

Overall we had a lovely stay. I would definitely recommend the Platjador and will be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superlative26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had a brilliant experience at the Platjadore , very warm welcome when we arrived , rooms very clean, the little touches made all the difference to our stay at the hotel , like afternoon tea and pastries , location was fantastic a very short walk to the beach , bars , restaurants and shops .
Only negative thing I would say is the hot breakfasts could be a bit warmer apart from that everything was brilliant .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We enjoyed your company very much and would love to see you return in the future, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We returned to the Platjador for a 4th stay after enjoying 3 excellent visits over the last few years. The welcome was as warm as ever with smiling faces and a quick check in. The rooms are perfect with balconies out over the rear of the hotel. Yes at night it can be loud till 2ish but if you go to sitges you really should enjoy the evening and not be in bed too early! After all its right in the town so you have no excuse! Breakfast did not disappoint, the range of hot food seemed bigger than ever. If only I could eat breakfast in the sun everyday! So what is better? The afternoon tea is a perfect way to chill after a day on the beach. Finally the pool has been upgraded (and it was good before) loads of bubbles to relax in with heated water so it was fun even on a chilly day. Another great week, we will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you, for the lovely things you said.
I guess the highest compliment we can be paid as accommodation providers, is to have guests return and enjoy their stay for another time, thank you for that and for your company. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Six of us visited this hotel to use the roof terrace bar, which one of us had used on a previous occasion. As we entered the hotel and made our way to the lift, the manager shouted at us from behind the desk. We inquired as to what the problem was, and he moaned at us that we were trying to walk in and use the bar (hello? As paying customers!) without asking him first!

There's no indication that the bar is for residents only, and after he had moaned at us for a bit longer did he grudgingly allow us to go up (after we - somewhat shocked, and only hadn't told him where to go because we'd arranged to meet a friend there - had asked for permission!) and spend our money there.

This level of 'service' is unforgivable, particularly in a country in a deep crisis that depends on tourism, and if you're going to be rude to prospective customers and speak to them in a patronising way as if they're five years old simply because they haven't said 'please can we come in and give you some custom?', it certainly won't help you get repeat business. The six of us will never stay at that hotel or drink at that (not surprisingly almost empty) bar again as a result of the manager's rudeness, so well done, manager of the Hotel Platjador - you've managed to lose some business as a result of a simple lack of politeness.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FishCatBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Your annoyance confirms our total customer service policy to our guest versus get an Extra benefit.
The Platjador rooftop bar is a small and quiet place, and we had to choose between devoting exclusively to our guest or make more business and get more money letting everybody come in, and we decide, according to our policy to keep it just for our guest, in order they can get a higher customer satisfaction during their stay.
We regret so much the frustration that this situation have caused you because I am sure that the person who stopped you on reception was polite with you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just got back from a weeks holiday from Sitges staying Platjador hotel. Perfectly placed right on the front with views over the sand and sea.
The hotel was bright and clean. The room we had was at the back of the hotel with a view of the small pool. The room itself was large and airy with a massive bed! It had a flat screen TV mini bar and air-con. The bathroom was a little small but was more than adequate. It had a walk in power-shower sink and loo. With the clever use of mirrors it made it look and feel bigger than it was. There was enough storage space for a good weeks clothes and more.
The staff were very very helpful and noting was too much trouble. Special mention to the reception staff and of course the roof terrace staff.
The pool it has to be said was more of a plunge pool with all kinds of whirlpool devices. There was ample loungers and places to catch those all important rays. The roof terrace was well laid out comfortable and with fantastic views.
The legendary hotel breakfast is not to be missed. It goes on and on and on and on.... Just amassing .
We stayed B&B which to be honest was good for us as we enjoy eating out at as many different local restaurant as possible. But to be honest when you check out the breakfast I doubt you'll need anything else to eat that day. The hotel has a restaurant set at the front but is open to anyone not just the hotel guests.
We did eat there one night with friends and while the food was good and most of the service was excellent there was an incident where the head waiter hid and left one of the waiters to deal with the situation. It did spoil the meal for our friends, but the food was still good and 95% of the service was excellent.
So overall very well recommended ...... We'll be going back for sure

Room Tip: You'll need to contact the hotel direct to get a sea view room. They cost extra and to be honest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. We are happy also for your appreciation of the Breakfast. I will pass your compliments onto "Rincón de Pepe Restaurant"and also your complaint about the head waiter, thank you for that also!
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#10 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
1.5 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Platjador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platjador

Property: Hotel Platjador
Address: Passeo de la Ribera 35, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#1 Family Hotel in Sitges
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#3 Business Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Platjador 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Platjador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platjador Hotel Sitges
Platjador Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing